Skip to Main Content
Banner Image

India Legal Research Guide: Articles

Guide to Indian legal resources available at the C J Koh Law Library.

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar Search

Abbreviations

Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations

This online database allows to search for the meaning of abbreviations for English language legal publications. It mainly covers law reports and law periodicals. Publications from over 295 jurisdictions are featured in this index.

Index to legal citations and abbreviations/ by Donald Raistrik

call number : KB280 Rai 2013

 

Introduction

If you are given a journal article citation, find out the name of the journal.

Citations are the references to where you can find articles.

For example:

Ramanujan, A., 2017. Anti-dumping practice in India: due process, confidentiality and the WTO standards. Indian Journal of International Law57(1-2), pp.147-162.

A journal citation contains:

  • author of the article
  • title of the article
  • the year the article was published
  • the volume number of the journal
  • journal-title/ abbreviation
  • page number 

Search by the title of the journal in the default search box on the library websiteIf the journal-title is abbreviated, please use the Cardiff Index to find the full title.

​For example: Search by journal title ' Indian Journal of International Law'. 

or click on LINC(Library Integrated Catalogue) and select title search and search by the name of the journal.

Check availability of print or electronic version of the journal in the library collection.

Current issues of journals are kept at LW Current Journals section(Level 1) and bound volumes are kept at LW Bound Journals(Level 2). 

FindMore

You should be able to find some journal articles through the default search box on the library portal. Journal articles available through HeinOnline, JSTOR and other subscribed e-journals are accessible through FindMore.

Journal articles from the major law databases (Lexis, Westlaw, Kluwer Arbitration, etc.) are unavailable through the FindMore search.

Use relevant keywords to find journal articles. 

If you cannot find the article through the FindMore search, please search by the name of the journal in LINC (Library Integrated Catalogue).

Journal Article Databases

Manupatra

The Manupatra database has an extensive collection of articles from academic journals such as NUJS Law Review, Socio-Legal Review, Journal of Indian Law and Society and many more.

SUPLIB - Database of Articles (Open Access) - Indian Supreme Court Judges Library

SUPLIB is a database of more than 12,000 articles on Indian law published in about 200 foreign and Indian law journals subscribed to by the Indian Supreme Court Judges Library. This is a useful index for finding journal articles (no full-text).

HeinOnline

This multi-jurisdictional database contains the full text of thousands of law journals.

Open Access Journals