Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Law in Singapore: Web Resources (by subject)

Sources by Subject

On this page:

 

General

Know the Law Now!
Publication of the Law Society of Singapore which describes in laymen’s terms, the commonly encountered areas of the law.

Law of Singapore
Information on Wikipedia providing a summary of the history of Singapore law. Original author unknown.

NewspaperSG
Newspapers are a good source of legal information. This database, maintained by the National Library Board, contains historical Singapore and Malaya newspapers from as early as 1831.

Our Legal System
Overview of the Singapore legal system by the Ministry of Law.

SG Press Centre
Latest government press statements and releases.

Singapore Jursidiction & Law
Articles on the Singapore legal system published by the Singapore Academy of Law.

Singapore Law Blog
Blog "dedicated to the discussion of the latest Singapore court decisions and legal news. It also routinely showcases practically relevant law journal articles and covers Continuing Legal Education events. Where relevant to the Singapore context, the blog also discusses legal developments in other parts of the world, particularly Commonwealth jurisdictions."

Singapore Law Watch
Singapore's foremost daily legal news syndication site.

 

Alternative Dispute Resolution

Alternative Dispute Resolution (Law Society of Singapore)
Information on the various dispute resolution schemes administered by the Law Society of Singapore, including the Law Society Arbitration Scheme, Law Society Mediation Scheme and Law Society Neutral Evaluation and Determination Scheme.

Arbitration & ADR in Singapore
Information on the legal regimes that govern the conduct of arbitration in Singapore.

CASE Mediation Centre
Information on mediation procedure for consumers and retailers by the Consumers Association of Singapore.

Community Mediation Centre
Informal dispute resolution service catering to community disputes as opposed to commercial ones.

Cost Dispute Resolve (Law Society of Singapore)
Scheme by the Law Society of Singapore to assist lawyers, their clients and third parties to resolve disputes on legal costs amicably and economically.

Industrial Arbitration Court
Information on functions of the Court, including certification of collective agreements, and resolution of industrial disputes.

Maxwell Chambers
Venue for international dispute resolution housing top international ADR institutions under one roof, and providing one-stop facilities and services for the conduct of ADR activities in Singapore.

Office of the Commissioner for the Maintenance of Parents
The Commissioner helps parents who are unable to support themselves secure monetary contribution from their children through conciliation.

Singapore Chamber of Maritime Arbitration
Information provided includes the SCMA Rules and Model Clauses as well as the panel of arbitrators.

Singapore Domain Name Dispute Resolution Service
The SDRP provides a framework for resolving ‘.sg’ domain name disputes. Managed by the Singapore Mediation Centre.

Singapore Institute of Arbitrators
Information provided includes the Rules of the Singapore Institute of Arbitrators and model clauses.

Singapore International Arbitration Centre
Guides, codes of practice and model clauses relating to international arbitration.

Singapore International Mediation Centre
The SIMC is an independent, not-for-profit institution that provides mediation services and products to parties in cross-border commercial disputes, particularly those doing business in Asia.

Singapore Mediation Centre
Information on mediation procedure provided by the Centre in relation to a wide range of areas including contracts, defamation, shipping, probate, intellectual property and matrimonial matters.

Tripartite Alliance for Fair and Progressive Employment Practices
The TAFEP provides advisory services to help organisations implement fair employment practices. Those who have encountered workplace discrimination may also contact TAFEP for advice and assistance or to provide their feedback.

 

Building and Construction Law

Building and Construction Authority
Publications of the Authority including:

Building and Construction Law
Information on building and construction law in Singapore by George Tan. Last updated 4 Mar 2019.

Society of Construction Law (Singapore)
Information about the Society. Resources include the Singapore Construction Law Newsletter (2005 - ).

 

Charities

Charities Accounting Standard
The Accounting Standards Council prescribes accounting standards for use by charities.

Charity Portal
Portal maintained by the Charities Unit. Provides information on the regulation of charities including legislation governing charities and IPCs.

 

Commercial and Trade Law

Advertising Standards Authority of Singapore
ASAS is an advisory council to the Consumers Association of Singapore (CASE) set up to promote ethical advertising in Singapore and is the self-regulatory body of the advertising industry.

