Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Subject Headings are assigned to books and other materials in LINC to help categorize them across disciplines. One item can have several subject headings. Sometimes starting with the subject heading is a good way to learn about resources on your topic. Here is a small selection of religion-focused headings to get you started:
Religion and Culture
Religion and Literature
Finding Background Information
The NUS Libraries have significant print resources relating to the religions of the world. Below is an abridged list of resources to get you started. Remember that the Library organizes information by SUBJECT. So, items that are similar in topic will be grouped together by Call Number and may have similar Subject Headings.
Reference Materials - Getting Started
Encyclopedia of Global Religion (ONLINE!) by
Publication Date: 2012
Provides a comprehensive overview of the globalization of religious culture and society around the world in both its historical and contemporary aspects.
Britannica Student Encyclopaedia (ONLINE!) by
Publication Date: 2010
More than 2250 captivating articles are the perfect resource for satisfying the curiosity of learners of all ages. Includes 2700 photos, charts, and tables that help explain concepts and subjects as well as 1200 maps and flags from across the globe.
The Brill Dictionary of Religion (Online) by
Call Number: Yale-NUS Reference, BL31 Bri 2007
Publication Date: 2005-12-23
Richly illustrated and with more than 500 entries, the dictionary is a multi-media reference source on the many and various forms of religious commitment. Addresses the different theologies and doctrinal declarations of the official institutionalized religions, as well as gives weight and consideration to a multiplicity of other religious phenomena.
The Brill Dictionary of Religion (ONLINE!)
Yale-NUS Reference, BL31 Bri 2007 and available online
A concise dictionary of Buddhism and Zen
Central Library Reference, BL1403 Con 2010
A Dictionary of Buddhism (ONLINE!)
This dictionary from Oxford University Press covers the history and doctrine of major Buddhist schools.
A Dictionary of Hinduism (ONLINE!)
This dictionary from Oxford University Press covers major Hindu practices, festivals, beliefs, gods, sacred sites, languages, and religious texts.
A Dictionary of Popes (ONLINE!)
This dictionary from Oxford University Press offers accounts of all officially recognized popes in history.
A Dictionary of the Bible (ONLINE!)
This dictionary from Oxford University Press provides entries on important people, places, themes, and doctrines of the bible.
Historical dictionary of Buddhism
Central Library Reference, BL1403 Pre
Historical dictionary of Sikhism
Central Library Reference, BL2018 Mcl
Oxford Dictionary of Islam (ONLINE!)
This dictionary offers entries on the modern Islamic world, focusing on the 19th and 20th centuries.
The Oxford Dictionary of Saints (ONLINE!)
This dictionary offers more than 1,700 entries covering the lives, cults, and artistic associations of saints from around the world.