Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Law: Cases

A start guide to legal research in the C J Koh Law Library

Introduction

A case citation is a reference to a legal case in the law reports. You will need this in order to locate the report of a case.

It generally includes the

  • names of the parties to the case
  • year the decision of the court was delivered or published
  • volume number of the law report
  • abbreviation of the law report series
  • first page at which the case is reported.

Example:
Anwar Siraj and Another v Ting Kang Chung John [2010] 1 SLR 1026

Finding Cases

Identify legal abbreviations using these online and print sources: 

* Librarian's preferred choice for non-Singapore sources

If you have a case citation, e.g. Salmah v Chop Chin Guan Hong [1929] SSLR 172:

Step 1. Identify the legal abbreviation in the citation using an index. For Singapore cases, use the Singapore Legal Abbreviations index. In this example, SSLR stands for the Straits Settlements Law Reports.


 

Step 2. Search for the law report by "Title" in LINC (Books & Media tab).


 

Step 3. Select the relevant title from the results list.


Step 4. Determine the location of the relevant volume.


Step 5. Once you have retrieved the relevant volume from  the shelves, turn to the first page of the report, which in this case is page 172.

For a full listing of databases, see: Guide to Electronic Resources Collection.

This is a selection of the more commonly searched databases for cases:

Australia

  • Lexis Advance Singapore
    Contains various Australian law reports, Australian Current Law and Casebase.
  • WestLaw
    Contains the Commonwealth Law Reports, Federal Court Reports, Federal Law Reports, South Australian State Reports and Australian unreported judgments.

China

  • *China Judgements Online
    Database supported by the Supreme People's Court. Contains the largest collection of judgments and decisions from Chinese courts.
  • CNKI Legal Knowledge Integrated Database
    CNKI is a key national research and information publishing institution in China, led by Tsinghua University. The legal section of the database provides access to court judgments.
  • Lawinfochina (English version of pkulaw.cn)
    Contains English translations of judicial decisions approved and published by the Supreme People's Court or the Supreme People's Procuratorate in the areas of administrative disputes, civil disputes, criminal offences, economic disputes, intellectual property law and maritime disputes.

Europe

  • JustisOne
    Contains the European Court Reports and Official Journal of the European Communities.

  • WestLaw
    Coverage includes decisions of the Court of Justice of the European Communities, the Court of First Instance of the European Communities (General Court), the Civil Service Tribunal and the EFTA Court.

India

  • Manupatra
    Cases from the Supreme Court and all High Courts of India.

Malaysia

  • CLJ Law
    Contains the Current Law Journal (CLJ), Supplement series (CLJSupp/MTC/BLJ), Industrial Law Reports (ILR) and Laporan Syariah/Syariah Reports (CLJ(Sya)/SHR).
  • Lexis Advance Singapore
    The Malayan Law Journal contains reports of cases from the Federal Court, Court of Appeal, Malaysian High Court (in all states) from 1932 to current.

Singapore

Sri Lanka

  • Law Lanka
    Contains Sri Lankan reported judgments from the New Law Reports and Sri Lanka Law Reports.

UK

  • HeinOnline
    Contains the English Reports.
  • ICLR
    Contains the official Law Reports (e.g. AC, QB, Fam and Ch), Weekly Law Reports and Business Law Reports.
  • i-law.com
    Informa publications, including the Building Law Reports, Lloyd's Law Reports and Lloyd's Reinsurance Law Reports. To begin searching the database, click on Login on the top menu bar and enter your NUS email address.
  • JustisOne
    ‚ÄčUseful for noting-up cases. Contains the Times Law Reports.
  • Lexis Advance Singapore
    Cases from the major UK law reporters.
  • Lexis Library
    Law reports in this database include the All England Law Reports, All England (Direct), All England Commercial Cases and All ER Reprints.
  • Times Digital Archive
    Digital online edition of the Times London (1785 - 2014)

US

International

  • *CML CMI Database
    Database of judicial decisions on international maritime conventions. Contains case summaries, with links to full texts where available. Project undertaken and hosted by the Centre for Maritime Law, National University of Singapore in collaboration with the Comité Maritime International.
  • ICC Digital Library
    Extracts from ICC arbitral awards published in the Bulletin from 1990 to date.
  • Investor-State Law Guide
    Contains publicly available ICSID, NAFTA and ad hoc tribunal decisions, and relevant materials pertaining thereto.
  • Lexis Advance Singapore
    Coverage of cases in the following jurisdictions - Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, India, Malaysia, New Zealand, United Kingdom and United States of America.
  • KluwerArbitration
    Contains arbitration awards and decisions.
  • Oxford Reports on International Law
    Contains arbitral awards, arbitral decisions, OPIC decisions, international court decisions and national court decisions.
  • WestLaw
    Law reports from Australia, Canada, European Union, Hong Kong, Korea, United Kingdom and United States.

* indicates open access database

A selection of websites, mainly from common law jurisdictions, which provide open access to court judgments and awards are listed below.

For ASEAN countries, refer to the ASEAN Law Resources LibGuide.

Australia

Canada

China

European Union

Hong Kong

India

New Zealand

Singapore

UK

US

Global

International

Resource Librarian

Profile Photo
Lee Su-Lin
Contact:
C J Koh Law Library
469D Bukit Timah Road, Singapore 259773
+65 6516 2042
Website
Subjects: Law