Centre for Banking and Finance Law, NUS Law
Events and publications of the Centre, including the CBFL Working Papers Series and Reports.

Commercial Law
General overview of commercial law in Singapore. Links to specific subject areas in the left column of the webpage. Published on Singapore Law Watch.

Competition & Consumer Commission Singapore
Competition legislation as well as guidelines on the application and enforcement of the major provisions of the Competition Act. Also contains CCCS publications.

Consumers Association of Singapore
CASE handles consumer-to-business disputes. Includes information on the Lemon Law.

EW Barker Centre for Law & Business, NUS Law
Information on events, projects and publications (including full texts of the EWBCLB Working Paper series) of the Centre.

Ministry of Trade and Industry
Trade-related documents between Singapore and other countries as well as brief summaries of some of the legislation administered by the MTI.

Small Claims
The Small Claims Tribunals hear claims up to $30,000. Common disputes involve goods, services and tenancy agreements (residential) not exceeding 2 years.

 

Constitutional Law

Attorney-General's Chambers
Information on the work of the AGC, its services and publications (e.g. law reform reports from 2001 to 2010)

The Cabinet
Information on the executive organ of State. Information published by the Prime Minister's Office Singapore.

gov.sg
Online portal of the Singapore government.

Legal and Constitutional History of Singapore
The legal development of Singapore is outlined from a constitutional viewpoint. Published by the Singapore Academy of Law.

Our Legal System
Overview of the Singapore legal system provided by the Ministry of Law.

Parliament of Singapore
Information on the role, organisation and structure of the Singapore Legislature.

President of the Republic of Singapore
Information on Singapore's Head of State. The Parliament of the Republic of Singapore and the President jointly make up the legislature of Singapore.

The Singapore Constitution: a Brief Introduction
Primer on the Singapore constitution written by students of the Singapore Management University.

Singapore Courts
Information relating to the Supreme Court, State Courts and Family Justice Courts.

 

Corporate Law

Accounting and Corporate Regulatory Authority
The authority provides a regulatory environment for companies, businesses and public accountants.

Accounting Standards Council
The ASC prescribes accounting standards for use by companies, charities, co-operative societies and societies.

Corporate Governance
Information on corporate governance matters published the Monetary Authority of Singapore.

Corporate Insolvency
Information on liquidation processes and procedures provided by the Insolvency Office.

Forms of Business Organisations
Article by Victor Yeo.

Ministry of Finance Completes Review of the Companies Act
Full text of the Report of the Steering Committee for Review of the Companies Act and the Ministry of Finance's response thereto (2012)

Public Consultation on the Insolvency Law Review Committee's Report
Reports relating to the review of Singapore's existing bankruptcy and corporate insolvency regime (2013)

Singapore Company Law
Overview of company law in Singapore by Tan Cheng Han. Last updated in Jan 2016.

Singapore Exchange
Information on listed companies and shareholder information.

Singapore Institute of Directors
Useful publications ranging from guides encouraging good corporate governance practices to bulletins containing valuable insights by industry leaders.

 

Criminal Justice

Criminal Legal Aid Scheme
Information about the Scheme which is administered by the Law Society Pro Bono Services.

Development of Criminal Law and Criminal Justice
History of criminal law and justice in Singapore. This is part of the Singapore Legal History Resource, developed and maintained by the Singapore Academy of Law.

 

Criminal Law and Procedure

Central Narcotics Bureau
Primary drug enforcement agency for Singapore. Includes Drug Situation Reports since 2002 as well as a list of drugs and inhalants controlled under the Misuse of Drugs Act and Intoxicating Substances Act.

Corrupt Practices Investigation Bureau
Contains news articles relating to corruption as well as case studies relating to the public and private sectors.

Criminal Law of Singapore
Overview of Singapore criminal law on Wikipedia.

Development of Criminal Law and Criminal Justice
History of criminal law and justice in Singapore. This is part of the Singapore Legal History Resource, developed and maintained by the Singapore Academy of Law.

