Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Law: Articles

A start guide to legal research in the C J Koh Law Library

Introduction

Law journals and reviews are collections of articles on specific legal topics. They are published periodically and provide information on the latest developments in the law as well as comments and criticisms of the law.

Examples include the Harvard Law Review, Journal of Equity, Modern Law Review and Singapore Journal of Legal Studies.

a. What is an article citation?

Citations are references to where you can locate articles in law journals and reviews.

Examples:
i. Dora Neo, “The Sale of Goods (Amendment) Act 1996: Satisfactory Quality, an Undivided Share in a Bulk and other Amendments” (1997) 9 SAcLJ 362.
ii. David Feldman, “The Nature of Legal Scholarship” (198952 Mod.L.Rev. 498

Citations contain:

  • author of the article
  • title of the article
  • year the article was published
  • volume number of the journal
  • journal abbreviation 
  • first page of the article

b. How do I find a journal?

To determine the availability and location of journals in the NUS Libraries, run a Title Search for the journal in the library catalogue, LINC. For example, modern law review:

Alternatively, search for full text articles in one of the law databases listed in the right column.

Guides & Tutorials

Legal Abbreviations

Identify legal abbreviations using these online and print sources:

Indexes to Legal Periodicals

A good way to start searching for articles is to use an index to legal periodicals. The following databases contain citations to a wide range of journal articles. Search for articles by author, subject or keyword:

These databases will link you to full text articles, if they are available through NUS Libraries databases.

Alternatively, once you have retrieved the article citation, you may search for the journal by Title through the library catalogue, LINC.

Full Text Databases

For a full listing of law journal databases, see Guide to Electronic Resources Collection.

Here is a selection of the more commonly used databases:

NUS Law Working Paper Series

Browse the following Working Paper Series by NUS Law and its Centres for relevant articles (mostly published on SSRN):

Newspapers

Newspaper articles are important as they contain commentaries on various legal issues. The following databases provide access to a wide variety of newspapers and other news sources:

*indicates open access database

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Install the Proxy Bookmarklet for direct access to full texts of journal articles that are within the NUS Libraries' subscription.