Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Find Library Resources: Locating items and how to borrow

The guide to help you search for items within NUS Libraries

How to locate items in the library

Let's start with this Central Library book record from the result in the library catalog. We will teach you how to decipher the information in the record.

Some titles are available in both physical and digital format. Clicking the link, as shown in the green box for example, will bring you to the 24-hour accessible e-books or online articles. If you encounter problems accessing the e-materials and databases, email us at askalib@nus.edu.sg.

If the item is only available in hard copy, you need to look at "LOCATION" and "STATUS", as shown in the red boxes above, to  know where the item is physically located and its current status. Do refer to the guide below on how to get your library books.

LOCATION STATUS Where to go and what to do?
Central Library Books AVAILABLE Go to Level 5 mainshelf area and find the book by CALL # (Call Number). Use the self-service kiosk to borrow.
Central Library Closed Stacks (Loans Desk) REQUEST ITEM The book is stored in the warehouse. Request online by clicking the orange "REQUEST" tab. Collect it from Level 1 Service Desk upon receiving library collection notice email.
Central Library Closed Stacks (Use in Library) REQUEST ITEM The book is stored in the warehouse. Request online by clicking the orange "REQUEST" tab. Collect it from Level 1 Service Desk upon receiving library collection notice email. The book can be used in the library only.
Central Library Current Journals USE IN LIBRARY Go to Level 5 mainshelf area and find the journal by CALL #.
Central Library Multimedia (Loans Desk) REQUEST ITEM Go to Level 1 Service Desk and fill out request slip to request for the item. You may expect some waiting time to obtain the item. Teaching staff can request via e-form in Library Portal.
Central Library Loans Desk AVAILABLE Go to Level 1 Service Desk to request for the item by CALL #.
Central Library Microforms (Loans Desk) REQUEST ITEM The item is stored in the warehouse. Request online by clicking the orange "REQUEST" tab. Collect it from Level 1 Service Desk upon receiving library collection notice email.
Central Library RBR AVAILABLE Go to Level 1 RBR Collection and find the book by CALL #. Borrow the book via the self-service kiosk.
Central Library Singapore-Malaysia Collection (Use in Library) USE IN LIBRARY Go to Level 5 Singapore-Malaysia Collection room and find the book by CALL #. The book can only be used in that room.
Central Library Rare Books RESTRICTED USE Please email loans@nus.edu.sg to request for the item. Before arranging for viewing in the restricted area, we may take some time to check the condition of the item and then you will be informed to come to view the rare materials.
Central Library Holdshelf (Loans Desk) AVAILABLE Go to Level 1 Service Desk to borrow the book. The book's loan period is reduced to shorter term due to multiple reservations.
Any loan-able item DUE DD-MM-YY + N HOLD The item is on loan currently and N number of users requested to reserve it. Request online by clicking the orange "REQUEST" tab. Collect it from Level 1 Service Desk upon receiving library collection notice email.

Sometimes you will see other STATUS. The list below will help you understand about the status of the book you are searching for: 

STATUS Description
ON ORDER Order placed for the item and not received yet. You can request for the item.
MISSING The item has been declared as missing or lost.
RECALLED Library has asked for the item that is on loan to be returned immediately. This happens for several reasons for example, a module coordinator has instructed that a popular item to be placed in RBR Collection.
ON HOLDSHELF        Item awaiting collection at Level 1 Service Desk for the user who reserved it.

 

Let's start with this sample Chinese Library book record result from the library catalog. We will teach you how to decipher the information in the record.

Some titles are available in both physical and digital format. Clicking the link, as shown in the green box for example, will bring you to the 24-hour accessible e-books or online articles. If you encounter problems accessing the e-materials and databases, email us at askalib@nus.edu.sg.

If the library item is only available in hard copy, you need to look at "LOCATION" and "STATUS", as shown in the red boxes above, to know where the library item is physically located and its current status. Do refer to the guide below on how to get your library books.