Ministerial Statement on Findings of Committee of Inquiry (COI) on Little India Riot
The COI established the factors and circumstances that led to the riot in Little India, and made recommendations for areas of improvement.

Pro Bono: Criminal Law
Help guide published by the C J Koh Law Library.

Scam Alert
Alerts to the latest scams in Singapore. Information provided by the National Crime Prevention Council.

Self-Represented in a Criminal Matter: Brochures
The State Courts publishes guidebooks and brochures containing information for the self-represented accused.

Singapore: Courts & Crime
Straits Times news articles on the latest criminal cases before the Singapore courts.

Singapore Police Force
Contains advisories on the various crimes committed in Singapore (including commercial crimes) and an information booklet on police procedures.

On this page:

 

Employment Law

Employment Claims
The ECT provides employees and employers with a speedy and low-cost forum to resolve salary-related and wrongful dismissal disputes. More information on claims procedures is available on the Ministry of Manpower website.

Employment Laws & U
Information on local laws that protect workers, ensuring their employment rights, safety, health and welfare. Published by the National Trades Union Congress (NTUC).

Industrial Arbitration Court
Includes court awards made in recent years and sample collective agreements.

Ministry of Manpower
Information relating to employment practices, workplace safety and health as well as the management of employment disputes.

Tripartite Alliance for Fair and Progressive Employment Practices
TAFEP works in partnership with employer organisations, unions and the government to create awareness and facilitate the adoption of fair, responsible and progressive employment practices.

Environmental Law

Asia-Pacific Centre for Environmental Law
Reports and selected articles on environmental law in Singapore published by the Centre.

Legislation on Environmental Sustainability for Buildings
Information on environmental sustainability for buildings provided by the Building and Construction Authority.

Ministry of Sustainability and the Environment
Environmental policies relating to Singapore.

National Environment Agency
Leading public organisation responsible for ensuring a clean and green environment, and the sustainable development of Singapore. Environmental legislation, practices and guidelines are published here.

National Implementation of Agenda 21: Singapore
Information provided by the Government of Singapore to the United Nations Commission on its sustainable development programmes since UNCED 1992 (1997)

 

Family Law

Family Law in Singapore: Overview
The guide, in the form of a Q&A, gives an overview of key issues relating to Singapore family law including competing jurisdiction disputes and conflicts of law. It is published on Practical Law (Thomson Reuters) by Randolph Khoo and Hoon Shu Mei, Drew & Napier LLC.

Maintenance of Parents
Contains stories of how conciliation at the Commissioner's Office has helped resolve maintenance disputes between parents and their children as well as information relating to applications for maintenance orders at the Tribunal.

Office of the Public Gaurdian
The Office of the Public Guardian carries out various functions towards enabling and protecting persons who lack mental capacity which include setting up and maintaining a register for the Lasting Power of Attorney ("LPA").

Singapore Courts: Family
The Family Justice Courts hear the full suite of family-related cases including all divorce and related matters, family violence cases, adoption and guardianship cases, Youth Court cases, applications for deputyship under the Mental Capacity Act, and probate and succession matters.

Syariah Court Singapore
Islamic court instituted for settling disputes between divorcing parties. Information on divorce matters, inheritance and court processes. See also: Syariah Court Orders.

 

Finance Law

Banking and Finance
Introduction to Singapore banking law written by Julie Sim, Elizabeth Wong and Annabelle Teo. Published on Singapore Law Watch.

Centre for Banking & Finance law, NUS Law
Includes the working papers and reports published by the Centre.

Ministry of Finance
Economic and finance policies of Singapore.

Monetary Authority of Singapore
MAS publications including information papers, consultation papers and reports.

Registry of Moneylenders
Information for borrowers and moneylenders.

Registry of Pawnbrokers
Information for both pawnbrokers and pawners.

Singapore Exchange
Information on the securities and derivatives markets in Singapore.

 

Foreign Relations

Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Information on Singapore's foreign policy, including information on Singapore's relations with other countries as well as regional and international organisations.

 

Infocoms Law

IMDA: Regulations & Licensing
The Info-communications Media Development Authority seeks to deepen regulatory capabilities for a converged infocomm media sector, safeguarding the interests of consumers and fostering pro-enterprise regulations.

