Food Science & Technology (FST): Encyclopedias

Readers are provided opportunities to understand the principles, concepts, and techniques used in food chemistry applications. Topics include: food chemistry, food components and their interactions, properties, the structure of food, functional foods, processing, storage, nanoparticles for food use, antioxidants, the Maillard and Strecker reactions, process derived contaminants, and the detection of economically-motivated food adulteration.

Spanning over 400 articles in 3 volumes, this book reflects the key advances in areas such as genomics and food safety. Topics such as DNA sequencing and E. coli are particularly well-covered. With reading lists to help users explore topics in depth, it covers both fundamental concepts and state-of-the-art scientific discoveries.

This book covers a broad range of food safety topics which may be categorized as: history and basic sciences that support food safety; foodborne diseases; foodborne hazards; substances added to food; food technologies; food commodities, including their potential hazards and controls; food safety management systems, including their elements and the roles of stakeholders.

Comprising ten volumes, this new edition provides a comprehensive coverage of the fields of food science, food technology, and nutrition. the work presents the reader with the summary and conclusions on each topic

Three basic stages of food production are addressed: initiation of the natural food-growth cycle, nurture of growing plants and animals, and processing of "raw" food materials into more refined and complex products. It also covers the nutritional functions and values of foods as well as their effect on food processes. Processing methods are also introduced.

This encyclopaedia covers fundamental concepts and practical requirements in food science, as well as cutting-edge technological and industry information. It features A-to-Z coverage of all aspects of food science, including: the properties, analysis, and processing of foods; genetic engineering of new food products; and nutrition.