Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

English Language: Databases

Resources for English Language

Using Databases

We recommend using the LLBA (Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts) database if you specialise in English Language. Here is a quick guide on how to use it.

1. Search for LLBA at the DATABASES tab on the library website. Click on the database link when it appears.

2. Search LLBA with the keywords of your topic, e.g. singapore english cultureUse synonyms or similar words where possible, and combine the keywords with the Boolean operators OR, and AND. This helps to maximise the possibility of retrieving relevant results.

The Advanced Search mode gives you more features, e,g. where you want the keywords to appear, whether the journal must be peer-reviewed, etc.

3. Results in LLBA are automatically sorted by relevance. Click on the checkbox next to the article number to collate the references and email, print, cite, export/save them (no full text).

Not all databases have full-text articles. If you do not see the full text, click on the Find It @ NUS Libraries icon to see if the full text might be available somewhere else within the library's collection.

 

 

4. If you still cannot find the full text, email us for recommendations on how else you may obtain the article. 

LLBA (Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts)

LLBA indexes international literature in and related disciplines in the language sciences. This database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Subject coverage includes:

  • Anthropological linguistics
  • Applied linguistics
  • Descriptive linguistics
  • Discourse analysis
  • Language - pathological and normal
  • Learning disabilities
  • Nonverbal communication
  • Phonetics
  • Phonology
  • Psycholinguistics

MLA International Bibliography

This is a key database for books and articles published on modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics. It dates back to 1925 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals and 1,000 book publishers.

Communication & Mass Media Complete

Communication & Mass Media Complete

Enter your search terms:

This database offers good coverage on communication, mass media, public relations and communication linguistics. You can search using Boolean search, natural language search, or search within the full-text of articles.

Project Muse

Project Muse

Offers full-text online access to a selection of journals from university presses and scholarly societies around the world.

JSTOR

JSTOR

This full-text database contains back issues of important scholarly journals in all subject areas. Back issues start from the first issue up to 3 to 5 years before the present.

Other databases