Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Law in Singapore: Articles

Introduction

Law journals and reviews are collections of articles on specific legal topics. They are published periodically and provide information on the latest developments in the law as well as comments and criticisms of the law.

Examples include the Singapore Academy of Law Journal, Singapore Law Review and Singapore Journal of Legal Studies.

Citations are references to where you can locate articles in law journals and reviews.

Examples:
1. Dora Neo, “The Sale of Goods (Amendment) Act 1996: Satisfactory Quality, an Undivided Share in a Bulk and other Amendments(1997) 9 SAcLJ 362.
2. David Feldman, “The Nature of Legal Scholarship” (1989) 52 Mod.L.Rev. 498

Citations contain:

  • author of the article
  • title of the article
  • year the article was published
  • volume number of the journal
  • journal abbreviation 
  • first page of the article

To determine the availability and location of journals in the NUS Libraries, run a Title Search for the journal in the library catalogue, LINC.

Alternatively, search for full text articles in one of the law databases listed in the right column.

Indexes & Guides

Legal Abbreviations

Identify journal abbreviations using one of these online or print resources:

Indexes to Legal Periodicals

A good way to start searching for articles is to use an index to legal periodicals.

a. Print index
Mallal's Digest: Index to Legal Periodicals of Malaysia and Singapore 1932 to 2015
K7599.3 Mdp 2016 (LW Reference 1, LW Sing-Mal Coll)
This publication contains subject and author indexes to legal periodicals published in Malaysia and Singapore from 1932 to 2015.

b. Online indexes
These databases contain citations to a wide range of journal articles, including those published in Singapore journals. Search for articles by author, subject or keyword:

  • LegalTrac - Anglo-American (1980 -)
    This will link you to full text articles, if they are available through NUS Libraries databases.
  • PERIND - Malaysia, Singapore Brunei (1932 - 2009)

After you have obtained the article citation, run a Title Search for the journal through the library catalogue, LINC.

Databases

Access full text articles on Singapore law using the following databases:

* indicates subscription database

NUS Law Working Paper Series

Browse the following Working Paper Series by NUS Law and its Centres for relevant articles (mostly published on SSRN):

Newspapers

Newspaper articles are important as they contain commentaries on various legal issues. The following databases provide access to local newspapers including the Straits Times and Business Times.

* indicates subscription database

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Install the Proxy Bookmarklet for direct access full texts of journal articles that are within the NUS Libraries' subscription