LibGuides: Public Health: Databases

About Databases

Databases contain articles in journals, papers in conference proceedings, newspapers, chapters in books, reports and reviews. Mobile versions of select databases are available.

Access the databases via Library Portal to take advantage of the seamless links to subscribed full-text of the articles. Most databases allow you to register to receive email alerts of new articles. To access the full-text from the article links listed in your email alerts, you will have to install the NUS proxy bookmarklet.

To facilitate writing up your assignment, report or paper -- citing reference as you write -- before you start your database search, do check out how to import (download) your citations to a bibliographic management software like EndNote or EndNote Web.

Due to the multi-disciplinary nature of Public Health Research, databases listed here are grouped by disciplines. You may also browse the complete list of all the databases subscribed by NUS either by title or subject.

Google Scholar

Get the Find it! @NUS Libraries for Google Scholar filter to have seamless access to NUS Libraries subscribed materials.

Selected Biomedical Literature Databases

Embase
Embase is a crucial resource for discovering biomedical evidence within published, peer-reviewed literature, in-press publications and conference abstracts. Full-text indexing of drug, disease and medical device data — supported by Emtree — helps retrieve precise answers to search queries. Especially useful for Systematic Reviews.

The Cochrane Library
It consists of 7 databases: Cochrane database of systematic reviews (CDSR); Database of abstracts of reviews of effectiveness (DARE); Cochrane central register of controlled trials (CENTRAL); Cochrane database of methodology reviews; Cochrane methodology register; Health technology assessment database (HTA); and NHS Economic evaluation database (NHS EED).
Only the CDSR which consists of systematic reviews has full-text links. For information on effectiveness of healthcare interventions, it is advisable to search in The Cochrane Library before searching in PubMed.

Pubmed
It is a free biomedical citation database provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine comprising of over 22 million citations from MEDLINE, life science journals and online books dating back to 1950s. Has links to full-text articles, images, figures and other related resources. Updated daily.

NUS staff and students access PubMed via NUS Libraries portal for seamless access* to full-text of subscribed journals. (*Display PubMed citations in Abstract format and click on publishers' icons.)

Medline Plus
MedlinePlus is a free searchable database on consumer health information from the world's largest medical library, the National Library of Medicine. Presented in plain language, MedlinePlus has authoritative, up to date and extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 740 diseases and conditions. It is updated daily.

Medline (ProQuest) / Medline (Ovid)

Alternative access to search Medline (sub-set of PubMed). Provided by ProQuest and Ovid. Medline is a Biomedical literature database covering the fields of medicine, dentistry, nursing and health care system.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) Complete is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. In addition to full text for top nursing and allied health journals, it also provides full text for journals in other disciplines including biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and more.

Trip Pro
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to find high quality research evidence to support clinical practice and care. It simultaneously searches evidence-based sources of systematic reviews, practice guidelines, MEDLINE's Clinical Queries, medical image databases, e-textbooks, and patient information.

PubMed Clinical Queries
Specialised filter to search clinical studies categories.

ClinicalKey

It is a search engine that supports clinical decisions by making it easier to find and apply relevant knowledge. It provides full text access to selected medical texts, medical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts and continuing medical education (CME) materials.

ClinicalKey Student

It is an interactive education platform that supports students and faculty by enhancing the learning experience with tools tailored to develop and assess the medical knowledge of aspiring professionals.

Multidisciplinary

Scopus
Broad coverage of Scientific, Technical, Medical and Social Sciences literature, including Arts & Humanities. It indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources with links to full text for some records. Provides access to "Article-in-Press" from over 3,000 journals. Its "View Citation Overview" allows the tracking of citation data year by year.

Web of Science
Multi-disciplinary database. It indexes scholarly journals in sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, and examines proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. It contains references cited by the authors of the articles and cited reference searching will find articles that cite a previously published work.

Academic One File
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. Updated daily. Coverage from 1980 onwards.

Local & Institutional Databases

ScholarBank@NUS

ScholarBank@NUS
ScholarBank@NUS is the institutional repository of National University of Singapore. This repository collects and preserves the scholarly output of NUS and makes it accessible worldwide. Also included in the search is the Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETD) which includes Master’s (by Research) and Ph.D students deposited with the Registrar’s Office. (For other theses-related resources, Click on Theses tab above.)

Psychology & Sociology Databases

PsycInf o
Provides abstracts and references to articles in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry and sociology. Includes dissertations, book chapters covering empirical studies, case studies, surveys, bibliographies, literature reviews, discussion articles, and conference reports.

ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection
Collection of 19 databases. Click on "Advanced search" to limit to selected databases depending on your topic. Includes "Sociological Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts,ProQuest Sociology, ProQuest Social Science Journals, etc as well as theses / conference papers on social sciences.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments

It is a database that provides access to information on approximately 15,000 measurement instruments (i.e. questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, coding schemes, rating scales, etc.) in the fields of health and psychosocial sciences. The database covers 1985 to date and is updated quarterly.

The full-text of the instruments are not included in the database and even if the full-text instrument is found in an article, the test may be subject to copyright.

HaPI can be used to:

Discover what instruments exist
Determine the availability of reliability and validity evidence
Track the history of an instrument over time
See what other instruments have already developed in your field of study

Newspapers ( Local & Worldwide)

Factiva
News and business information from 25,000 leading news and business publications from 159 countries, 350 geographic regions and in 22 languages. It includes daily and archival news coverage of globally influential newspapers, including The Wall Street Journal, South China Morning Post, The Times, and local newspapers such as The Straits Times, Business Times, web sources like Stomp and Channel News Asia and covers diverse industries including health care, pharmaceuticals and biotechnology.

NewspaperSG
An online resource of current and historic Singapore and Malaya newspapers. Search for National Library's digital archive of English language newspapers published between 1831-2006. Find information on over 200 newspapers titles in the NLB microfilms collection

For more online newspapers, look under Library portal and follow the steps below:

Click on Database link on the portal.

Browse by “Type” dropdown, select E-Newspapers.

Image Libraries

CDC Public Health Image Library (PHIL)
PHIL contains photos, images and video. Includes images associated with health behaviours, public health in action, environmental health,influenza, bioterrorism, natural disasters and electron micrographic imagery.Beneath each image, you will find a fair use statement, which tells you if the image is in the public domain (most of them are) or copyright protected.

CDC Parasite Image Library (DPDx)
DPDx is developed and maintained by the Centers for Disease Control's Division of Parasitic Diseases (DPD). Parasites of public health concern and parasitic diseases are listed alphabetically and are cross-referenced.

World Bank Photo Library
The World Bank has a distinctive collection of over 12,000 images that illustrate development through topics such as Agriculture, Education, Environment, Health, Trade and more.

Wellcome Images from the Wellcome Library
The Wellcome Images catalogue has a collection of over 170 000 historical and contemporary images, covering medical and social history, contemporary healthcare and biomedical science. Over 3000 digitised public health posters relating to AIDS, from 99 countries, are freely available to view and download.