LibGuides: Public Policy: Academic Databases

What is NUSearch+?

NUSearch+is a unified search where users can search and discover contents across the following resources:

Books and E-Resources from NUS Libraries' extensive physical and electronic collections
ScholarBank@NUS, institutional repository of NUS (more info)
Digital Gems, comprising digitised rare, historical, and primary source materials from NUS Libraries Special Collection (more info)
NUS Exam database, consisting of past five years examination papers (more info)

We are experimenting with a AI-based recommender to list articles that you might be interested in. Look out for the You might be interested in ... box..

NUSearch+ is a good starting point for searching information on your topics if you are not sure which specific library resources or databases to use.

Databases by Type

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive business database offers nearly 3,000 full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information.
Asian Studies E-Books Online, Collection 2010 This link opens in a new window
A useful database for the study of modern Asia-Pacific. It brings together thousands of full-text reports covering 53 countries on a multitude of business, government, economic, and social issues. Note: This database is subscribed by Yale-NUS College Library
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This business research database features full text and searchable cited references for top journals covering a variety of business disciplines (Accounting, Finance, Economics, Marketing, Management, Management information systems, Operations management). In addition, it includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
EconLit (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Major resource for Economics. A comprehensive index of journal articles, books, book reviews, collective, working papers and dissertations. While only some articles are available in full-text, this is perhaps one of the most comprehensive databases for searching for Economics articles.

PAIS International This link opens in a new window
Divided into two sections - PAIS International and PAIS Archive. Contains references to articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, research and conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, etc. Subject coverage includes public affairs and public policy worldwide.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Major resource for Sociology but includes psychology and related disciplines. Includes citations from journals, conference papers, books & dissertations. Thesaurus and user friendly Advanced Search features makes searching easy.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. Content types include journal articles book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.

Academic OneFile | GALE This link opens in a new window
A collection of peer-reviewed, full-text articles from more than 8000 journals for academic research. Covers physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences and the arts. Also contains hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and the CBC, as well as full-text of The New York Times content to 1995.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
The International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. It provides cross-disciplinary coverage across the social sciences, focused on four primary subject areas: anthropology, economics, political science and sociology.

Coverage: 1951 - current
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It is a multidisciplinary database covering the sciences, engineering, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities fields. Scopus contains millions of peer-reviewed journals, selected articles from trade journals, book chapters, edited volumes, reference works, conference papers and patents. It is also an excellent database for cited reference searching. Its contents are updated daily

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
The BAS Online contains over 823,000 references to books, journal articles, individually-authored monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, etc., published from 1971 until the present day.

PERIND
Useful index to journal articles, book reviews and chapters, and conference papers relating to Singapore, Malaysia, Brunei and ASEAN. Covers humanities, social sciences, business, architecture, building, law & medicine. Includes materials not indexed by other databases. Good for Area & Social Studies.

Asian Studies E-Books Online, Collection 2010 This link opens in a new window
A useful database for the study of modern Asia-Pacific. It brings together thousands of full-text reports covering 53 countries on a multitude of business, government, economic, and social issues. Note: This database is subscribed by Yale-NUS College Library

ASEANStats
Statistics updates on selected key indicators about ASEAN and its Member States

The Digital National Security Archive
The Digital National Security Archive contains the most comprehensive set of declassified government documents available. The resource now includes 35 collections consisting of over 80,000 meticulously indexed documents, with more than 500,000 total pages. Each of these collections, compiled by top scholars and experts, exhaustively covers the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post World War II through the 21st century. Digital National Security Archive is use

Policy Archive
Online archive of multidisciplinary public policy research in the world. Developed by the Center for Governmental Studies (CGS) and the Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI) University Library.

Policy Commons
Requires free account creation to use.
Search over 3.4 million publications by over 24 thousand organisations by IGOs, NGOs, and think tanks.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Offers more than 1.7 million full-text dissertations in the humanities, social sciences, technology and more. Full-text available. For help on searching in this database, see this guide: https://proquest.libguides.com/pqdt

ScholarBank@NUS: Electronic theses and dissertations submitted to NUS after Sep 2003-
ScholarBank@NUS is the institutional repository of National University of Singapore. This repository collects and preserves the scholarly output of NUS and makes it accessible worldwide. Also included in the search is the Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETD) which includes Master’s (by Research) and Ph.D students deposited with the Registrar’s Office