Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Research Methods: SRM Research Tools

Research Tools

SRM aims to be a research methods toolkit for any potential methods/statistical problem.

The Methods Map is a visual representation of how methods, terms and concepts are related to each other. You will find a definition of the term at the top with a link to the relevant content. You can also view narrower terms to the right and broader terms to the left and see related terms by clicking on the bubble at the bottom. The Methods Map tracks your recent history so you can backtrack your searches.

Go to Methods Map.

computer assisted qualitative

Find Someone Else's Reading List

Faculty can use the Reading Lists to find potential resources to support a course/module, without having to start from scratch. Reading Listsprovide a way for you to save mini-collections of selected books, book chapters, and journal articles for later review or to share with colleagues and students. Reading Lists are also useful if you’re about to start working on a new method for your dissertation or research and need to build up your knowledge.You can browse Reading Lists by specific method or by discipline.

Go to Reading Lists

  Videos on how to use Reading Lists 

The following videos from  Lavery Library, St John Fisher College, Rochester, NY. provides tips on browsing the Reading List: browse by a specific method and by a particular discipline. 

Browse Reading List by specific methods (e.g. Online Surveys)

Browse Reading List by specific discipline (e.g. Education)

The Project Planner organizes content in a linear fashion, by each step of the research process, starting with the philosophy of research all the way to dissemination of findings. It serves as a step-by-step guide throughout any research project. Maybe you're at the start of a project and you want to learn about how to define your topic, or maybe you're at the end of your project and are starting to write an article about your research. 

Go to Project Planner.

project planner

The viedoe below provides a review of the step-by-step guide of your research. Courtesy of Lavery Library, St John Fisher College, Rochester, NY.

Knowing which test to use for your data can be tricky. The Which Stats Test helps guide you in the best direction. The feature provides you with a series of multiple choice questions about the information you are collecting to determine which type of statistical test may be used to analyze the data. You will be asked questions around key decision points like:

  • Purpose of your analysis
  • What you want to do with your data
  •  What measurement levels your variables are, and then suggests a test

Go to Which Stats Test?

whichstatstest1

  Video  
Using "Which Stats Test" Tool to Look for a Suitable Statistical Method. Courtesy of Lavery Library, St John Fisher College, Rochester, NY.

Quick Links to Research Tools

project planner_quicklink  Project Planner - A step-by-step guide to planning out a research project.

  Which Stats Test? - Helps you select the most appropriate statistical test.

  Reading Lists - Find Someone Else's Reading List! 

faculty guide User Guide for Faculty - Make the most of Sage Research Methods

Videos: Using Methods Map for...

The above video by Lavery Library, St John Fisher College, Rochester, NY. provides tips on using the Methods Map for specific methods including surveys research.

The above video by Lavery Library, St John Fisher College, Rochester, NY. provides tips on using the Methods Map for specific methods including online surveys.

The above video by Lavery Library, St John Fisher College, Rochester, NY. provides tips on using the Methods Map for specific methods including cases.

The above video by Lavery Library, St John Fisher College, Rochester, NY. provides tips on using the Methods Map for specific methods including videos.