Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian
Have a question about your research? Email the Library to get answers.
ILLiad - Go Global
Need an article we don't own? Need a book that is not available at NUS? Request through ILLiad!
Find It! @ NUS Libraries
This will help you install a tool that allows you to use Google Scholar effectively to find fulltext articles in NUS Libraries.
Amazing tool that connects you with NUS E-journals and other resources when you are searching the Web.
Need answers to common questions? Search the Library FAQ.
Alexander Street Press
Stream documentaries and films from Alexander Street Press. This database includes the Filmakers Library Online and the Asian Film Online collections.
Kanopy provides educational institutions access to one of the largest collections of films in the world – including award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases – on every topic imaginable.
Key Resources in Anthropology
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) The International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. It provides cross-disciplinary coverage across the social sciences, focused on four primary subject areas: anthropology, economics, political science and sociology.
Coverage: 1951 - current
Web of Science
One of the largest multidisciplinary index covering literature from sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. It indexes scholarly journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents. It offers the option to find the Hot and Highly Cited papers, the most impactful papers within a subject field.
Academic Search Complete
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Indexes journal articles on all aspects of the nature and use of language. Includes book reviews.
Proquest Social Sciences Databases
Comprehensive search of 19 social sciences-focused databases, including: Sociological Abstracts, PILOTS, Periodicals Index Online, PAIS International, LLBA and more.
Social Sciences Abstracts
Covers 625 of the most important English-language journals across all the social sciences, including full text of many of them.