LibGuides: English Language, English Literature, and Performing Arts: Databases

Why Use Databases?

Databases provide subject or discipline-specific information; this means they prevent the hassle of having to filter the non-relevant results that we may get from using a typical browser or search engine such as FindMore. We can use databases after using FindMore or the search engines as the next stage of our search process to help us get more focused results.

Databases for English Language, Literature, and Performing Arts

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
This database, accessible via ProQuest, covers the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical, and geographical linguistics.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography provides searchable access to more than 2 million bibliographic citations to journal articles, books, dissertations, and scholarly websites. It indexes materials from 1921 to the present in academic disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts. Coverage includes literature from all over the world Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) is a robust communication studies database. It provides full-text, indexing and abstracts for many top communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography provides searchable access to more than 2 million bibliographic citations to journal articles, books, dissertations, and scholarly websites. It indexes materials from 1921 to the present in academic disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts. Coverage includes literature from all over the world Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America.

Gale Literature
A one-stop platform for all things English Literature. Provides an integrated research experience comprising author references and critical analyses about English literary works. Also includes a master index of literary works published by Gale, and features integrated for digital humanities research.

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text and user-friendly online access to over 380 high quality humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.

These are the recommended databases for Theatre & Performance Studies that NUS has subscribed to. Do note that some databases do not provide full-text articles. For secondary sources, we suggest the Performing Arts (Periodicals) Database (PAPD), or the International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance (IBTD).

Database	Link	Description of Content
Performing Arts (Periodicals) Database (PAPD)	PAPD	Performing Arts Periodicals Database indexes around 400 scholarly and trade journals, magazines, books, and newspapers covering theater, dance, film, television, stagecraft, broadcast arts, storytelling, and more. It draws from both current files and selected backfiles to 1864 and 134 publications are included in full text.
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance	IBTD	International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text includes 299 active indexed and abstracted journals. 217 of them are peer-reviewed. Subjects include ballet, comedy, dance, drama, mime, opera, puppetry, theatre
Digital Theatre Plus	DT+	Provides online access to a digital streaming video collection of unique films of current, leading British theatre productions. Includes behind-the-scenes documentaries as well as teaching and learning resources to facilitate a deeper understanding of the productions and texts. Learning resources include a detailed introduction, plot summary, character biographies, a relationship map, language analysis, scene study, performance background and historical context for each play.
Project Muse	Muse	An online database of peer-reviewed academic journals and electronic books. Project MUSE contains digital humanities and social science content from over 250 university presses and scholarly societies around the world
JSTOR	JSTOR	A full-text database contains back issues of important academic journals in all subject areas. Contains back issues starting from the first issue up to 3 to 5 years before the present. It also encompasses books and other primary sources as well as current issues of journals in the humanities and social sciences. It provides full-text searches of almost 2,000 journals.