Media Literacy Council: Resources
Resources on media and digital literacy issues including fake news, online harrassment and online scams. Published by the Media Literacy Council.

Singapore Domain Name Dispute Resolution Services
SDRP policy, rules, supplemental rules and proceedings. Published by the Singapore Mediation Centre.

 

Intellectual Property

Copyright Resources
Useful guides on Singapore copyright law published by the Intellectual Property Office of Singapore.

The Development of Singapore's Intellectual Property Rights Regime
One of the publications in the Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy's Microsoft Case Studies Series on Information Technology, Public Policy and Society (May 2014). Authors: Alisha Gill, Zsuzsanna Vári-Kovács and Ashish Lall.

Intellectual Property Law
Overview of Singapore intellectual property law by Tan Tee Jim. Published on Singapore Law Watch.

Intellectual Property Licensing
Article by Dr Stanley Lai. Published on Singapore Law Watch.

Intellectual Property Office of Singapore (IPOS)
Information on copyright, patents, trade marks and registered designs. Access to legislation updates and legal decisions. See also: IPOS International.

Public Consultation on the Proposed Copyright Bill
The draft Bill will replace the current Copyright Act. The webpage contains previous consultation papers as well as the 2019 Singapore Copyright Review Report and the 2020 Public Consultation on Proposed Licence Conditions and Code of Conduct for CMOs

Singapore Treaty on the Law of Trademarks
Full text of the treaty made available by WIPO. Includes regulations made under the treaty and resolution by the Diplomatic Conference.

 

International Law

Centre for International Law
CIL's mission is to enable Singapore and the Asia-Pacific region to play a more significant role in the promotion and development of international law. The Centre maintains a Document Database of over 1000 ASEAN and international law documents, many of which relate to Singapore.

Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Click on Foreign Policy for statements on Singapore's stand on various international issues including disarmament and counter terrorism as well as on key issues like Pedra Branca and the Water Agreements.

Singapore and International Law
Article by Lim Chin Leng, Mahdev Mohan & Jennifer Z.J. Lim. Published on Singapore Law Watch.

 

Islamic Law

Administration of Muslim Law Act 1966
AMLA has provided for a centralised system of administration covering all aspects of Muslim life in Singapore. Info published by Singapore Infopedia (National Library Board).

ADR and Islamic Law: the Cases of the UK and Singapore
Paper published by Arif A Jamal in the NUS Faculty of Law, Working Paper Series (2015).

Islamic Law LibGuide
Libguide on Singapore Islamic law resources by the C J Koh Law Library.

Islamic Legal System in Singapore
Article by Ahmad Nizam bin Abbas providing an overview of the introduction and applicability of Muslim law in Singapore, from the colonial administration of the British to the contemporary period. Published in the Pacific Rim Law & Policy Journal (2012).

Majlis Ugama Islam Singapore: Office of the Mufti
The Office of the Mufti acts as the Secretariat of the Fatwa Committee and is responsible for handling the operational duties related to the issuance of fatwa. Other publications include Faraidh - The Islamic Law of Inheritance, and Organ Transplant in Islam.

Singapore’s Muslim Law Versus Syariah Revivalism
Article by Noor Aisha Abdul Rahman published in ISEAS Perspective (2016).

Syariah Court Singapore
The Court has jurisdiction to hear and determine disputes pertaining to Muslim marriages, divorce and inheritance.

On this page:

 

Law Reform

Attorney-General's Chambers: Law Reform Reports
Reports from 2001 to 2010 published by the then Law Reform and Revision Division, AGC.

Ministry of Law: Public Consultations
Public consultation papers published by the Ministry of Law (2008 - )

Papers Presented to Parliament
6 categories of papers uploaded on the Government Records Database as and when the National Archives receives them from Parliament - Command Paper, Parliamentary Paper, Statutory Paper, Subsidiary Legislation Paper, Presidential Council Paper and Miscellaneous Paper (2011 - ) 

REACH: Public Consultations
REACH posts public consultations by the various Ministries and government agencies seeking feedback on proposed changes to the law.