LOCATION STATUS Where to go and what to do?
Chinese Library Books AVAILABLE Go to Level 6 Chinese and Japanese mainshelf area and find the book by CALL #. Use the self-service kiosk to borrow.
Chinese Library Books (Japanese) AVAILABLE Go to Level 6 Chinese and Japanese mainshelf area and find the book by CALL #. Use the self-service kiosk to borrow.
Chinese Library Southeast Asian Collection (Use in Library) USE IN LIBRARY Go to Level 5 Chinese Library Southeast Asian Collection section and find the book by CALL #. Read in the library only and items are not allowed to bring out of the section.
Chinese Library Siku Collection (Use in Library) USE IN LIBRARY Go to Level 5 Chinese Library Southeast Asian Collection section and find the book by CALL #. Read in the library only and items are not allowed to bring out of the section.
Any loan-able item DUE DD-MM-YY + N HOLD The item is on loan currently and N number of users requested to reserve it. Request online by clicking the orange "REQUEST" tab. Collect it from Level 1 Service Desk upon receiving library collection notice email.

Sometimes you will see other STATUS. The list below will help you understand about the status of the book you are searching for. 

STATUS Description
ON ORDER Order placed for the item and not received yet. You can request the item.
MISSING The item has been declared as missing or lost.
RECALLED Library has asked for the item that is on loan to be returned immediately. This happens for several reasons for example, a module coordinator has instructed that a popular item to be placed in RBR Collection.
ON  HOLDSHELF        Item awaiting collection at Level 1 Service Desk for the user who reserved it.

 

Let's start with this Science Library book record from the library catalog. We will teach you how to decipher the information in the record.

Some titles are available in both physical and digital format. Clicking the link, as shown in the green box for example, will bring you to the 24-hour accessible e-books or online articles. If you encounter problems accessing the e-materials and databases, email us at askalib@nus.edu.sg.

If the library item is only available in hard copy, you need to look at "LOCATION" and "STATUS", as shown in the red boxes above, to know where the library item is physically located and its current status. Do refer to the guide below on how to get your library books.

LOCATION STATUS Where to go and what to do?
Science Library Books AVAILABLE Go to Level 5 Books Room and find the book by CALL #. Use the self-service kiosk to borrow.
Science Library Closed Stacks REQUEST ITEM The book is stored in the warehouse. Request online by clicking the orange "REQUEST" tab. Collect it from Level 4 Loans Desk.
Science Library Current Journals USE IN LIBRARY Go to Level 4 CollabArena and find the journals by CALL #.
Science Library Multimedia (Loans Desk) USE IN LIBRARY Go to Level 4 Loans Desk and request for the item. You may expect some waiting time to obtain the item. Teaching staff can request via e-form in Library Portal.
Science Library Loans Desk AVAILABLE Go to Level 4 Loans Desk to request the item by CALL #.
Science Library RBR AVAILABLE Go to Level 4 RBR Collection opposite Loans Desk and find the book by CALL #. Borrow the book via the self-service kiosk.
Science Library Bound Journals AVAILABLE Go to Level 5 Bound Journal Room and find the item by CALL #. Use the self-service kiosk to borrow.
Science Library General Reading USE IN LIBRARY Go to Level 4 CollabArena General Reading Section.
Any loan-able item DUE DD-MM-YY + N HOLD The item is on loan currently and N number of users requested to reserve it. Request online by clicking the orange "REQUEST" tab. Collect it from Level 4 Loans Desk upon receiving library collection notice email.

Sometimes you will see other STATUS. The list below will help you understand about the status of the book you are searching for.

STATUS Description
ON ORDER Order placed for the item and not received yet. You can request for the item.
MISSING The item has been declared as missing or lost.
RECALLED Library has asked for the item that is on loan to be returned immediately. This happens for several reasons for example, a module coordinator has instructed that a popular item to be placed in RBR Collection.
ON HOLDSHELF        Item awaiting collection at Level 4 Loans Desk.

 

Let's start with this sample book record result from the library catalog. We will teach you how to decipher the information in the record.

