Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian
Have a question about your research? Email the Library to get answers.
ILLiad - Go Global
Need an article we don't own? Need a book that is not available at NUS? Request through ILLiad!
Find It! @ NUS Libraries
This will help you install a tool that allows you to use Google Scholar effectively to find fulltext articles in NUS Libraries.
Amazing tool that connects you with NUS E-journals and other resources when you are searching the Web.
Need answers to common questions? Search the Library FAQ.
Key Resources for Religious Studies
All Religious Studies Databases
ACLS Humanities E-Book
Large collection of e-books compiled by the American Council of Learned Societies. Topics covered include many aspects of history plus archaeology, area studies, art, folklore, literature, music, philosophy, political science, religion, and women's studies.
America: History and Life
The key source for searching scholarly literature in U.S. history. Unlike JSTOR, America History and Life is current and includes books and dissertations. Covers more than 2,000 journals published worldwide.
ATLA Religion Database
Literature on all aspects of religious and theology, with a focus on Western religions.
Bibliography of Asian Studies Online
Contains nearly 800,000 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
Cambridge Histories Online
Contains over 300 volumes published since 1960, equating to around 196,000 pages of unrivalled scholarship, across 15 subject areas. Includes the Cambridge History of Christianity, History of the Bible, Judaism, Islam, as well as the New Cambridge History of Islam.
Cambridge Journals Online
Over 300 peer-reviewed academic journals for the global market. Containing the latest research from a broad sweep of subject areas including European and historical studies.
Dissertations and Theses Global (Proquest)
Includes bibliographic citations for materials ranging from 17th century to current day. Full text for many since 1997. Incorporates expanded access to international scholarly works, from the UK to Continental Europe and China.
Dissertations and Theses UK & Ireland (Proquest)
Corpus of U.K. and Ireland dissertations and master’s theses in this resource currently comprises over half a million records, with some additional 15,000 citations added annually.
Encyclopedia of Islam
Includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century, attention to Muslim minorities all over the world, full attention to social science as well as humanistic perspectives.
Find articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, published in over 2,000 journals from many countries. Includes book reviews. Does not include articles about the US or Canada.
Indexes material on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world from periodicals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works, book reviews, websites, and other materials in European languages, Turkish, Malay and Bahasa Indonesia. The database is searchable with 31 key indexes, including author, keyword, journal title, publication date, subject, title and record type.
Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Periodicals Index Online
Millions of citations for articles published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years.
Searchable full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics, mostly from North American university presses. Older volumes are often available from JSTOR.
RAMBI Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
Selective list of articles in various fields of Jewish studies from thousands of journals, in Hebrew letters, Latin or Cyrillic. Select 'English' in upper left-hand menu to translate from Hebrew.
Covers over 1700 publications in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioural sciences. In addition to journal articles, this database also includes abstracts of books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations and conference papers.
Web of Knowledge/Web of Science
Includes Science Citation Index (1900-), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-).
World Religion Database
Contains detailed statistics on religious affiliation for every country of the world. Provides source material, including censuses and surveys, as well as best estimates for every religion to offer a definitive picture of international religious demography.