Singapore Academy of Law: Law Reform
Reports of the Singapore Academy of Law Reform Committee (1991 - ) 

 

Legal Aid/Pro Bono

Law Society Pro Bono Services
Information on legal services to the community administered by the Law Society of Singapore including the Community Legal Clinic Scheme, Criminal Legal Aid Scheme and Ad Hoc Pro Bono Referral Scheme. Contains useful resources for the public such as the In-House Legal Counsel Pro Bono GuideKnow the Law Now booklet and Law Works pocket series booklets.

Legal Aid Bureau
Information on the legal aid scheme administered by this Ministry of Law department.

Pro Bono LibGuide
LibGuide published by the C J Koh Law Library to assist law students engaged in pro bono work.

Singapore Free Legal Clinics
Listing of pro bo clinics in Singapore.

 

Legal History

Historical Sources of Singapore Law
LibGuide published by the C J Koh Law Library.

Legal Heritage
Website set up by the Singapore Academy of Law documenting the legal history of Singapore.

 

Legal Profession

Admission to the Singapore Bar
Requirements for admission published by the Singapore Institute of Legal Education. Similar information is provided by the Ministry of Law and Law Society of Singapore.

Law Society of Singapore
Contains Practice Directions and Guidance Notes issued by the Council of the Law Society relating to the ethics and professional responsibility of lawyers.

Legal Profession in Singapore
Article by the Singapore Academy of Law on the history of the legal profession from the time when Singapore was an outpost of the East India Company.

Report of the 4th Committee on the Supply of Lawyers
Review of the supply of Singapore legal professionals to meet the legal and business needs of Singapore. Report published in May 2013.

Report of the Committee to Develop the Singapore Legal Sector : Final Report
Report published by the Ministry of Law (2007)

Report of the Committee for the Professional Training of Lawyers
Published on the old Supreme Court website (Mar 2018)

Report of the Working Group on Legal & Accounting Services
Published in April 2017 and made available on the Singapore Accountancy Commission website.

Singapore Academy of Law (SAL)
Professional association for legal practitioners. Access to information on SAL services and publications.

 

Legislation

How Are Laws Made?
Information on the legislative process published by the Singapore Parliament.

Legislative Process
Information on how a bill becomes law. Published by the Attorney-General's Chambers.

Parliament of Singapore
Parliamentary publications include bills, parliamentary debates (official reports) and select committee reports.

 

Maritime and Admiralty Law

Centre for Maritime Law, NUS Law
Useful information includes:

  • Working papers
  • CML CMI Database - judicial decisions on international maritime conventions. Project undertaken and hosted by CML in collaboration with the Comité Maritime International.

Maritime and Port Authority of Singapore (MPA)
MPA circulars, notices, guidelines and other publications.

Maritime Law Association of Singapore (MLAS)
"The Maritime Law Association of Singapore (MLAS) aims to promote the study and advancement of maritime law and its administration in Singapore, and to promote and consider with other associations proposals for the unification of maritime law and practice of different nations."

Singapore Chamber of Maritime Arbitration (SCMA)
Arbitration Rules and model clauses pertaining to the SCMA.

Transport Matters: Sea
Information on Singapore's sea transport policies including maritime safety and security. Published by the Ministry of Transport.

 

Media

IMDA: Regulations & Licensing
Policies and guidelines relating to the Singapore media industry.

Media Literacy Council: Resources
Resources on media and digital literacy issues including fake news, online harassment and online scams. Published by the Media Literacy Council.

 

Medical Law and Ethics

Bioethics Advisory Committee
Reports, consultation papers and various other publications by the Committee.

Ministry of Health
Links to regulatory documents, policies and guidelines.

Singapore Medical Council
Contains medical guidelines including the SMC Ethical Code and Ethical Guidelines as well as published grounds of decisions of the Council.

SMA Centre for Medical Ethics and Professionalism
Platform for doctors for learning in the area of medical ethics, professionalism and health law. Access to publications like the Singapore Medical Journal and SMA News. Articles of interest include:

 

Privacy/Data Protection

Personal Data Protection Commission
Overview of the Personal Data Protection Act and its enforcement. The advisory guidelines provide guidance on the manner in which the PDPC will interpret provisions of the PDPA. The Commission's decisions are also available on this website.

