FindMore uses one simple search box that provides users with a Google-like search experience. It provides a single unified search across the extensive collection of books, scholarly journals, newspaper articles, ebooks, theses and dissertations, and online full-text contents in NUS Libraries' catalogue and subscribed electronic resources. It searches across all subject areas, making it great for interdisciplinary research, while allowing you to zero in on relevant articles through filters.
Check the list of FAQs specifically on FindMore
Once you have a set of results, there are many options to help you explore topics, narrow your results set, and refine your search query. Recommendations and suggestions for other resources or search terms are also provided.
Save your search to the Save Search so you don't have to retype your search terms. Within the same browser session, you do not need to sign in to Microsoft OneDrive/Google Drive. If you want to save the searches beyond your current browser session, you need to sign in to either Microsoft OneDrive or Google Drive.
Click View Saved to manage your saved searches. You can also log in to Microsoft OneDrive or Google Drive to manage your saved searches. Please remember to sign out if you are on a public computer.
Save your results so that you can print or email them in the appropriate citation style (e.g APA, MLA). Note that saving results in FindMore is temporary.
You can export the items into reference managers under the Export As dropdown menu. Alternatively, you can print or email the items.
You can bulk export up to 1000 search results.
If you don't use reference managers, FindMore provides the option to format your saved list of results in your preferred citation styles.
Simply chose a style from the dropdown menu and the results list will be formatted accordingly. Copy and paste these results on to your bibliographies/reference lists. Please remember to check the accuracy of the citation.
Search terms may be combined with the following Boolean operators:
By default, all terms in a search are combined with the AND operator.
Example: teacher AND education will return results that contain both terms.
Use OR to expand the results set.
Example:microcircuits OR nanocircuits will return items that contain either term.
Use NOT to exclude items the results list. You may also use the “-” (dash) character in front of the term you wish to exclude.
Example: animal NOT dog will not include the term dog.
When two or more terms or expressions are adjacent with no intervening Boolean operator, an AND is assumed. For example, searching for the keywords Singapore History is similar to searching for the keywords Singapore AND History.
FindMore will process terms within the parentheses first, followed by AND, then OR.
Use quotation marks “ ” to search for a phrase.
Example: The search “teacher education” will find results containing the exact phrase.
Use equals sign (=) after the closing double quote of an exact phrase to disable linguistic features (such as stemming, spelling/casing/character normalizations and synonyms) to match exact phrases verbatim.
Example: “ "theater"= ”– Disables spelling variations to retrieve results that include the exact phrase theater and not theatre.
Searches can be performed using the following wildcards:
The symbol ? will match any one character.
Example: The search Ols?n can be used to find Olsen or Olson.
The symbol * will match zero or more characters within a word.
Example: Ch*ter will match Charter, Character and Chapter.
When * is used at the end of a word, it will match all suffixes.
Example: Temp* will match Temptation, Temple and Temporary.
Note: Wildcards cannot be used as the first character of a search. The use of wildcards within a phrase search is not supported.
Use the tilde character ~ to find words within a defined proximity to other words.
Example: "Singapore history"~3 will find results where the two terms are within at most three words of each other. Quotes are necessary.
Use the caret symbol ^ to direct FindMore that a certain term is more important others.
Example: The search statement China^10 "Singapore History" will increase the term weight of the keyword China and this results in higher rankings for more China-related results.
Do NOT enter author, edition or publisher. Do NOT copy and paste the whole reference or citation.
e.g Almeida, H., Campello, M., & Weisbach, M. S. (2005). The cash flow sensitivity of cash. The Journal of Finance, 59(4), 1777-1804
Search "The cash flow sensitivity of cash"
Use Advanced Search if you want to use the author together with the title to help narrow the search.
Use Content Type facet to reduce the results if there are too many results.
Still can't find it or too many results? Use Advanced Search.
If it is a book, use the ISBN if available.
Alternatively, search for both Title and Author. To be even more specific, you can even add Publication Date.
If you are looking for journal articles, please note that we cover only online journal article titles and we do not have permission to add all journal article titles into the search. Therefore you may not find some journal articles, even if we have access. You can use LINC to check if library have subscription.
Add quotes to ensure important phrases are found together e.g. "media policy" Singapore
The system generally ranks results with words that are closer together higher, but occasionally might rank other results that have search terms far apart due to other ranking factors. Use quotes to force the results to have the exact phrase.
You can use proximity operators to specify that the words have to be N words apart. "Singapore policy"~3 will find results where the two terms are within at most three words of each other.
Use Advanced Search for precise controlled searches.
The Advanced Search lets you force results to have particular words in specific fields such as title. This is especially effective for Country specific searches (e.g. Singapore, Malaysia). Otherwise the country might appear somewhere in the full-text and the item may not be on the country at all.
A even more advanced technique is to use the caret symbol to emphasis that certain search terms are more important. E.g. "media policy"^2 Singapore, tells the system to weight "media policy" more highly.
Use Discipline and Subject Terms facets to restrict search to specific discipline/subject. Disciplines are standardized for all items in FindMore and are at broad levels. Subjects are drawn from different sources using different systems of classification, hence, the terms used will not be standardized.
Use Content Type, Publication Date facets to restrict search to specific content type or date.
By default, the search may exclude Book Reviews & Newspaper Articles as these are not scholarly material. But for certain situations, like current events, they may be appropriate, so you may want to show them.
Get more results by logging before searching. You don't have to login before searching, but if you do, you get access millions more results from Web of Science, Scopus, MLA, and more.
It is not necessary to login with your NUS-ID and password before searching to see results in FindMore. You will be prompted to login to access full-text when necessary.
However doing a login before searching has a few benefits:
1. You will see more articles, conference proceedings and other items from various restricted sources including
This will enable more articles to be found in FindMore. For example "The bonsai under the banyan tree: democracy and democratisation in Singapore" can only be found in FindMore, after login because it is in Web of Science only and not in the normal FindMore results.
Not all such items will be available in full-text, however those that we have in full-text will be indicated.
2. You will also be able to see Time cited data if available (from Web of Science and Scopus) for articles.
Get even more results by using Add results beyond your library's collection.
This option will show a lot more articles or books that we currently may not have access to (use document delivery to request purchase of article or ask us to purchase the book). Others may be free or open access material which we have not added.
FindMore searches a lot of NUS library subscribed material but even it is still not comprehensive. It is worthwhile trying a subject specific database which may make it easier to find what you need.
