Skip to main content
Banner Image

Law: Databases

A start guide to legal research in the C J Koh Law Library

Introduction

The more commonly used law databases are highlighted on this page.

To see a full alphabetical listing of the Law Library's legal databases, go to the NUS Libraries Portal: http://libportal.nus.edu.sg/. Click on DATABASES on the menu bar. Then select Subjects, followed by Law from the drop down menu.

See also: Guide to Electronic Resources Collection.

Databases

Full text databases containing both primary and secondary sources of law:

LawNet (access: NUS Law staff & students) (access: Other NUS staff & students)
The main local legal database containing Singapore legislation, cases, books and journal articles.

Lexis Advance Singapore
Legal online research platform which contains Halsbury's Laws of Singapore and Atkin's Court Forms Singapore. It also provides access to foreign legislation, law reports and law journals.

Nexis Uni (previously LexisNexis Academic)
Although mainly a non-legal database, this contains a selection of foreign legislation, cases and legal journals.

Manupatra
Contains the Indian Central Bare Acts with all amendments incorporated as well as decisions of the Supreme Court of India and High Courts of the various Indian states.

Lawinfochina (English version of pkulaw)
Contains all laws adopted by the National People's Congress (NPC) and the NPC Standing Committee from 1949 as well as English translations of judicial decisions approved and published by the Supreme People's Court or the Supreme People's Procuratorate. Legal news on legislative developments and a law journals index are also available in this database.

WestLaw
Popular legal database containing an extensive range of legislation, law reports and law journals from various jurisdictions.

For full listing of databases, see: Guide to Electronic Resources Collection.

This is a selection of the more commonly used databases for cases:

Anglo-American

  • Lexis Advance Singapore
    Popular database for legal researchers containing an extensive range of law reports.
  • WestLaw
    Another popular legal database containing an extensive range of law reports.

Australia

China

  • Lawinfochina (English version of pkulaw.cn)
    Contains English translations of judicial decisions approved and published by the Supreme People's Court or the Supreme People's Procuratorate in the areas of administrative disputes, civil disputes, criminal offences, economic disputes, intellectual property law and maritime disputes.

Europe

  • JustisOne
    Contains the European Court Reports and Official Journal of the European Communities.

India

  • Manupatra
    Cases from the Supreme Court and all High Courts of India.

Malaysia

  • Lexis Advance Singapore
    The Malayan Law Journal contains reports of cases from the Federal Court, Court of Appeal, Malaysian High Court (in all states) from 1932 to current.

Singapore

Sri Lanka

  • Law Lanka
    Contains Sri Lankan reported judgments from the New Law Reports and Sri Lanka Law Reports.

UK

  • HeinOnline
    Contains the English Reports.
  • ICLR
    Contains the Law Reports, Weekly Law Reports and Business Law Reports
  • i-law.com
    Informa publications, including the Building Law Reports, Lloyd's Law Reports and Lloyd's Reinsurance Law Reports. To begin searching the database, click on Login on the top menu bar and enter your NUS email address.
  • JustisOne
    ‚ÄčHelps locate leading authorities and establish the current status of the law.
  • Lexis Library
    Law reports in this database include the All England Law Reports, All England (Direct), All England Commercial Cases and All ER Reprints
  • Times Digital Archive
    Digital online edition of the Times London 1785-2011. Contains the Times newspaper reports.

International

  • *CML CMI Database
    Database of judicial decisions on international maritime conventions. Contains case summaries, with links to full texts where available. Project undertaken and hosted by the Centre for Maritime Law of the National University of Singapore in collaboration with the Comité Maritime International.
  • ICC Digital Library
    Extracts from ICC arbitral awards published in the Bulletin from 1990 to date.
  • Investor-State Law Guide
    Contains publicly available ICSID, NAFTA and ad hoc tribunal decisions, and relevant materials pertaining thereto.
  • KluwerArbitration
    Contains arbitration awards and decisions.
  • Oxford Reports on International Law
    Contains arbitral awards, arbitral decisions, OPIC decisions, international court decisions and national court decisions.

* indicates open access database

For full listing of databases, see: Guide to Electronic Resources Collection.

Databases frequently used to access legislation and parliamentary materials:

*The Laws of the Straits Settlements of Singapore 1835-1919
Digitised copies of Singapore ordinances from 1835 to 1919.

