Discover new additions to the law library's collection through this monthly subject listing: New Arrivals
Search by the title or keywords in the search box on the Library portal or search in LINC (Library Integrated Catalogue) to find books available in the library collection.
or
Please take note of the call number, location and status of the book to find it in the library.
For example - Ratanlal and Dhirajlal The Indian Penal Code
To learn more about various Law Library locations, refer to the guide on LINC location codes.
The Manupatra database provides access to some e-books. Select 'e-books' or 'Academic e-books' from the table of contents from the left of the page to browse books.
Books in the Law Library are arranged by subject. You may wish to browse books on the shelves in the RBR Collection (Level 1) and Books Collection (Level 3).
A Commissioner's Primer to Economics of Competition Law in India by 
Comparative Legal Aid Systems and India by
This book provides an in-depth analysis of the functioning and challenges of the legal aid system in India. The legal aid system was set up to promote the interests of the economically weaker sections of society that did not have equitable access to judicial systems. However, the system has been largely unsuccessful in delivering justice. Drawing on empirical data from 18 states and 36 districts in India, the book highlights the institutional setbacks that plague the legal aid system and urges us to take cognizance of the hindrances faced by the beneficiaries in availing of these services. It acknowledges the gaps that exist in the governance of the legal aid system in India at the grassroots level and suggests approaches and ways to address these roadblocks to deliver free, swift, and economical access to justice to the poor legal aid beneficiaries. An important critical study of the commitment and competence of legal aid counsels in India, this volume will be an essential read for scholars and researchers of law, Indian law, constitutional law, political science, comparative law, law and gender, and social work.
Fragile hope: seeking justice for hate crimes in India by
"Against the backdrop of the global Black Lives Matter movement, debates around the social impact of hate crime legislation have come to the political fore. In 2019, the UN Commission on Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice urgently asked how legal systems can counter bias and discrimination. In India, a nation with vast socio-cultural diversity, and a complex colonial past, questions about the relationship between law and histories of oppression have become particularly pressing. Recently, India has seen a rise in violence against Dalits (ex-untouchables) and other minorities. Consequently, an emerging "Dalit Lives Matter" movement has campaigned for the effective implementation of India's only hate crime law: the 1989 Scheduled Castes/Scheduled Tribes Prevention of Atrocities Act (PoA). Drawing on long-term fieldwork with Dalit survivors of caste atrocities, human rights NGOs, police, and judiciary, Sandhya Fuchs unveils how Dalit communities in the state of Rajasthan interpret and mobilize the PoA. Fuchs shows that the PoA has emerged as a project of legal meliorism: the idea that persistent and creative legal labor can gradually improve the oppressive conditions that characterize Dalit lives. Moving beyond statistics and judicial arguments, Fuchs uses the intimate lens of personal narratives to lay bare how legal processes converge and conflict with political and gendered concerns about justice for caste atrocities, creating new controversies, inequalities, and hopes"--
Gender, Law and Social Transformation in India by
This book provides deep insights into the wide-ranging issues linked to gender, law, and social transformation in India. It focuses on women-centered laws as well as the violence of unequal and discriminatory social order. It emphasizes violence and the neutrality of laws that sustain the status quo and perpetuate the stereotypical notions related to women's condition.
Hate Crime in India : Understanding Nuanced Discrimination Against North-Eastern Population by 
Indian Practice of International Law: Global Norms and their Domestic Enforcement by
This book engages with different aspects of India's practice of international law. It covers a diverse range of areas such as human rights, humanitarian law, migration, diplomacy, extradition, environment, trade, investment, taxation, cyberspace, data protection, maritime, and intellectual property to showcase India's strong commitment to respect and observe international law.
Insolvency and Bankruptcy Reforms in India by
This book is about the establishment of the Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code, in 2016, one of the most important new developments in Indian commercial law. The law has major implications for firms, their creditors, and a variety of the professional services that feed into the decisions of borrowers and lenders including lawyers, accountants and valuers.
Ratanlal & Dhirajlal's law of crimes : a commentary on Indian Penal Code, 1860 by Ratanlal & Dhirajlal's the Code of Criminal Procedure by 
Rethinking Muslim Personal Law Issues, Debates and Reforms by 
Sedition: Macaulay to Modi by
The liberal use of the sedition law in recent years, mainly by state governments intolerant of dissenting opinion, has provoked justified controversy. Examining the trajectory of the sedition law from its introduction by the British colonial power and its subsequent rejection by the Constituent Assembly of India, the author observes that the statute had to be hastily restored by the Provisional Parliament to cope with the challenges posed by communal rioting in many parts of the country, several years after independence. As such, it is pertinent in times of crisis. The current law undeniably needs safeguards against political misuse, but deserves a place on the statute.