LibGuides: Environmental Studies: Reference Sources

Need more resources?

Conduct a search in the NUS Libraries Portal for any additional resources you need.

Book Titles

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Handbooks
Data & Statistics

The Atlas of Global Conservation
Top scientists at The Nature Conservancy, the leading conservation organization working around the world to protect ecologically important lands and water, have joined forces to create this extraordinary reference. It features 79 richly-detailed, full-colour maps and other graphics paired with an informative, inviting discussion of major trends across the world's terrestrial, marine, and freshwater environments. Interspersed throughout, essays by noted international authorities point the way forward in confronting some of our greatest conservation challenges.
A Dictionary of Ecology
This book contains over 6,000 entries on all aspects of ecology and related environmental scientific disciplines such as biogeography, genetics, soil science,geomorphology, atmospheric science, and oceanography. Coverage is wide-ranging and includes plant and animal physiology, animal behaviour, pollution, conservation, habitat management, population, evolution, environmental pollution, climatology and meteorology. It also includes many line drawings and useful appendices including estimations of population parameters, the geologic time-scale, SI units, and a web linked appendix of relevant organizations including both governmental agencies and conservation societies.
A Dictionary of Environment and Conservation
Thoroughly revised and updated to include the latest research in the field, this dictionary provides over 9,000 A to Z entries on scientific and social aspects of the environment - its key thinkers, treaties, movements, organizations, concepts, and theories. Covering subjects such as sustainable development, biodiversity, and environmental ethics, it is at the cutting edge of environmental and conservation studies.
A Dictionary of Public Health
This is an alphabetical listing of almost 5,000 words and phrases used in public health science and practice. It offers definitions, discussion, and an occasional brief commentary on the relevance of each term to people and their health. The book contains cross-referenced definitions and discussions of related terms and concepts. For easy reference, users will find similarly worked definitions and discussions of important related concepts listed under each of the commonly used keywords.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Change
This three-volume set provides a gateway to the complex facts, concepts, techniques, methodology and philosophy of environmental change. The encyclopedia includes all of the following aspects of environmental change: (i) Diverse evidence of environmental change, including climate change and changes on land and in the oceans; (ii) Underlying natural and anthropogenic causes and mechanisms; (iii) Wide-ranging local, regional and global impacts from the polar regions to the tropics; (iv) Responses of geo-ecosystems and human-environmental systems in the face of past, present and future environmental change; (v) Approaches, methodologies and techniques used for reconstructing, dating, monitoring, modelling, projecting and predicting change; (vi) Social, economic and political dimensions of environmental issues, environmental conservation and management and environmental policy.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues
The set contains 772 alphabetically arranged articles. They cover a wide variety of topics, including endangered animal species, air pollution, national parks, environmental legislation, oil spills, alternative energy sources, and global climate change.
Environmental Encyclopedia
A global coverage of environmental issues is covered in each article within this book.
World Scientific Encyclopedia of Climate Change: Case Studies of Climate Risk, Action, and Opportunity
This title is useful for climate change, our outstanding risk and survival issue, requiring action and providing opportunity. The key focus areas are Climate Change and Finance, Economics, and Policy, with many other related climate categories included. The over 100 case studies provide realistic and interesting views of climate change, based on authors' published papers, reports, and books, plus climate-related activities of organizations, and selected topics. Authors are scientists, faith leaders, heads of organizations, business leaders, and many others.

The Little Green Data Book
Published annually, this book contains global environmental data, with indicators in areas such as agriculture, forests and biodiversity, oceans, energy and emission, water and sanitation, environment and health.
Field Sampling for Environmental Science and Management
This book concentrates on design-based sampling for estimates of mean values of environmental properties, emphasizing replication and randomization. It starts with simple random sampling and then progresses to more efficient designs, such as spatially stratified random sampling, stratification by classes and cluster sampling. It includes a section on purposive sampling in classical soil survey, which is relevant to other environmental properties such as vegetation. It also describes the effects of bulking on errors and the use of ancillary information and regression to improve estimates. The authors draw the important distinction between design-based sampling for estimating means and model-based methods (geostatistics) for local spatial prediction and mapping, and focus on the latter. They describe designs suitable for computing variograms and prediction by kriging, as well as a staged approach, so that sampling is neither inadequate nor excessive, and designs adapt as knowledge is accumulated.