Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Scholarly Articles about News and Media
The field of media and communication studies is broad and interdiciplinary. If you are looking for scholarly articles in the field of media studies (as opposed to primary source newspaper articles), try the databases below. Communication and Mass Media Complete is a great starting point.
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Incorporates the content of CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. Searches over 700 titles, including full text for Communication Law & Policy, Critical Studies in Media Communication, and Information Society.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
Includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters. Provides cross-disciplinary coverage across the social sciences, focused on four primary subject areas: anthropology, economics, political science and sociology.
Coverage: 1951 - current
Indexes books, journals, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues worldwide. Includes publications from over 120 countries.
Indexes over 1,900 journals, books, dissertations, and reviews in the social sciences on sociological topics as well as selected anthropology, criminology, demography, law, social psychology, and urban development.
FIAF: International Index to Film Periodicals
Indexes scholarly and popular journals, books, book reviews, and proceedings worldwide on a wide range of topics within the fields of film and television studies. Includes complete data from all volumes of the International Index to Film Periodicals (1972 to the present), the TV-related companion (1979 to the present), the annual volumes of the International Index to Film.