Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
NUS Librares' Guide on OERs
Learn about copyright, attribution and other general/subject-specific OER repositories in this guide.
OERs for Biology
Galileo Open Learning Materials - BIology
This repository gathers OERs throughout the University System of Georgia. Examples of available resources include ancillary materials (e.g. videos, courses), Grants collections and open textbooks.
Here you can find hundreds of OERs such as short films, holiday lectures, virtual labs, classroom resources and teacher guides. Developed by Howard Hughes Medical Institute.
LibreTexts - Biology
A multi-institutional collaborative platform that houses open-access campus courses, textbooks, homework exercises and ancillary materials such as visualisations and lab exercises.
MERLOT - Biology
This online repository - an initiative by California State University - facilitates access to a rich spectrum of learning materials, including animations, assignments, online courses, quizzes and textbooks.
The National Science Digital Library - Life Science
A project created by Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Education (ISKME). Most resources in the Library adhere to principles of Open Educational Resource (OER) access. Includes lesson plans, diagrams, lecture notes, and many others.
OER Commons - Life Science
Search for university courses, illustrations, lesson plans, textbooks and more in this platform created by the Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Education (ISKME).
OpenLearn - Biology
View a rich list of activities, courses, books, audios, videos and more when you access this platform by the Open University. Certain resources are level-specific.
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) - Biology
Developed by State University of New York at Geneseo, this platform eases discovery of open contents from various sources via a one-stop search. University materials such as videos, books, course materials and audiobooks are retrievable here.
Teaching Commons - Life Sciences
A portal containing links to an assortment of open-access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia and lectures from various universities. Developed by Bepress.
BCcampus OpenEd - Biology
Funded by British Columbia (BC)'s Ministry of Advanced Education, Skills and Training, BCcampus aims to share OERs in the BC Open Textbook Collection. Indications are given to those who are faculty reviewed, adopted by instructors or include added components such as quizzes.
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) - Biology and Life Sciences
This directory is home to academic, peer-reviewed Open Access books by participating publishers. Direct links to full texts are available.
As part of the United States National Library of Medicine, National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) is responsible for managing databases such as PubMed. NCBI Bookshelf enables discoverability to free online books and documents in life science and healthcare.
Openstax - Science
This platform caters to a myriad of disciplines, among which biology students enjoy free access to peer-reviewed textbooks on (i) Biology, (ii) Concepts of Biology and (iii) Microbiology. An education initiative by Rice University.
Open Textbook Library - Biology
Supported by the Open Textbook Network which consists of an extensive list of institutional members, Open Textbook Library houses a wealth of textbooks which are licensed for free use and change.
Khan Academy - Biology
Enrich your biology knowledge by viewing free instructional videos, practices and quizzes featured in this learning portal.
MIT OpenCourseWare - Biology
This is a focal point for Massachusetts Institute of Technology's (MIT) published course contents. This includes lecture notes and assignments of past courses attended by MIT undergraduates and graduates.
Open Course Library - Biology
Managed by the Washington State Board for Community and Technical Colleges, specific courses featured in this platform come furnished with freely-accessible notes and activities.
Berkshire Community College Bioscience Image Library
This media file repository features restriction-free microscopic and macroscopic images/video clips of each microscopic specimen taken at a range of magnifications. Created by members of Berkshire Community College.
The Cancer Imaging Archive
Supported by University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, this portal hosts a large archive of medical images of cancer accessible for public download. Supporting data related to the images are also provided when available.
Cell Image Library
A wide repository for images and videos of cells and cellular processes from various organisms. Hosted by University of California, San Diego.
Encyclopedia of Life
Hosted by Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of Natural History, this portal provides a rich access to biodiversity datasets and wildlife photos that are licensed for sharing.
Phet Interactive Simulations - BIology
Enhance your learning experience through a variety of open-source simulations listed here. These programmes (written in Java, Flash or HTML5) can be run online or downloaded to your computer. Website hosted by University of Colorado.
Public Health Image Library
Created by a Working Group at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), this database is designed as an electronic gateway to CDC's pictures. Images are either public domain or copyright-protected.
SERPENT Media Archive
The SERPENT Project (Scientific and Environmental ROV Partnership using Existing iNdustrial Technology) utilizes Remotely Operated Vehicles to ease data accessibility for deep-sea research. Developed by University of Southampton, the Archive contains images and video footage gathered throughout the Project.
Wikimedia Commons stores a huge pool of images which users can freely use.