Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

India Legal Research Guide: Databases

Guide to Indian legal resources available at the C J Koh Law Library.

Full-text databases

Foreign Law Guide - India (via Brill Reference Works)

The Foreign Law Guide (FLG) is an essential database offering relevant information on sources of foreign law, including complete bibliographic citations to legislation, the existence of English translations and selected references to secondary sources in one virtual destination.

Manupatra

Manupatra is a comprehensive Indian legal database offering materials on Indian Law and Business Policy. It provides access to Supreme Court cases from 1950 till date across all subjects of law, cases from all High Courts, orders of Tribunals, Central acts with all amendments incorporated, notification circulars of 36 government of India ministries including SEBI & RBI, the full text of bills in Parliament & Ordinances, agreements & drafts,  committee reports, articles and news.

A quick reference guide to Manupatra (Publisher's website)

Manupatra training manual (publishers website)

Manupatra training videos (publishers website) 

India LII

Legal Information Institute of India(LII of India) is a free-access online collection of legal information. This database includes legislation, Indian case law, treaties, law reform reports, journals, cases concerning India in international Courts and Tribunals and cases concerning India from pre- 1873 English Reports.

SCC Online (via LawNet database)

Indian Supreme Court cases (1969 onwards) are accessible via the LawNet database. 

Lexis Advance Singapore

Cases from Madras Law Journal- Civil and Criminal and selected volumes of Halsbury's Laws of India are available through the Lexis Advance Singapore database.

South Asia Archive - The South Asia Archive is a fully-searchable digital archive providing online access to documents ranging from 1700 through to 1953. The collection includes legislation, Acts, regulations, and case documents from the colonial period, which are invaluable for any work on colonial Indian history.

Newspapers

Factiva
Access to local and international newspapers. Factiva provides access to major newspapers like the Times of India, The Hindustan Times, the Indian Express, The Hindu etc. 

Nexis Uni
This database also provides access to the major English language newspapers like The Times of India, the Hindustan Times, the New Indian express etc.  from India.

Times of India(1838 - 2005)
Access via Proquest Historical Newspapers.

Times of India(1861-)
Access the newspaper from 1861 onwards