LibGuides: Environmental Studies: Internet Sources

Internet Sources

Eldis
Hosted by the U.K. Institute of Development Studies, Eldis exposes readers to research on development challenges worldwide. Contents can be searched by country or topic, and encompass relevant concepts such as environment, climate change, agriculture and food.
Encyclopedia of Earth
With its contents contributed and reviewed by a community of subject experts, Encyclopedia of Earth consists of topics that revolve around the Earth and environment.
World Meteorological Organisation (WMO)
As an intergovernmental organization, WMO focuses on promoting global research activities in meteorology (weather and climate), operational hydrology and related geophysical sciences. Get more information on weather, climate and water via WMO's publications and other resources.

GeoLibrary.org
This is a directory that offers global environmental and occupational health training materials from sources worldwide. Managed by University of Illinois at Chicago's Great Lakes Centers for Occupational and Environmental Safety & Health.
U.S. National Center for Environmental Health
Explore the various environmental health topics (comprehensive list is available via A-Z index) and multimedia tools such as infographics, podcasts and videos via this one-stop resource.
U.S. National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS) - Databases
NIEHS offers a rich array of DNA, literature and toxicology databases for environmental scientists. Genome data is also available here.

Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) Cooperation on Environment
Here you can view ASEAN environment publications, media releases, agreements and action plans set forth by its member countries. Websites related to ASEAN-specific environmental agencies, ministries and initiatives are also listed here.
ECOLEX
This portal provides a search on treaties, legislation, jurisprudence and literature specific to environmental law. A joint initiative by International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN), United Nations (UN) Environment and Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO).
European Commission - Energy, Climate change, Environment
This is where you can find information on how European Union (EU) policy protects the environment and combats climate change. It covers various environmental topics and provides insight into EU's initiatives, including international cooperation, standards, policy implementation and action plans.
HG.org - Environment Law
As a legal information site, HG.org features a wide-ranging pool of resources such as articles, videos, and URLs to websites of governments and agencies around the world. In this subpage you will find a directory of environment and natural resources laws, as well as related organisations on a global scale.
National Environmental Agency (NEA) - Legislation
Find out more about government laws administered by NEA in its effort to safeguard Singapore's environment. For each legislation listed in the website, a direct link to its content from Singapore Statutes Online is readily available for reference.

Data.gov (US)
In this webpage where one can access United States Government’s open data, a myriad of datasets can be downloaded in various formats. Relevant topics include agriculture, climate, ecosystems, energy and ocean.
Data.gov.sg - Environment
As a one-stop gateway to publicly-available datasets from public agencies in Singapore, Data.gov.sg provides visual graphs and downloadable raw data for use. Here is a dedicated subpage on environment-related data.
DataONE Data Catalog
A community-driven project, Data Observation Network for Earth (DataONE) facilitates access to global Earth and environmental data from various member repositories. A search on data specific to a particular geographic region is possible via a click on the displayed map.
European Environment Agency - Datasets
This is home to downloadable data concerning Europe's environment. Besides covering a broad spectrum of topics, interactive data visualisations are also included via the data viewers.
Global Change Master Directory
This directory by National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) offers a place for the discovery of Earth science data from sources worldwide. Some featured datasets may or may not be publicly available.
Global Environmental Database
Managed by Japan's National Institute for Environmental Studies, this platform facilitates the provision of atmospheric, oceanic and terrestrial monitoring data collected collected by the Institute. Both quick plots and raw data are available (user registration may be required for some). Analysis support is present as well. Real time data depicting CO2 concentrations at two specific locations in Japan are also displayed here.
Google Earth Engine
Having contained a plethora of satellite imagery and geospatial datasets from Earth Engine's public data archive, this platform facilitates observations of environmental changes.
OECD.Stat
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is a global organisation that works with governments and people to put international standards in place and seek ways to tackle social, economic and environmental challenges. Statistics found in this platform are presented in tables, which can be customised, exported or converted into graphs. Relevant themes include environment, agriculture and fisheries.
Worldbank - Environment Data
One can access a rich variety of trend-depicting graphs in this site while raw data is available for download. Through DataBank, you can also customize the variables and layout of the dataset, or convert it to a chart or map.

Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs) are usually freely available to anyone who signs up. Many of these courses are made by universities or organisations. Course lengths vary but contents can usually be accessed on flexible hours. Assignments and quizzes may be involved. Some courses may earn you a free or paid certificate upon completion.

Singapore Sources

The National Parks Board's Floral and Fauna Web is the definitive place to search for biodiversity in Singapore. Go to: https://www.nparks.gov.sg/florafaunaweb.

Listed below are a selection of government agencies/related information in Singapore. To explore a full list of other ministries/agencies, click here. For research on government related/ historical information (government records, building plans, maps, speeches etc) in Singapore, you may also wish to look at the National Archives of Singapore's Archives Online database.

SG Press Centre - Archive of government media releases.
Archive of Singapore government media releases on the subject of environmental management.
Ministry of the Sustainability and the Environment
-- National Environment Agency (NEA)
-- Public Utilities Board (PUB)
Ministry of National Development (MND)
-- Building and Construction Authority
-- Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA)
-- Centre for Liveable Cities
-- Professional Engineers Board
Ministry of Law (MinLAW)
Energy Market Authority
National Climate Change Secretariat
Singapore Land Authority
ENTERPRISE Singapore
Use the filter 'Industry' to drill down to more relevant resources

Other than the various international NGOs with offices here, there are also several Singapore/homegrown NGOs involved in environmental issues etc. Below are links to a few selected groups.

Singapore Environment Council
The Singapore Environment Council (SEC) was established in 1995 as an independently managed, non-profit, non-governmental organisation (NGO).
Nature Society (Singapore)
Nature Society Singapore (NSS) is a non-profit, volunteer-based organisation that was founded in 1954.

Asia-Pacific Centre for Environmental Law
"established on 15 February 1996 by the Faculty of Law, National University of Singapore on the initiative of the Faculty of Law and the Commission on Environmental Law (CEL) of the World Conservation Union (IUCN), in collaboration with the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)"
Centre for Sustainable Asian Cities
Research Centre under NUS's School of Design and Environment
NUS Environmental Research Institute (NERI)
NERI is a university-level research institute that focuses on the development of integrated sustainability solutions for the environment

Environmental Management Association of Singapore
Environmental Management Association of Singapore (EMAS) was established in 1986 by service providers from contract cleaning, waste management and pest control industries
Singapore Institute of Planners
The Singapore institute of Planners is a professional organisation established in 1971 dedicated to the advancement of sustainable urban and regional planning
Sustainable Energy Association of Singapore
The Sustainable Energy Association of Singapore (SEAS) is a non-government and non-profit business association that represents the interests and provides a common platform for companies in Sustainable Energy sector
Singapore Green Building Council (SGBC)
SGBC is a member-led, not-for-profit industry organisation that advances green building practices and sustainability across the built environment sector