LibGuides: Environmental Studies: Databases

Databases

BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
BIOSIS Previews (1985-) indexes life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. Items indexed are journals, meetings, patents, and books.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete, which is accessible via EBSCOHost, is a collection of publications in agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, and urban planning
Gale in context: Environmental studies This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies focuses on the physical and social aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, state and province portals form research centers around issues covering earth systems, global change, land and water use, populations, legislation, and more. Portal overviews provide essential information, supplemented by academic journals, news, case studies, conferences, statistics, and rich multimedia.
GEOBASE This link opens in a new window
Covers international geoscience literature - Earth sciences, ecology, geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation. The content crosses subject, language and cultural boundaries, providing an intuitive research tool to users.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,000,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 15,000 records.
IWA Publishing Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of e-books and research reports published by IWA Publishing, a leading supplier of water, wastewater and environmental publications and accessible via Water Intelligence Online
Zoological Record This link opens in a new window
Zoological Record is a taxonomic reference and database of animal biology. It covers animal biology and biodiversity issues. This database helps researchers to keep up on all aspects of animal biology and biodiversity issues, determine the first appearance of an animal name or new species and track taxonomic and nomenclatural changes. The database offers a comprehensive search functionality with the help of the thesauri which includes subject, geographical, paleontological and taxonomic classifier.

Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village (EV) is the essential research database for engineering literature from journals, conferences proceedings, patents, e-books, and many more. Within a single interface, you could simultaneously search across four databases, namely Compendex, Inspec, NTIS and GeoBase. Compendex is the world's largest and comprehensive engineering database focusing primarily on applied engineering research while Inspec provides engineering research information mainly on physics, electrical engineering & electronics, computers & control, mechanical, production engineering, information technology & more. The thesauri on Engineering Village contains the controlled vocabulary used to index articles in the Compendex, Inspec and GEOBASE databases. This enables consistent and precise search and retrieval.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It is a multidisciplinary database covering the sciences, engineering, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities fields. Scopus contains millions of peer-reviewed journals, selected articles from trade journals, book chapters, edited volumes, reference works, conference papers and patents. It is also an excellent database for cited reference searching. Its contents are updated daily
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a comprehensive research platform and one of the largest multidisciplinary index covering literature from sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, open access material etc. can be accessed through one interface, using a variety of powerful search and analysis tools. Web of Science also offers the option to find the Hot and Highly Cited papers, the most impactful papers within a subject field.