Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Religious Texts at Yale-NUS
The English Bible : King James Version
Yale-NUS Books, BS185 Bib 2012
Yale-NUS Books, BP109 Hal 2005
The book of Ḥadīth
Yale-NUS Books, BP135 Ara.Kh 2008
Midrash rabbah (10 vol.)
Yale-NUS Books, BM511 Mid 1983
Nicene and post-Nicene fathers
Yale-NUS Books, BR60 Nic 2012
The Lankavatara sutra : a Zen text
Yale-NUS Books, BQ1997 Xps
Yale-NUS Books, BL1138.22 Eng.Ma 2010
The Bhagavad Gita
Yale-NUS Books, BL1138.62 Bha.Pa 2008
Yale-NUS Books, BL1139.22 Val 2000
Yale-NUS Books, BL1139.25 Sub 2009
Ramayana. Books one to five
Yale-NUS Books, BL1139.22 Val 2005
Ask A Librarian
Have a question about your research? Email the Library to get answers.
ILLiad - Go Global
Need an article we don't own? NEed a book not available at NUS? Request through ILLiad!
Amazing tool that connects you with NUS E-journals and other resources when you are searching the Web.
Need answers to common questions? Search the Library FAQ.
Online Religious Texts
The Internet Sacred Texts Archive is a great place to find online versions of religious texts. Follow these links for some of the world's religions (but note the Archive covers many, many additional faiths).
A collection of religious adherent statistics and religious geography citations. Contains references to published membership/adherent statistics and congregation statistics for over 4,200 religions, churches, denominations, religious bodies, faith groups, tribes, cultures, movements, ultimate concerns, etc.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America from 1473-1700, as well as works in the English language printed elsewhere. Includes English translations of the Bible, sermons, theological tracts, and polemical works.
Eighteen Century Collections Online
Includes bibles, translations of the Koran, encounters with Eastern Religions, sermons, theological tracts, and defenses of and attacks on religion.
Offers 60,000 images of original documents linked to essays by leading scholars in the field. The five sections cover Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire; The Visible Empire; Religion and Empire; and Race, Class and Colonialism, c1783-1969.
Foundation of Iranian Studies Resources
Resources include, The Concise Encyclopedia of Iran (in Persian), Library & Pahlavi Archives, Legal Documents, and the FIS Online Oral History Collection (requires registration)
HathiTrust (Global Public Domain only) This link opens in a new window
Shared digital repository that brings together the immense collections of partner institutions. NUS is not a partner institution, so downloads are not possible.
Internet Sacred Texts Archive
Largest freely available archive of online books about religion, mythology, folklore and the esoteric, dedicated to Online archive of sacred texts from many of the world's religions. Scroll down the left side and click on a tradition.
Nineteenth-Century Scholarship Online (NINES)
Searchable database of digital scholarship and a listing of websites related to nineteenth-century materials. There is a Religion genre, but you can also search for specific people, places, faiths, and key concepts.
Thousands of full-text articles on Religious Studies with a focus on Christianity and sociology.
Shaker Manuscripts Online
Early Shaker writings are available for public access.
The American Religion Data Archive
A database of quanitative data on American religions including churches and church membership, religious professionals, and religious groups.