Skip to main content
Banner Image

India Legal Research Guide: Main

Guide to Indian legal resources available at the C J Koh Law Library.

Library FAQs


Law in India 

This subject guide covers resources available at the NUS Libraries, in particular the C J Koh Law Library.

Introduction to Indian legal system

India is a union of 29 states and 7 union territories. India became an Independent Democratic Republic on 15 August 1947. India is governed in terms of the Constitution of India, which was adopted by the Constituent Assembly on 26 November 1949 and came into force on 26 January 1950. The President is the head of the Union executive. The Prime minister is the head of Council of Ministers and the chief advisor to the President. The Prime Minister leads the executive branch of Government of India.

India has a common law legal system. The union and state have separate executive and legislative branches and the union territories are governed by the national government. The Supreme Court of India is the apex court in India, followed by High Courts at state level. Subordinate courts comes below the High Court which comprises of District Courts at district level and lower-level courts.

Related guides

Resource Librarian

Bissy Ithack's picture
Bissy Ithack
C J Koh Law Library
Phone: +65 6516 2042