Skip to main content
Banner Image

EndNote: Adding References

EndNote (EN) is a software for managing references. It can automate the many tedious steps involved in organizing and formatting the references and bibliographies in your academic writing. EndNote Web (ENW) is the web version of EN, with fewer features.

Adding References to your EndNote Library

Checking References for Accuracy

Although, most of the referenceinformation that EndNote captures will be correct, it is always a good idea to check every item's metadata for accuracy and then to correct and/or add data. Take note that, EndNote will accurately import the metadata but the metadata may not be accurate.

Overview of Adding References into your EndNote Library

 

There are 5 main methods to add references into your EndNote Library. However, we recommend that you use the Import PDF, Import RIS File and Manual Input methods to add references into your EndNote Library.

Import PDF

EndNote can import your existing PDF files and automatically generate the citation information so that you do not have to key it in manually.

However, the PDF file needs to have:

  1. A DOI or Digital Object Identifier so that EndNote can search for its information online
  2. It must be OCR-Readable

 If the author, title, journal, etc, fields are not auto-populated, the PDF file is of the wrong format and you will have to do manual entry.

Steps to Import PDF

1. In EndNote, go to File > Import > File or Folder

2. Click on Options, select PDF File or Folder

3. Import PDF files or a folder of PDF.

Import RIS File

You can also directly export citation information from the various databases to EndNote directly. However, do note that the full-text will not accompany the citation information.

If you do need the full-text, we recommend that you download the PDF and import the PDF into EndNote directly.

Please also do check the citation information to ensure that it the information is correct and accurate.

Steps to Import RIS File

1. At the database that you are searching, select the records you want

2. Save, output, export or send to EndNote (often labeled as “RIS format”)

3. Go to File -> Import -> File, make sure the Import Option is Reference Manager (RIS) and import the RIS file

4. For PC users, you can also double click on the RIS file and the citations should be imported

Importing RIS File from Scopus

1. Head to Scopus to do your search

2. Select the citations that you want to export out into EndNote

3. Export the citation information as a RIS File

4. Import the RIS File and ensure that the Import Option is Reference Manager (RIS)

Import RIS File from Findmore

1. Head to the NUS Library portal to do your search

2. Select the citations that you want to export out into EndNote

3. Export the citation information as a RIS File

4. Import the RIS File and ensure that the Import Option is Reference Manager (RIS)

Importing nbib File from PubMed

PubMed uses a different kind of file format as compared to the other Databases. Instead of .RIS Files, they use .nbib Files. EndNote has the ability to import .nbib Files.

For PC users, you can try double clicking the .nbib Files and EndNote should automatically import the references.

1. Head to PubMed to do your search

2. Select the citations that you want to export out into EndNote click on Send > Select Citation Manager > click Create File

3. Import the .nbib file and make sure that the Import Option is Multi-Filter (Special)

Importing .enw File from Google Scholar

Google Scholar uses a different file format as compared to the other databases. Instead of .RIS Files, they use .enw Files. Endnote has the ability to import the .enw File. However, unlike the other databases, you can only import 1 reference at any time.

For PC users, you can try double clicking the .enw Files and Endnote should automatically import the references.

1. Head to Google Scholar to do your search

2. Click on Cite on the article you wish to import and then select EndNote in the pop-up window. A .enw File will be created

3. Import the .enw File and ensure the Import Option is EndNote Import

For all the other database, you can look at this guide. Alternatively, you can contact us if you need further assistance.

Manual Editing

Online Search

We do not recommend using this method to add references because there is no real control on what goes into your EndNote Library. In any case, the video showing how it can be done is below:

Import File

This method is used when references cannot be exported out directly to EndNote.

Only very few databases require this method. Some examples of this database include,  China Journal Net and Factiva.

For other database that may require this method can be found at this guide.

This method is also useful for people who are trying to merge EndNote Libraries or Mac Users who have issues opening up .RIS files.

For China Journal Net

  • Search the database and mark the relevant references.
  • Click on the button labeled 导出.
  • At the left of the new page, select EndNote.
  • Click on the button 输出到本地文件. Save the .txt file to your desktop.
  • Open an existing EndNote Library.
  • At the menu bar, click on File, followed by Import > File.
  • A dialogue box appears. Browse for the saved file and click on Open.
  • For Import Option, select Other Filters and choose EndNote Import.
  • For Text Translation, select Unicode (UTF-8).
  • Click on Import.

For Factiva

  • Go to Search > Search Builder and search the database.
  • Click on the Publications tab as only results from publications can be sent to EndNote.
  • Under Display Options, select full article plus indexing.
  • Select the relevant articles.
  • Save as article format
  • At the pop-up window, select File > Save As > Text File (*.txt).
  • Open an existing EndNote Library.
  • Click on File, followed by Import.
  • Browse for the saved file and click on Open.
  • For Import Option, select Other Filters and choose Factiva (DJ).
  • Click on Import.

Do note that for Factiva, the citation information that is imported is usually not clean and it requires users to clean the data. We recommend that for Factiva references, manual input would be the most efficient way to input reference information in your EndNote Library.

Have a Question? Ask Us!