LibGuides: Food Science & Technology (FST): Databases

Selected Databases

AGRIS This link opens in a new window
Maintained by the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the United Nations, AGRIS provides citations and abstracts related to agricultural science and technology at the global scale. Topics such as fisheries, human nutrition and food are covered in this database.
Food Science and Technology Abstracts (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
A database that contains the abstracts of articles from food science journals.
Reaxys This link opens in a new window
A chemistry database from Elsevier that allows you to plan your reaction synthesis; perform structure, substructure, reaction, reference, and common name search; and provides you with experimentally validated data.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Scifinder-n provides an integrated information access to references, substances, reactions and suppliers in chemistry and related fields. It is embedded with PatentPak, Synthetic Methods and Retrosynthesis planning.

Registration instruction for the first-time user of SciFinder-n
To access and use SciFinder-n, one time registration is needed for the first-time user. Only NUS email is acceptable for registration.

Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety’s Academic Support Program This link opens in a new window
This one-stop platform allows access to Safety Data Sheets from manufacturers and suppliers, information about the chemicals’ toxic effects, as well as other health and safety details.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It is a multidisciplinary database covering the sciences, engineering, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities fields. Scopus contains millions of peer-reviewed journals, selected articles from trade journals, book chapters, edited volumes, reference works, conference papers and patents. It is also an excellent database for cited reference searching. Its contents are updated daily
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a comprehensive research platform and one of the largest multidisciplinary index covering literature from sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, open access material etc. can be accessed through one interface, using a variety of powerful search and analysis tools. Web of Science also offers the option to find the Hot and Highly Cited papers, the most impactful papers within a subject field.