Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian
Have a question about your research? Email the Library to get answers.
ILLiad - Go Global
Need an article we don't own? Need a book that is not available at NUS? Request through ILLiad!
Find It! @ NUS Libraries
This will help you install a tool that allows you to use Google Scholar effectively to find fulltext articles in NUS Libraries.
Amazing tool that connects you with NUS E-journals and other resources when you are searching the Web.
Need answers to common questions? Search the Library FAQ.
What is a Database?
Library databases are searchable collections of literature (journal articles, newspapers, books, etc.), that allow you to identify resources for your research projects. Some databases are subject specific and some are very general (including all subjects).
Search several databases when beginning your project! There are unique references in each database you search.
Key Resources in Psychology
Annual Reviews Complete A-Z List The Annual Review of Psychology, in publication since 1950, covers the significant developments in the field of psychology, including: biological bases of behavior, sensation and perception, cognitive processes, animal learning and behavior, human development, psychopathology, clinical and counseling psychology, social psychology, personality, environmental psychology, community psychology, and more.
Reading Journal Literature
It can be challenging to read scientific journal articles. The language is dense - and it can get overwhelming quickly! Watch the following (5 minute!) video to learn the best way to tackle journal articles. You will learn about the best order to read articles, how to identify the main point, and strategies for taking notes.