Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search for MORE FST resources
Reading the library catalogue
Trying to decipher the information in the catalogue for the print titles here? Refer to this guide!:
Handbook of Flavor Characterization
This multidisciplinary resource lists the challenges and analytical methodologies used to determine the effect of chemical composition, genetics, and human physiology on aroma and flavor perception. Identifying emerging analytical methods, it studies the analysis of flavor and odor with research covering areas including genomics and in vivo mass spectrometery. Chemical detector sensitivities are also compared.
Handbook of food enzymology
Discussing methods of enzyme purification, characterization, isolation, and identification, this book details the physicochemical, chemistry and behaviour properties of enzymes to control, enhance, or inhibit enzymatic activity for improved quality and process tolerance of foods. It also covers the biotechnological strategies for enzyme discovery and development.
Handbook of Food Safety Engineering
This book brings together the essential components of food safety. Part I details the principles including microbial growth and modelling. Part II addresses novel and rapid food safety detection methods. Parts III and IV look at various processing techniques for microbial inactivation. Part V presents an overview of the major international food safety management systems such as GMP, SSOP, HACCP and ISO22000.
Handbook of Food Toxicology
From the consequences to exposure assessment and detoxification, the book covers the formation, characteristics, and control of toxins in food-related processes. Topics include sources, routes of exposure and absorption, mechanisms, and the chemical and biochemical components to avoid food contamination and foodborne disease.
Micro-Facts has proved to be a useful ready reference for practising food microbiologists and others concerned with ensuring the microbiological safety of foods. It is an invaluable tool as a source book of information relevant to the prevention of food-poisoning hazards worldwide.
The Food Safety Hazard Guidebook
This book presents factual information on a wide range of biological and chemical hazards in a clear format that is designed to support risk analysis exercises and HACCP studies. It covers a broad range of established and emerging food safety hazards. Sections on food allergens, fish toxins and bacterial pathogens are included.
Food Safety Handbook
This title highlights the major food safety issues, covering regulatory information, food safety in biotechnology, myriad food hazards, food safety surveillance and risk prevention. It analyzes every step of the production process. Topics covered include risk assessment and epidemiology, biological, chemical and physical hazards, control systems and intervention strategies for reducing risk or preventing food hazards, etc.
Food and Beverage Packaging Technology
This volume offers a contemporary overview of food processing / packaging technologies. It introduces food preservation processes, shelf life and logistical considerations, as well as packaging materials, machines and processes necessary for packaging presentations. It also addresses environmental and sustainability concerns, and examines applications of emerging technologies like RFID and nanotechnology.
Food Processing Handbook
This title details the principles and equipment used as well as the changes that occur during food preservation. It covers the methods, emerging technologies, concerns about the safety of processed foods and control of food processes, packaging, the impact on environment, and roles of nanotechnology and fermentation in food processing.
Handbook of Food Process Design
This book provides a complete account of food process designs including sterilization, crystallization, separation, etc. Both mechanical operations and novel process designs such as agitation, extraction, irradiation, ultrasound and ohmic heating are presented. Food packaging processes as well as food quality, safety and commercial imperatives are considered.
Handbook of Food Products Manufacturing
This book provides a general overview of food manufacturing and covers the processing and manufacturing of more than 100 of the most common food products. With editors and contributors from 24 countries in North America, Europe, and Asia, this guide provides international expertise and a truly global perspective on food manufacturing.
Data Sourcebook for Food Scientists and Technologists
A compendium on food science and technology that provides access to useful scientific, technical and legal information. It covers multiple areas: chemistry, biology, nutrition, manufacturing processes, formulations, laws, regulations and more. Emphasis is on processes, practices and chemical substances legally permitted and recommended for usage, as well as their application in the manufacturing of food and beverages.
Food Additives Data Book
This title covers preservatives, enzymes, gases, emulsifiers, acidulants, sequestrants, antioxidants, flavour enhancers, colour, sweeteners, polysaccharides, and solvents. Entries include information on function and applications, safety and legal issues, alternatives, synonyms, molecular formula and mass, physical properties, synergists, antagonists, etc.
Handbook of Food Analytical Chemistry
Besides providing detailed reports on experimental procedures, this book also covers sections on background theory and troubleshooting. It emphasizes on effective, state-of-the art methodology and includes detailed instructions with annotated advisory comments, key references with annotation, time considerations and anticipated results.
Functional Foods and Nutraceuticals
This book presents the bioactive properties of various nutrient components such as carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, polyphenols and carotenoids. It also introduces the role of different food types in promoting health. These food types include soybean, fruits and vegetables, milk and dairy products, and others.
The Handbook of Natural Flavonoids
This book is the essential guide to the chemical structure and function of all known flavonoids and contains full references, CAS numbers, chemical structures, molecular formulae and several extensive indexes.