Public Report of the Committee of Inquiry (COI) into the cyber attack on Singapore Health Services Private Limited Patient Database on or around June 2018
The Committee of Inquiry was convened to inquire into the events and contributing factors leading to the cyber attack on Singapore Health Services Private Limited (SingHealth)’s patient database system.

 

Probate and Administration of Estates

CPF Money
Information by the Public Trustee's Office for next-of-kin on the distribution of a deceased's estate and CPF monies.

Other Taxes: Trusts
Guides on taxes relating to trusts.

Singapore Courts: Probate and Administration
Procedure for obtaining probate or letters of administration in the Family Justice Courts.

Syariah Court Singapore: Inheritance
Information on the distribution of a deceased person's estate in accordance with the Administration of Muslim Law Act.

Wills Registry
Information for testators on the deposit of wills at the Registry. Managed by Singapore Academy of Law.

 

Procedure

Singapore Courts
Practice and procedure in the Supreme Court, State Courts and Family Justice Courts.

Syariah Court Singapore
Islamic court instituted for settling disputes between divorcing parties. Website includes information on inheritance and court processes. See also: Syariah Court Orders.

 

Property Law

Law Society of Singapore's Conditions of Sale 2012
Standard terms and conditions which buyers and sellers may incorporate by reference into contracts for sale and purchase of immovable properties.

Ministry of Law: Land Policy and Administration:

Practice Guidelines on Options to Purchase and Sale & Purchase Agreements
Guidelines provided by the Council for Estate Agencies (2015)

Strata Titles Boards
Guidelines and forms relating to strata titles in Singapore.

Strata Living in Singapore: a General Guide
Includes guidelines relating to the duties and responsibilities of subsidiary proprietors, developers and the management corporation (2005)

Urban Redevelopment Authority of Singapore
Circulars, guidelines and handbooks of the URA, including Master Plans from 1958.

 

Tax Law

Income Taxation
Article by Vincent Ooi, Irving Aw and Joanna Yap.

Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore
E-tax guides, press releases, downloadable forms and general information on taxes. Includes information on avoidance of double taxation agreements concluded by Singapore.

Policies: Taxes
Information on tax policies, including international taxation and betting taxes, which the Ministry of Finance oversees.

 

Terrorism

Countering the Financing of Terrorism
Information on the work of the Inter-Ministerial Committee on Terrorist Designation (IMC-TD). This Ministry of Home Affairs webpage contains information on Singapore's counter-terrorism measures. See also White Paper - The Jemaah Islamiyah Arrests and The Threat of Terrorism.

 

Transport

Final Report from the Committee of Inquiry into the Nicholl Highway Collapse - Executive Summary (Annex A of Press Release: Committee of Inquiry concludes string of critical design errors caused collapse at Nicoll Highway)
The COI concluded that critical design errors led to the collapse of part of the earth-retaining wall system, which killed four workers in the accident. See also Government Response to the Final Report Of the Committee Of Inquiry into the Nicoll Highway Collapse.

Ministry of Transport
Information on Singapore's transport policies.

Report of the Committee of Inquiry into the Disruption of MRT Train Services
Report of the COI dated 3 Jul 2012 relating to train disruptions on 15 and 17 Dec 2011. Published by the Ministry of Transport. See also the Ministerial Statement on the Government's Response.

 

Trusts

Equity and Trusts
Summary of equity and trust law in Singapore by Tang Hang Wu and Kelvin Koh.

Other Taxes: Trusts
Guides on taxes relating to trusts.

Public Trustee
Information on services provided by the Public Trustee which include the administration of deceased CPF/estate monies and compensation in motor accidents.

Society of Trust and Estate Practitioners (STEP)
Information about STEP Singapore, a global organisation that provides support to the fiduciary services businesses, associated with trusts and estates.

Resource Librarian

Profile Photo
Lee Su-Lin
Contact:
C J Koh Law Library
469D Bukit Timah Road, Singapore 259773
+65 6516 2042
Website
Subjects: Law