Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The purpose of this guide is to recommend article databases, books and other materials for conducting research in Religious Studies. Click on the tabs at the top of the page, or the menu below to navigate among the sections of this guide to discover useful resources. Need help? Ask a Librarian!
Key Resources for Religious Studies
ATLA Religion Database
Literature on all aspects of religious and theology, with a focus on Western religions.
World Religion Database
Contains detailed statistics on religious affiliation for every country of the world. Provides source material, including censuses and surveys, as well as best estimates for every religion to offer a definitive picture of international religious demography.
RAMBI Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
Selective list of articles in various fields of Jewish studies from thousands of journals, in Hebrew letters, Latin or Cyrillic. Select 'English' in upper left-hand menu to translate from Hebrew.
Indexes material on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world from periodicals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works, book reviews, websites, and other materials in European languages, Turkish, Malay and Bahasa Indonesia. The database is searchable with 31 key indexes, including author, keyword, journal title, publication date, subject, title and record type.
Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Find articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, published in over 2,000 journals from many countries. Includes book reviews. Does not include articles about the US or Canada.
Bibliography of Asian Studies Online
Contains nearly 800,000 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
The following institutional websites contain helpful information and resources for religious studies.