Some titles are available in both physical and digital format. Clicking the link, as shown in the green box for example, will bring you to the 24-hour accessible e-books and online articles. If you encounter problems accessing the e-materials and databases, email us at askalib@nus.edu.sg.

If the library item is only available in hard copy, you need to look at "LOCATION" and "STATUS", as shown in the red boxes above, to know where the library item is physically located and its current status. Do refer to the guide below on how to get your library books.

LOCATION STATUS Where to go and what to do?
Medical Library Current Journals USE IN LIBRARY Items are stored in compactus. Go to Level 5 Loans Desk and request for the item by providing the title.
Medical Library General Reading AVAILABLE Go to Level 5 General Reading Collection and find the book by CALL #. Use the self-service kiosk to borrow.
Medical Library Loans Desk AVAILABLE Go to Level 5 Loans Desk and request for the accompanying materials by providing the CALL #.
Medical Library Multimedia (Loans Desk) USE IN LIBRARY Go to Level 5 Loans Desk and request for the item by providing STACK #.
Medical Library Books AVAILABLE Go to Level 5 Book Collection and find the book by CALL #. Use the self-service kiosk to borrow.
Medical Library Rare Books (Information Desk) RESTRICTED USE Go to Level 5 Loans Desk and request for the book by providing the CALL #.
Medical Library RBR (Loans Desk) AVAILABLE Go to Level 5 RBR Collection and find the book by CALL #. Use the self-service kiosk to borrow.
Medical Library Reference USE IN LIBRARY Go to Level 5 Loans Desk and request for the item by providing the CALL #.
Medical Library Singapore-Malaysia Collection USE IN LIBRARY Books are stored in compactus. Go to Level 5 Loans Desk and request for the book by providing the CALL #.
Any loan-able item DUE DD-MM-YY + N HOLD The item is on loan currently and N number of users requested to reserve it. Request online by clicking the orange "REQUEST" tab. Collect it from Level 5 Loans Desk upon receiving library collection notice email.

Sometimes you will see other STATUS. The list below will help you understand about the status of the book you are searching for.

STATUS Description
ON ORDER Order placed for the item and not received yet. You can request the item.
MISSING The item has been declared as missing or lost.
RECALLED Library has asked for the item that is on loan to be returned immediately. This happens for several reasons for example, a module coordinator has instructed that a popular item to be placed in RBR Collection.
ON HOLDSHELF        Item awaiting collection at Level 5 Loans Desk.

 

Let's start with this sample Law Library book record from the result page in the library catalog. We will teach you how to decipher the information in the record.

Some titles are available in both physical and digital format. Clicking the link, as shown in the green box for example, will bring you to the 24-hour accessible e-books or online articles. If you encounter problems accessing the e-materials and databases, email us at askalib@nus.edu.sg.

If the item is only available in hard copy, you need to look at "LOCATION" and "STATUS", as shown in the red boxes above, to  know where the item is physically located and its current status. Do refer to the guide below on how to get your library books.

LOCATION STATUS Where to go and what to do?
C J Koh Law Library Books AVAILABLE Go to Level 3 mainshelf area and find the book by CALL #. Borrow at Level 1 Loans Desk.
C J Koh Law Library Closed Stacks REQUEST ITEM The book i stored in the warehouse. Request online by clicking the orange "REQUEST" tab. Collect it from Level 1 Loans Desk.
C J Koh Law Library Current Journals USE IN LIBRARY Go to Level 1 Current Journal Section and find the journals by CALL #.
C J Koh Law Library Reference 1 USE IN LIBRARY Go to Level 1 Reference Section and find the book by CALL #.
C J Koh Law Library Reference 2 USE IN LIBRARY Go to Level 1 Reference Section and find the book by CALL #.
C J Koh Law Library Bound Journals AVAILABLE Go to Level 2 Bound Journal Room and find the item by CALL #. Borrow at Level 1 Loans Desk.
C J Koh Law Library Loans Desk AVAILABLE Go to Level 1 Loans Desk to request for the item by CALL #.
C J Koh Law Library Legislation/Reports USE IN LIBRARY Go to Level 1 Legislation/Reports Section and find the item by CALL #.
C J Koh Law Library RBR AVAILABLE Go to Level 1 RBR Section and find the book by CALL #. Use the self-service kiosk to borrow.
C J Koh Law Library Singapore-Malaysia Collection USE IN LIBRARY Go to Level 1 Singapore-Malaysia Collection room and find the book by CALL #. The book can only be used in that room.
Any loan-able item DUE DD-MM-YY + N HOLD The item is on loan currently and N number of users requested to reserve it. Request online by clicking the orange "REQUEST" tab. Collect it from Level 1 Loans Desk upon receiving library collection notice email.

