Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Find Library Resources: Books and Articles

The guide to help you search for items within NUS Libraries

How to Find Books and Other Materials

How to find a book?

(1) Use NUS Library's search engine (Findmore) to find books/ e-books. Its search will include all types of materials in our collection.

findmore - library search engine

Or

(2) Use Books & Mediai.e. LINC (NUS Library's Catalogue) if you know which item you are looking for. Search by specific field(s) such as Title, Author, Keyword or Subject.

LINC catalogue

1. Find the location of the book in the library
2. Check whether a copy is available
3. Take note of the call number of the book

4. If there is a Stack #, the book is in Closed Stacks
5. If it is an e-book, click on the link to access full-text

How to borrow it?

Use your student card to borrow books at the self-check machines or go to the Service Desk.

How to return it?

Return borrowed books at the book drop.

RBR items (books on 2-hour loan period) should be returned at the RBR self-check machine of the library you have borrowed it from.

How to reserve if the book is borrowed out?

Place hold/ reserve the book if it is out on loan using LINC (NUS Library INtegrated Catalogue).

E-Books

Note that access to e-books varies. Some allow book download, some allow by chapters. There are also e-books that you can only be allowed to read online, ie, not downloadable.

Interested to know more on e-books? Read further in this guide: E-Books Library Guide (NUS Libraries)

How to find a journal article?

(1) Search by article title in our search engine (Findmore) to see if we have a subscription for the article.

Please note that search by article title only works for 90% of our online articles. Also, this method would not work for articles that we have in print only. For such cases, search by journal title (not article title).

Findmore - NUS Library search engine

Or

(2) Search by journal title in Books & Media

If an online article is not found, try searching by journal title (not the article title) to check if we have the print journal in the library. Check availability of relevant volume and issue of the journal.  

Setting up Findit@NUS Libraries in Google Scholar and Proxy Bookmarklet in your device

Proxy Bookmarklet and Findit@NUSLibraries in Google Scholar allow you to directly access full text of those e-resources that we subcribed to.

Proxy Bookmarklet  - Use this when you are on a site asking you to pay for access

Google Scholar + NUS Libraries - Use this with Google Scholar to gain access to full text with one click

How to find a database?

Databases are a good place to begin research. There are many databases subscribed by NUS Libraries, most contain journal articles from various journals, while others have other types of content, e.g. conference papers, newspapers, book chapters, reports and reviews. You can search a database for information (on a particular subject, keyword, author, etc.) across multiple sources  (journals, newspapers, etc.) simultaneously.

(1) Use Databases to search or browse a database of your choice

access database

Or

(2) Not sure which database to use?
You can browse by Subject or Type or check out the recommended databases in Subject Guides compiled by our Resources Librarians

Set-up your device to connect Google Scholar to NUS Libraries' resources

Setting up findit3 

Google Scholar results will link you directly to the required online journal article or book chapter. However, you may not have access to the full-text, even if the source title is subscribed by the Library. This is because you are not authenticated via NUS Library proxy. To access the full-text, set up your Google Scholar settings to link it to the NUS Libraries' collection. The steps are as follows:

  1. ​Go to Google Scholar (http://scholar.google.com). At the top left panel, click on the hamburger menu icon (Google Scholar tends to move this icon around quite a bit..):

GS

  1. Select Settings on the resulting screen. Click on Library Links:

GS_library_links

  1. At the "Show library access..." screen, key in NUS and click Enter.  Uncheck the box for "Open World Cat...if it was checked by default earlier on. Click Save:

  1. Now you're ready test if your settings work. Search for a topic in Google Scholar for example Forest City Malaysia Chinese. The findit3 links will now appear to the right of some articles in your search results.  Click on these links to see if the full texts are available in our collection.

The proxy bookmarklet automatically inserts the NUS Library proxy stem (libproxy1.nus.edu.sg) into the URL of an article/e-book. Once you have successfully installed the bookmarklet in your browser, simply click on it when you are on the vendor/publisher page that requires you to pay or login to view full text.

Install Proxy Bookmarklet by following the instructions for the browser you are using:

 
Google Chrome Chrome
  1. Click (hold) and drag this link <NUS Libraries Proxy Bookmarklet> to the "Bookmarks" bar.
    If you don't see your Bookmark bar, go to the top right, click the "Customize and control Google Chrome icon" chromeoptions > select Settings > under the Appearance section, select Show bookmarks bar button. 
    Alternatively press Ctrl + Shift + B.

 

 

Moxilla Firefox 
  1. Right click on this link <NUS Libraries Proxy Bookmarklet>
  2. Select "Bookmark This Link".
    Alternatively, click (hold) and drag the link to the "Bookmarks" toolbar.

 

Internet Explorer :
  1. Right click on this link <NUS Libraries Proxy Bookmarklet>.
  2. Select "Add to favorites...".
  3. If you wish to add to "Links", go to "Favorites" and drag and drop the bookmarklet to "Links".

 

Safari safari
  1. Click (hold) and drag this link <NUS Libraries Proxy Bookmarklet> to the "Bookmarks" bar.
Microsoft Edge edge
  1. You need to first save the bookmarklet into Internet Explorer or Chrome, then import the favorites into Edge. If you have existing favorites in Edge, you would need to delete them before re-importing.

 

Mac users Mac

   If you are having problems doing drag and drop in Safari or Chrome safari, do the following:

  1. Create a new bookmark of any page.
  2. Go into the browser and edit the name and the URL of the bookmarklet you just created. The name can be anything you choose but the URL should be ​javascript:void(location.href='http://libproxy1.nus.edu.sg/login?url='+location.href);​

 

Other alternative browsers (e.g Opera):

  1. In theory you can use any of the links above (e.g the link for Firefox) to create a bookmarklet as per the normal steps for that browser. However the library and most library databases from vendors do not officially support alternative browsers, so it is not advisable to surf library resources using these browsers. Even if the proxy bookmarklet works other problems might crop up.