Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A survey on homes for the elderly in Singapore.
Surveys 52 homes for the elderly and gives details on the staff, staff/client ratio, wages, number of residents, facilities and activities in the homes. Published 1985
Profiles older workers in Singapore using 1998 data. Has details of educational profile, employment by occupation and industry, nature of employment. Published 1999
Report of the Advisory Council on the Aged.
Contains tables with actual and projected population to 2030, employment status of those above 55. It also give figures for number of aged by mobility and number in residential care, with actual and projected demand for residential care for 2000 to 2030. Published 1989
Report of the Inter-Ministerial Committee on Health Care for the Elderly
Has actual and projected elderly population for 1980-2030. Also has actual and projected use of acute care services in public sector, acute care hospital beds, need for health services for 1995-2030. Published 1999
Report on the national survey of senior citizens.
The survey aimed to find out how people aged 55 years and above were managing, the sort of problems they had, who they were living with, the type of accomodation they occupied and their sources of income. Includes data on health of aged, their leisure activities and social support circle. Published 1983
Survey on institutions for the aged and aged sick.
Surveys 37 homes for the elderly and gives details on the staff, residents, facilities and activities in the homes. Includes sources of income and expenditure of the homes. Published 1984
The aged population of Singapore.
Analyses and compares the social, economic & housing characteristics, voluntary & leisure activities, mobility & transport mode of the aged for 1980 and 1990. Includes projections of aged population for 2000 to 2050. Published 1994
The elderly in Singapore : Singapore country report
Gives actual & projected elderly population, dependency ratios, distribution of elderly population by ethnic group, sex & age. Includes life expectancy, leading causes of death of elderly. Includes results of Survey of Aged Living in the Community (1986), National Survey on Senior Citizens (1983), research papers, other survey reports and studies on the aged. Published 1988
The national survey of senior citizens in Singapore 1995.
Updates the National Survey on Senior Citizens (1983) with data on marital status, educational attainment, language used, household income, home ownership, living arrangements, sources of income, employment status. Also surveyed the health, physical capability, mobility, social life, care-giver of the elderly.
A statistical profile of older workers
Gives profile of older workers in Singapore in terms of education, employment status, type of jobs and industry. Also includes some comparison with other countries. Published 2007
Report on the ageing population
Gives recommendations based on four thrusts of housing, accessibility, caring and opportunities for seniors. Also available online
. Published 2006.
State of the elderly in Singapore 2008-2009
"Provides a comprehensive review on the current state of Singapore's elderly population. The data presented in this report are based on official statistics, censuses and surveys, and are of information available in 2009 (or the latest year available)." Also available online
. Published 2010.
Health Service for the Elderly.
Gives statistics on the home nursing services with profiles of the patient. Also has data on the attendance for rehabilitation and use of home help service. Published 1991-1994