LibGuides: Law: Legislation & Treaties

Finding Legislation & Treaties

For full listing of law databases, see: Guide to Electronic Resources Collection.

Selection of databases frequently used to access legislation and parliamentary materials:

General

Lexis Advance Singapore
WestLaw
Both databases contain legislation from various foreign jurisdictions, including Canada, Hong Kong, UK, US and the European Union.

China

CNKI Legal Knowledge Integrated Database
CNKI is a key national research and information publishing institution in China, led by Tsinghua University. The legal section of the database provides access to Chinese legislation and treaties.
LawInfoChina
Chinese laws, regulations and tax treaties (Chinese and English versions).

India

Manupatra
Coverage includes the Indian Central Bare Acts with all amendments incorporated.

Malaysia

CLJ Law
Contains Federal Acts, subsidiary legislation, state legislation, bills and treaties.
LawNet (Malaysia)
Access to Malaysian Acts, bills, legislative supplements, and government gazettes. Registration for ID and password required.

Click HERE for full listing.

Singapore

LawNet (access: NUS Law staff & students; Other NUS staff & students)
Database containing Singapore statutes and subsidiary legislation.

Click HERE for full listing.

EU and UK

UK Parliamentary Papers
Includes 18th and 19th century House of Commons parliamentary papers and 19th century House of Lords parliamentary papers.
vlexJustis (formerly JustisOne)
Contains the full text of every UK Act of Parliament passed and given royal assent, including repealed legislation, back to 1235. Also provides access to EU parliamentary questions and legislation.
WestLaw
Access to UK and EU legislation.

For a more extensive listing of open access databases, see International and Comparative Law: Treaties & International Conventions.

*CIL Document Database
Database administered by the Centre for International Law (National University of Singapore) containing over 1400 ASEAN and international law and policy documents in areas relevant to CIL’s research.

*International Humanitarian Law Databases
Access to treaties relating to international humanitarian law. Managed by the International Committee of the Red Cross.

*International Investment Agreements Navigator
IIAs located in the Investment Policy Hub maintained by UNCTAD.

KluwerArbitration
Contains treaties and conventions relating to commercial arbitration.

*Language of Peace Database
Tool to search provisions of Peace Agreements.

*United Nations Treaty Collection
Free access to the United Nations Treaty Series and Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General.

vlexJustis (formerly JustisOne)
Contains various EU treaties and international agreements.

* indicates open access database

A selection of websites, mainly from common law jurisdictions, containing legislation, parliamentary materials and treaties are listed below.

For ASEAN countries, refer to the ASEAN Law Resources LibGuide.

Australia

Canada