LibGuides: Biological and Life Sciences: Internet Sources

Internet Sources

Database of Genomic Variants
Branded as the "curated catalogue of human genomic structural variation", this site documents genomic changes that have been studied. Here you can browse the entries by variant, sample, method, platform or analysis. You can also utilise the genome browser within this resource.
DNA Databank of Japan (DDBJ)
DDBJ Center amasses nucleotide sequence data as a member of INSDC (International Nucleotide Sequence Database Collaboration). It then facilitates free access to these data and supercomputer system. Here you can find various search and analysis tools.
DrugBank
This database augments drug data and drug target information. Thousands of drug entries are available, including those of approved small molecule and biotech drugs, nutraceuticals and experimental drugs. Moreover, non-redundant protein sequences are linked to these entries.
EMBL-EBI
Conduct a search on a gene, protein or chemical here to retrieve information such as nucleotide and protein sequences, chemical structures, gene-expression experiments, biological ontologies, diseases and more. You can also consider adopting some of their featured tools for data analysis. Information is obtained from biological data resources hosted at the European Bioinformatics Institute.
GeneCards: Human Gene Database
GeneCards facilitates a one-stop search of information on annotated and predicted human genes from various web sources. This entails genomic, transcriptomic, proteomic, genetic, clinical and functional information.
Gene Ontology Consortium
Gene Ontology Consortium is a global group of biologists and computer scientists. This platform provides a computational representation of gene function knowledge related to a diversity of organisms; ontologies and annotations are detailed here.
Global Health Observatory (GHO)
This is a World Health Organisation's site where health-related statistics and standards are stored. You can explore each theme or delve into country-specific data depending on your needs. Data visualizations are also available.
Human Ageing Genomic Resources
A collection of databases and tools created to assist researchers in examining the genetics of human ageing. Both data on human and model organisms can be retrieved here.
Kyoto Encyclopedia of Genes and Genomes
Accessing pathway maps, gene catalogues, as well as information on enzyme nomenclature and biochemical reactions is all possible in this resource developed by Kanehisa Laboratories.
Merck Manual
This resource caters to a broad spectrum of medical topics and makes rich drug information available. Media resources are especially abundant in this platform, where procedural videos, audio clips, images, 3D models and other media types are accessible.
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)'s resources
NCBI is a division of the US National Library of Medicine (NLM) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Besides PubMed, it manages a large array of databases and tools that aid in genome, protein and biomedical research.
Nucleic Acid Database
Serves as a portal for 3D structural information of experimentally-determined nucleic acids (RNA and DNA) and complex assemblies.
Protein Data Bank
Managed by the Research Collaboratory for Structural Bioinformatics, this resource furnishes access to 3D structural data for proteins, nucleic acids, and complex assemblies. What's more, visualisations and data analysis are made available to enrich one's knowledge about these biological molecules.
Search Portal for International Clinical Trials Registry Platform
This is where you can locate records of clinical trials that are registered with the World Health Organisation. Key details including studied health condition, intervention, inclusion/exclusion criteria and more are listed in each entry.

AGRIS/CARIS
The international information system for the agricultural sciences and technology. The system identifies worldwide literature (both conventional and non-conventional; the so-called "grey" literature), dealing with all aspects of agriculture. CARIS is the Current Agricultural Research Information System, which identifies projects dealing with information on agriculture. Both are indexing databases produced by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.
Arabidopsis Information Portal (Araport)
As the information hub for Arabidopsis thaliana genomics, Araport makes available gene and protein reports with orthology, expression, interactions and the latest annotation, plus analysis tools, community apps, and web services.
Biodiversity Heritage Library
A consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that provides free access to a rich collection of digitised biodiversity literature.
Biodiversity of Singapore
Hosted by Lee Kong Chian Natural History Museum, this digital reference collection and research database captures information about species discovered in Singapore, such as classification, residency status and species interactions.
BIRDNET
Provides information about ornithology. The site is a service provided by the Ornithological Council, a public information organization involving ten North American professional ornithological societies. It also provides links to other related ornithology sites.
Darwin Correspondence Project
Managed by the academic community from the University of Cambridge, this website provides access to known letters to and from Charles Darwin.
Darwin Online
A website which features information about Charles Darwin's life and works.
Flora & Fauna Web
To find out information about plants and animals which can be found in Singapore, check out this information portal by National Parks Board. This database is based on information compiled in ‘1001 Garden Plants in Singapore’, journal articles, field guides, and the ‘Singapore Red Data Book’.
Forensic Entomology
The use of insect knowledge in the investigation of crimes or even civil disputes. It includes collection of entomological evidence, forensic entomology case histories and bibliography of this subject. Links to sites include forensic entomology, forensic science and entomology.
Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF)
Through its network of member countries and organisations from around the world, GBIF provides common standards and open-source tools that allow institutions to share species occurrence information. This is a gateway to Open Access biodiversity data, ranging from occurrence records, datasets and peer-reviewed papers.
Kew Data and Digital Resources
Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew is United Kingdom's non-departmental public body sponsored by the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs. A vast range of information about plants and fungi can be found in their family of databases, which includes Plants of the World Online, Floral Reflectance Database, Inside Wood, Fungarium Catalogue, Medicinal Plant Names Services, International Plant Names Index, and many others.
New York Botanical Garden's Collections & Resources
It includes the C. V. Starr Virtual Herbarium; Index Herbariorum; Index to American Botanical Literature; NYBG Living Collections; DNA Bank and Index to American Botanical Literature. A list of open source software for systematics research is also available here.
Ocean Biogeographic Information System (OBIS)
As an online facility to world’s ocean biodiversity and biogeographic data, OBIS allows a search on species name, geographic area, datasets and more. Data visualisations are available to summarise the details of each dataset.
The Plant Pathology Internet Guide Book (PPIGB)
This is a subject oriented internet resource guide for plant pathology, applied entomology, and all related fields.
TreeBASE : a database of phylogenetic knowledge
This is a relational database of phylogenetic information and stores phylogenetic trees data from published research papers. Produced and governed by The Phyloinformatics Research Foundation, Inc.
USDA Plants Database
PLANTS were created to replace the National List of Scientific Names published by the National Resources Conservation Service. It provides a single source of general information about the plant kingdom to researchers and other people interested in plants.
Wallace Online
An edition of Alfred Russel Wallace's writings, this website includes a compilation of his specimens and enables a search on his publications.

Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs) are usually freely available to anyone who signs up. Many of these courses are made by universities or organisations. Course lengths vary but contents can usually be accessed on flexible hours. Assignments and quizzes may be involved. Some courses may earn you a free or paid certificate upon completion.