Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Research Methods: Getting Started with SRM

Starting Your Research with SRM

research_stages1
What will you research? whatresearch
  1. Defining a topic 
  • You have an idea of what you would like to investigate — e.g. Use of drones in smart cities. If you are unsure, read this book chapter on Choosing a Topic from SRM. It will help you choose a viable area/subject to study.
  1. Developing a researchable research question
  Design your project  designproject
  1. Designing Your Research and Choosing Your Method
  • If you’re not sure which method to use, the SRM Methods Map can help you choose one. You can search for a method if you already have one in mind.  The search results will provide both brief explanations of the method via dictionary and encyclopedia entries as well as in-depth how-tos in book-length entries.
  1. Researching Ethically and Safely
  • If you are concerned with ethics, search the library portal for relevant resources. SRM contains a number of helpful resources 
  1. Reviewing the Literature
  • A literature review is a an important step as it provides a good insight into what has already been written about your topic. SRM has many resources on how to conduct a literature review.
 Gather, Analyse & Present Your Data    
  1. Doing Fieldwork/Gathering Data
  2. Analyzing Your Data/Findings
  3. Writing Up
  • SRM book collection provides substantial step-by-step information on hundreds of data collection methods.  For example, if a researcher has chosen a survey, the SRM section on Designing Surveys includes steps on writing and organizing the questions, designing and selecting the sample, and tips on reducing sources of error in the collection.  Resources specific to data analysis and writing up your findings are also included.
  Dissemination  
  1. This simply means submitting your paper before the deadline. If you are completing a dissertation and/or intending to publish, SRM has information on that as well.
Overcome Early Years Research Anxiety: 7 Research Myths Debunked

Feel less anxious about doing your early years research project with these 7 research myths debunked. Starting your Early Years research project can be daunting, especially if you have never carried out a research project before. And what’s more, the number of existing research myths can make research seem boring, complicated and pointless. Doing Your Early Years Research Project by Guy Roberts-Holmes is here to help you overcome your research fears. Its practical step-by-step structure will put you at ease and make you feel more confident about the prospect of doing your research project. Check it out at Doing Your Early Years Research Project: A Step by Step Guide.


Video: You can do research… just think of it like booking a holiday!

Doing Your Early Years Research Project by Guy Roberts-Holmes takes you on a step-by-step journey towards putting your research skills into practice, so you are well on track to completing a successful Early Years Research Project. Research like your holiday depends on it!

Core Skills for New Researchers

Sage Video: How Curiosity Drives the Research Process
Dr. Zina O'Leary, from UNSW and an ANZSOG Senior Fellow, discusses passionate curiosity and how it can affect the research process.