Sometimes you will see other STATUS. The list below will help you understand about the status of the book you are searching for 

STATUS Description
ON ORDER Order placed for the item and not received yet. You can request the item.
MISSING The item has been declared as missing or lost.
RECALLED Library has asked for the item that is on loan to be returned immediately. This happens for several reasons for example, a module coordinator has instructed that a popular item to be placed in RBR Collection.
ON HOLDSHELF        Item awaiting collection at Level 1 Service Desk for the user who reserved it.

Let's start with this sample Music Library book record from the result page in the library catalog. We will teach you how to decipher the information in the record.

Some titles are available in both physical and digital format. Clicking the link, as shown in the green box for example, will bring you to the 24-hour accessible e-books or online articles. If you encounter problems accessing the e-materials and databases, email us at askalib@nus.edu.sg.

If the library item is only available in hard copy, you need to look at "LOCATION" and "STATUS", as shown in the red boxes above, to  know where the library item is physically located and its current status. Do refer to the guide below on how to get your library books.

LOCATION STATUS Where to go and what to do?
Music Library Books/Scores AVAILABLE Go to Level 2 mainshelf area and find the book or score by CALL #. Score shelves are from #1 to #4, book shelves are from #6 to #9. Use the self-service kiosk at Level 1 to borrow.
Music Library Miniature Scores AVAILABLE Go to Level 2 mainshelf area shelf #4 and find the book or score by CALL #. Use the self-service kiosk at Level 1 to borrow.
Music Library Oversize Scores AVAILABLE Go to Level 2 mainshelf area shelf #5 and find the book or score by CALL #. Use the self-service kiosk at Level 1 to borrow.
Music Library Collected Works USE IN LIBRARY Go to Level 2 mainshelf area shelf #10 and find the book or score by CALL #.
Music Library Loans Desk AVAILABLE Go to Level 1 Loans Desk to request for the item by CALL #.
Music Library RBR (Loans Desk) AVAILABLE Go to Level 1 Loans Desk to request for the item by CALL #.
Music Library Reference-Directories USE IN LIBRARY Go to Level 1 the shelf next to the self-service kiosk and find the item by CALL #.
Music Library Bound Journals AVAILABLE Go to Level 2 mainshelf area shelf #10 and find the book or score by CALL #. Use the self-service kiosk at Level 1 to borrow.
Yong Siew Toh Conservatory of Music AVAILABLE Go to Level 2 mainshelf area shelf and find the book or score by CALL #. Use the self-service kiosk at Level 1 to borrow. Loanable to YST Ensemble Office only.
Music Library Multimedia (Loans Desk) USE IN LIBRARY Go to Level 1 Loans Desk to request for the item by CALL #.
Any loan-able item DUE DD-MM-YY + N HOLD

The item is on loan currently and N number of users requested to reserve it. Request online by clicking the orange "REQUEST" tab. Collect it from Level 1 Loans Desk upon receiving library collection notice email.

 Sometimes you will see other STATUS. The list below will help you understand about the status of the book you are searching for.

STATUS Description
ON ORDER Order placed for the item and not received yet. You can request the item.
MISSING The item has been declared as missing or lost.
RECALLED Library has asked for the item that is on loan to be returned immediately. This happens for several reasons for example, a module coordinator has instructed that a popular item to be placed in RBR Collection.
ON HOLDSHELF        Item awaiting collection at Level 1 Service Desk for the user who reserved it.