JustisOne
Access to EU parliamentary questions and legislation.

Law Lanka
Database containing Sri Lankan Acts.

LawInfoChina
Chinese laws, regulations and tax treaties (Chinese and English versions).

LawNet (Malaysia)
Database containing Malaysian Federal Acts, rules and regulations.

LawNet (access: NUS Law staff & students) (access: Other NUS staff & students)
Database containing Singapore statutes and subsidiary legislation.

Lexis Advance Singapore
Legislation from various foreign countries.

Manupatra
Coverage includes the Indian Central Bare Acts with all amendments incorporated.

UK Parliamentary Papers
Includes 18th and 19th century House of Commons parliamentary papers and 19th century House of Lords parliamentary papers.

* indicates open access database

*CIL Document Database
Database administered by the Centre for International Law (National University of Singapore) containing over 600 ASEAN and 300 international law and policy documents in areas relevant to CIL’s research.

JustisOne
Contains various EU treaties and international agreements.

KluwerArbitration
Contains treaties and conventions relating to commercial arbitration.

*Language of Peace Database
Tool to search provisions of Peace Agreements. 

*United Nations Treaty Collection
Free access to the United Nations Treaty Series and Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General.

* indicates open access database

Corpus Juris Secundum
Cited and quoted as authority in courtrooms across the United States, the national legal encyclpaedia covers US state and federal legal topics from A to Z.

Halsbury's Laws of Australia
Explore this Australian legal encyclopaedia by topic or search by keyword.

Halsbury's Laws of Singapore
Provides an upated, narrative statement of the law of Singapore in 18 volumes. 

Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL)
Contains peer-reviewed articles on various aspects of public international law.

For full listing of databases, see: Guide to Electronic Resources Collection.

Selection of the more commonly used databases:

A. Law Databases

HeinOnline
Full text, image-based database containing an extensive range of law journals, reviews and yearbooks.

i-law.com
Access to Informa publications including Lloyd's Maritime and Commercial Law Quarterly and International Construction Law Review. To begin searching the database, click on Login on the top menu bar and enter your NUS email address.

KluwerArbitration
Journals in this database include Asian Dispute Review, Asian International Arbitration Journal, Journal of International Arbitration and Revue de l'Arbitrage.

Lexis Advance Singapore
Contains a wide range of law journals from various jurisdictions.

WestLaw
Popular legal database containing a wide range of law journals.

B. Non-Law Databases

JSTOR
Full text database containing back issues of important scholarly journals in all subject areas, including law.

Nexis Uni (previously LexisNexis Academic)
Although mainly a non-legal database, this contains a selection of foreign legislation, cases and legal journals.

SpringerLink
Although this database contains mainly scientific documents, many law-related articles and books can be found here, including materials on cyber law, space law and medical law.

Newspapers contain legal commentaries and are useful for obtaining information on unreported judgments, including the latest cases before the courts:

Factiva
Access to local and international newspapers. Coverage includes The Straits Times, Business Times and The Times (UK). 

Nexis Uni (previously LexisNexis Academic)
Access to nearly 6000 titles in news, business and legal information.

*NewspaperSG
Digital archive of Singapore and Malaya newspapers published from 1831 to 2009.

Times Digital Archive
Digital online edition of the Times London 1785-2011.

* indicates open access database

*Official Document System of the United Nations
The ODS is an online database of UN documents that has full-text, born-digital UN documents published from 1993 onwards, including documents of the Security Council, the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and their subsidiaries, as well as administrative issuances and other documents. It also includes scanned documents published between 1946 and 1993, including all resolutions of the principal organs, all documents of the Security Council and the General Assembly Official Records.

* indicates open access database

 

Indexes are not full text databases but are useful as they provide citations to articles from a wide range of publications:

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals, 1985-
Covers all forms of non-Anglo American law, including comparative law and legal systems. The database encompasses a variety of document types, including articles from journals, congresses, reports, essay collections and yearbooks.

LegalTrac, 1980-
Provides indexing for more than 1200 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals. More than 200 titles are available in full text. Coverage includes British Commonwealth, European Union and international law.

Guides on how to access and use NUS Libraries electronic resources: