Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Evidence-Based Public Health
Advancing the Nation’s Health: A Guide to Public Health Research Needs, 2006-2015
A critical resource for research areas that should be addressed during the next decade by CDC and its partners in response to current and future public health needs and events.
Cochrane Public Health Group
Develop and prepare systematic reviews in Health Promotion and Public Health.
The Community Guide to Preventive Services
Evidence-based reviews of interventions for common public health problems funded by CDC.Has 22 topic areas and recommended interventions. Scroll down to Publications & Additional Resources to find out what studies they used to reach the conclusion.
The EPPI-Centre (Evidence for Policy and Practice Information and Co-ordinating Centre)
Systematic reviews in the fields of Education, Health Promotion and Public Health, social welfare and international development. Contains the full report along with bibliography of studies.
Harvard Kennedy School Think Tank Search
Think Tank Search searches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. These sites are affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, and non-governmental organizations.
Health Evidence Canada
A free, searchable online registry of systematic reviews and meta-analyses evaluating the effectiveness of public health and health promotion interventions
Health Library for Disasters
HELID is a comprehensive, fully searchable database covering the grey literature on public health emergency preparedness and response, including complex emergencies. It includes Topics such as: Refugees and Internally Displaced Population health; Reproductive health; Mental health; Safe Hospitals; Food and Nutrition.
HSRProj (Health Services Research Projects in Progress)
database of current United States projects in health services research is searchable (along with other databases) on the National Library of Medicine (NLM) gateway
The Lancet Global Health Portal
The Lancet Global Health Series and themed issues are groups of articles on a topic of global health importance. Most of the content is free. You have to register for a free account.
NHS Evidence (UK)
NHS Evidence covers a wide range of information of interest to those working to improve the health of the population.Includes guidance, systematic reviews of research, implementation tools and practical examples from people working in the field.
The Promising Practices Network (PPN) | RAND Corporation
"Programs that work" section has a list by outcome area, indicator, topic, evidence level and alphabetically. Also has a list of proven & promising programs & other reviewed programs
Reports of the Surgeon General ( US Public Health Service)
Reports of the Surgeon General has focused attention on important public health issues which in turn have generated major public health initiatives.
Resources for Public Health Quality Improvement
The list of resources intended to help public health leaders and practitioners apply quality improvement to programs and processes, with the ultimate goal of saving lives, cutting costs, and getting better results.
Western Pacific Regional Index Medicus
An online index of medical and health journals published in Member States of the WHO Western Pacific Region.
WWW Virtual Library: Medicine and Health: Epidemiology
A comprehensive list of resources from the Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics at the University of California San Francisco. It provides an index of quality public health sites , resources & associations by geographical locations and selected topics.
Global Health Policy
Data by country on HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria, disease conditions, program funding, health workforce & other socio-economic indicators. By the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation.
Evidence-based Practice for Public Health
This website provides free online access to evidence-based public health (EBPH) resources, knowledge domains of public health, and public health journals and databases.
NIH Evidence-Based Practices and Programs
Provide information on evidence-based disease prevention services, programs, and practices with the potential to impact public health.
NJPHTC Training Archives
New Jersey Public Health Training Center archived programs on public health can be viewed anytime, without registration.
Northwest Center for Public Health Practice
The Evidence-Based Public Health Training Series consists of nine modules that cover core concepts, such as defining public health issues, conducting community assessments, prioritizing options, and evaluating program and policy impacts.
Supercourse:epidemiology, the internet and global health
A repository of lectures on global health and prevention produced at the WHO Collaborating Center University of Pittsburgh.
Books on Evidence-Based Public Health in NUS Libraries
Listed here are some selected resource materials and books subscribed by NUS Libraries