Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Library Essentials

New to NUS? Welcome to Library Essentials!

This page shares what you need to know about your NUSNET ID and Student/Staff ID. This is useful information as you navigate your way at NUS - as you learn, teach or research. Need to reset your NUSNET password? Click this link.

                            Short videos on freshmen's commonly asked questions at NUS Libraries!

 

Enter the Library with Green Pass: What is Green Pass? Visit Central Library’s RBR collection (module textbooks)

Ask Librarian for Help When You Need It! What is SMC? Visit the various libraries in NUS and talk to/email us whenever you need help!


Study spaces at Central Library: Pick your favourite study spot!


Borrow & Return Books at Central Library: Need a book? Get ready the call number, your matric card and library PIN! You can borrow at Level 5 mainshelf collection and Level 1 RBR collection.


Multiple Book Collections at Central Library: Level 1 RBR collection, level 5 mainshelf collection, level 5 special collections (SMC and SEA), holdshelf books, closed stacks… and 7 more libraries for you to explore!


Year 1 Common Reading List Materials at the Library: Textbooks and book chapters, DVDs and microfilms, books you can borrow, journal articles and newspapers.

Don't Know or Can't Remember Library PIN? Reset it!

NUS Student/Staff & Library PIN:

Your NUS Student or Staff Card is used to identify yourself as a NUS member and provide physical access to the library and other areas of the campus. It comes with a Library PIN that will enable you to borrow library books using self-check machines, check your library account, and renew books online.

image of student and staff card

 

Setting your Library PIN:

To use your card to borrow books for the first time, set your library PIN.

(1) Head to the library account login page and click on Reset your PIN:

how to reset library PIN

(2) Key in your Student or Staff Card Number. An email will be sent to your NUS email address that provides a link to reset your Library PIN within 3 hours.

(3) Click the link in your email and enter your Student or Staff Card Number followed by your new Library PIN.

If you are still unable to access your Library Account after trying to reset your Library PIN, please contact Service Desk at loans@nus.edu.sg or call 6516 6949 for assistance.

 


Common Library Questions: Where can I find information on...

Check how many books you can borrow. For how long, etc

Know your Loan Privileges. Click this link.

Printing and Photocopying at the Library (last updated: July 2021):

1. Network printing service:

Please follow the instructions below to enable the printing job based on the Operating System.

Central Library (Windows)

Central Library (Mac OS X)

C J Koh Law Library (Windows)

C J Koh Law Library (Mac OS X)

2. On-site self-service printing and photocopying services are available at:

Central Library (Level 5)

  • Mainshelf books (Printing only)
  • Chinese Southeast Asian Collection (Photocopying only)
  • Singapore-Malaysia Collection (Photocopying only)

C J Koh Law Library (Level 1)

Both printing and photocopying services are available.

Rates:

Photocopying / Printing

Black and White Colour
A3 $0.06 $0.60
A4 $0.03 $0.30

 

3. Payment is via NETS Flash Pay or EZ Link Card.

 

Printing in NUS:

There are also printing services situated in NUS, but outside of the library.

Location

UTown

UTown Residence (Lounge Area)

PC Commons

ERC outside Seminar Rm 4 & 5

MAC Commons

ERC Starbucks

CAPT

Yusof Ishak House (YIH)

YIH Level 3 DOA room

Goh Brothers

Faculty of Engineering  (FoE)

E2 Level 3

E3 Outside Cheers Level 4

School of Design  and Environment (SDE)

SDE4 IRC Level 2

Faculty of Science (FoS)

LT27 NUS CoOp

AS8 (FASS)

Computer Cluster Level 2

Eusoff Hall

Eusoff Hall Admin Block Level 4

How to find and download available past years' exam papers?

Click the image to find out :)

Study Spaces in the Library:

All NUS Libraries have study spaces for you to do your revision. There is free air-conditioning, power and WiFi for you to be productive.

Please remember to check the Library's opening hours to not be disappointed.

You can also book discussion room subject to availability here.

24-Hour Study Spaces:

There are also 24-hour study spaces in NUS where you do your revision and work with air-conditioning, WiFi and power.

Do note that these spaces are only for current NUS Staff and Students and you will need to bring your NUS Student Card to enter

These spaces are:

  1. The 24-hour Reading Area in the Medical Library
  2. Angsana Room outside the CJ Koh Law Library
  3. U-Town PC & Mac Commons
Some helpful services within NUS
What kind of help? Who can I approach?
Writing and oral presentation Centre for English Language Communication
Wellness UHC Counseling Service
Assistive Technology equipment Student Accessibility Unit
Email, online account access, NUS Card NUS IT Care
Library loans, discussion room booking

Library Loans

Tel: 6516-6949