Environmental Studies: Research and Writing

Dissertation Research and Writing for Built Environment Students is the essential guide to get students through their final year research project. Trusted and developed over three previous editions, the new fourth edition shows you how to select a dissertation topic, write a proposal, conduct a literature review, select the research approach, gather the data, analyse and present the information and ultimately produce a well-written dissertation. The book simplifies dissertation research and writing into a process involving a sequence of learnable activities and divides the process into three parts. Part one covers the necessary ground work including: identifying the problem, writing a proposal and reviewing the literature. Part two covers the research design and includes: approaches and techniques for data collection and constructing and sampling a questionnaire. Part three covers: measurement of data, analysis of data with SPSS, structuring and writing the whole dissertation, and supervision and assessment. This new edition is packed with updated examples and research samples making this is the ideal resource for students involved in research in Built Environment subjects such as Construction Management, Facilities Management, Real Estate, Building Surveying, Quantity Surveying and Civil Engineering.

In this book, specialists summarise methods and research strategies for various aspects of social research devoted to environmental issues. Each chapter is illustrated with ethnographic and environmental examples, ranging from Australia to Amazonia, from Madagascar to the United States, and from prehistoric and historic cases to contemporary rural and urban ones. It deals with climate change, deforestation, environmental knowledge, natural reserves, politics and ownership of natural resources, and the effect of differing spatial and temporal scales. Contributing to the intellectual project of interdisciplinary environmental social science, this book shows the possibilities social science can provide to environmental studies and to larger global problems.

This Handbook presents methods to advance the understanding of interdependencies between the well-being of human societies and the performance of their biophysical environment. It showcases applications to material and energy use; urbanization and technological transition; economic growth and social vulnerabilities; development and governance of social and industrial networks; and the role of history, culture, and science itself in carrying out analysis and guiding policy as well as the role of theory, data, and models in guiding decisions.

This book outlines general principles of style, grammar, and usage, while covering such issues as writing essays and reports, creating powerful visual aids, and properly documenting sources.

From LINC:... Provides advanced insight into the research methods and presents the key methodologies within the field of building science and technology...Reviews simulation-based and experimentation/field-based methods of data collection and analysis in diverse areas of building science and technology, such as energy performance, window and enclosure studies, environmental LCA, daylighting, CFD, and thermal comfort. Provides a range of perspectives from building science faculty and researcher contributors with diverse research interests.

This refreshingly clear guide provides environmental scientists and conservation professionals with an effective writing process that can be applied in a range of financial, political, or organizational contexts. It outlines a replicable seven-step writing formula based on practical experience that acknowledges the complexities inherent in the worlds of endangered species, habitat conservation, and recovery planning. Practical examples, strategies, and diagrams guide the reader at every step, and selected resources are provided for further reference.