Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian
Have a question about your research? Email the Library to get answers.
ILLiad - Go Global
Need an article we don't own? Need a book that is not available at NUS? Request through ILLiad!
Find It! @ NUS Libraries
This will help you install a tool that allows you to use Google Scholar effectively to find fulltext articles in NUS Libraries.
Amazing tool that connects you with NUS E-journals and other resources when you are searching the Web.
Need answers to common questions? Search the Library FAQ.
Library on Demand for Yale-NUS College
Read the latest news via Yale-NUS's "Library on Demand". Access sources like Economist.com and FT.com
*Available to Yale-NUS College Community
The Economist online for authoritative articles and opinion pieces on international news, politics, business, finance, science and technology.
Full access to the Straits Times from Singapore Press Holdings.
Full access to the Business Times from Singapore Press Holdings.
Full access to Financial Times for the latest economic and political news.
Suggested Newspaper Databases
Full-text, thousands of sources from all over the world, in 22 languages. Coverage varies by title, some back to 1980s. NOTE: click on 'News Pages' to browse daily issues of recent newspapers from many countries.
NewspapersSG is an online resource of current and historic Singapore and Malaya newspapers created by the National Library Board. Please use Factiva or Nexis Uni to search for newspaper articles after 1991.
Full-text of hundreds of U.S. and some foreign newspapers. Coverage varies by title, some back to 1980s. Includes full-text of news program transcripts and university newspapers.
Alt Press Watch
Full text database focusing on alternative and independent presses, covering Ecology, Grassroots Organizing, Labour, Indigenous Peoples, Public Policy, and more. It includes articles from more than 230 publications.
News aggregator for up-to-date news from all over the world. To get the most out of Google News, use the advanced search feature to focus your search by source, date range, location and more.
Proquest Historical Newspapers
Searchable and browsable facsimiles of the New York Times (1851-2006), the Wall Street Journal (1889-1992), the Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), The Chicago Defender (1910-1975), the Washington Post (1877-1993), and Los Angeles Times (1881-1986) and more.
Searchable content from The Economist (1843-2009), The Financial Times (1888-2009), The Sunday Times (1822-2006), The Times (1785-1985) and the Times Literary Supplement (1902-2008).
Ethnic News Watch
Ethnic News Watch is a full text news resource focusing on ethnic and minority presses. It covers a total of 340 publications, especially ethnic presses and publications.
America's historical newspapers
The single most comprehensive online source of early American newspapers
Chronicles the evolution of American history, culture and daily life from 1690 to 1922
An unparalleled record of the people, issues and events that shaped America
Browse current headlines from around the world with the News Pages feature in Factiva!
Headlines from Southeast Asian regional newspapers are the default on right side of the opening News Page. (Wall Street Journal Asian Edition, The Straits Times, Bangkok Post, among others)
For U.S. News, choose United States from the upper left dropdown. (Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Barron's and Forbes.)