CNM Communications and New Media: Websites

The references are selected by communication studies librarians serving as members of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL).

Focuses on cyberculture, cyberspace, computer-mediated communication and online communities. Links to online articles, bibliographies, and tools for online community building are available.

Surveys and polls on various media topics, commentary, datasets and topics in the news.

The U.S. reference, referral, and distribution service for information on HIV/AIDS, sexually transmitted diseases (STDs), and tuberculosis (TB).

Published by Steven R. Van Hook, this website covers a wide-range of topics on public relations and includes useful website links.

The starting point for your Web 2.0 learning and sharing experience in the context of development work

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) composes a number of specialized research networks in the social sciences. Topics covered by networks include accounting, economics, financial economics, legal scholarship, and management (including negotiation and marketing). The SSRN eLibrary consists of abstracts of scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an electronic paper collection of downloadable full text documents in pdf format.

Website of the Infocomm Media Development Authority of Singapore (IMDA), which acts as the regulatory body for infocomm companies in Singapore.

Singapore government news and policies, leadership and bureacracy, as well as official statistics are available on the Singapore Government website.

Official site of the Singapore Department of Statistics.

Website of an international nonprofit organization which uses communication for better social change in poor and marginalized communities.

Current research includes machines with common sense, viral communications, "smart" prostheses, advanced sensor networks, innovative interface design, and sociable robots.

Website of the Information for Development Program, a partnership of international development agencies, coordinated and served by World Bank. It gives support to ICT for development (ICT4D) and helps to reduce duplication of efforts and investments.

The ITU (part of United Nations) website covers the entire range of telecommunication issues from standards setting to international regulations.

This U.S. Federal Government's official site covers domestic and international telecommunications and information technology issues.