Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The purpose of this guide is to recommend article databases, books and other materials for conducting research in Anthropology. Click on the tabs at the top of the page, or the menu to the left to navigate among the sections of this guide to discover useful resources for research in Anthropology. Need help? Ask a Librarian!
image credit:Michel Teiten http://www.mablehome.com
Key Resources in Anthropology
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) The International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. It provides cross-disciplinary coverage across the social sciences, focused on four primary subject areas: anthropology, economics, political science and sociology.
Coverage: 1951 - current
Web of Science
One of the largest multidisciplinary index covering literature from sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. It indexes scholarly journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents. It offers the option to find the Hot and Highly Cited papers, the most impactful papers within a subject field.