Encyclopedia of Anthropology by
The Encyclopedia of Anthropology is an award-winning five-volume set from SAGE Reference, winning Best Reference 2005 from the Library Journal. `The Encyclopedia of Anthropology is a magnificent achievement. It's intelligent, it doesn't shrink from the tough issues, it's very user-friendly and beautifully produced. I really hope it will have a long life as a valued reference work. It certainly deserves to' - The Open Society The Encyclopedia of Anthropology is a unique collection of over 1200 entries that focuses on topics in physical anthropology, archaeology, cultural anthropology, linguistics and applied anthropology. Also included are relevant articles on geology, paleontology, biology, evolution, sociology, psychology, philosophy and theology. The contributions are authored by over 300 internationally renowned experts, professors and scholars from some of the most distinguished museums, universities and institutes in the world. This groundbreaking Encyclopedia is a must-have reference work for any library with collections in anthropology, as well as the natural sciences, social sciences and humanities. It provides students, academics and a wide range of interested readers with a greater understanding of, and deeper appreciation for, those facts, concepts, methods, hypotheses and perspectives that make up modern anthropology and related disciplines. Key themes include: Applied Anthropology Archaeology Biological Anthropology Biology Cultural Anthropology Evolution Geology Linguistics Paleontology Philosophy Physical Anthropology Psychology Social Anthropology Sociology Theology Theoretical Frameworks
21st Century Anthropology by
A Reference Handbook highlights the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates any student obtaining a degree in the field of anthropology ought to have mastered for effectiveness in the 21st century.
Readings for A history of anthropological theory by
This comprehensive anthology offers over 40 readings that are critical to the understanding of anthropological theory and the development of anthropology as an academic discipline. The fifth edition of this popular theory reader maintains a strong foundation in both classical and contemporary anthropological theory with a sharpened focus on gender and anthropology, and the anthropology of new media and technology. Short introductions and key terms accompany every reading, and light annotations have been added to aid students. Used on its own, or together with the overview text A History of Anthropological Theory, Fifth Edition, this anthology offers a flexible and unrivaled introduction to anthropological theory that reflects not only the history, but also the changing nature, of the discipline today.
Doing ethnographic and observational research by 
Ethnographic Fieldwork by
Ethnographic Fieldwork: An Anthropological Reader provides a comprehensive selection of classic and contemporary reflections, examining the tensions between self and other, the relationships between anthropologists and informants, conflicts and ethical challenges, various types of ethnographic research, and different styles of writing about fieldwork. Discusses fieldwork in general, as opposed to its formal methods Presents a good sense of the historical and conceptual development of fieldwork as the predominant methodological approach of social and cultural anthropology Includes introductory chapter and 38 leading articles on ethnographic fieldwork in cultural anthropology, organized around ten themes - Beginnings; Fieldwork Identity; Fieldwork Relations and Rapport; The Other Talks Back; Conflicts, Hazards, and Dangers in Fieldwork; Ethics; Multi-Sited Fieldwork; Sensorial Fieldwork; Reflexive Ethnography; and Fictive Fieldwork and Fieldwork Novels.
Demarginalizing voices : commitment, emotion, and action in qualitative research by
Numerous books explore the "how to" of qualitative research, but few discuss what it means to actually engage in it. In Demarginalizing Voices, scholars share personal stories about their research with marginalized populations, including Aboriginal peoples, sex workers, the dead and the dying, the imprisoned or recently released, and the homeless and hospitalized. They address issues of activism, emotional attachment, and the challenges of adopting innovative methods within the constraints of ethics review boards. These powerful accounts from the cutting-edge of qualitative research not only create a space in academia that centres marginalized voices, they open up the field to new debates and discussion.
Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology by
This is the only encyclopedia of social and cultural anthropology to cover fully the many important areas of overlap between anthropology and related disciplines.
Biographical Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology by
The Biographical Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology contains almost six hundred individually-signed entries from a global team of contributors and offers an important, and fascinating overview of the historical and contemporary reach of anthropological research.
Encyclopedia of World Cultures by
Lists and describes more than 1,500 global cultures. Source for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually every existing culture.
Handbook of Methods in Cultural Anthropology by
A newer edition of this book is available. See the new edition's page at the following address: https: //rowman.com/ISBN/9780759120709 The Handbook of Methods in Cultural Anthropology establishes a benchmark for synthesizing anthropological research practices over the past 100 years. Avoiding the divisive debates over science and humanism, the authors contributing to this important volume draw upon both traditions to define and describe anthropological fieldwork in practice. Authored by 27 of the leaders in the discipline, these chapters provide the reader with comprehensive, contemporary descriptions of the methods that anthropologists use, the logic behind them, and the complex problems that field research with humans entails. In addition to traditional participant observation and related strategies, the Handbook examines historical methods, surveys, linguistic methods, comparative research, social intervention, and visual anthropology as ways in which anthropologists seek to understand the world. Related questions of research strategies and designs, ethics, epistemology, and presentation of anthropological results round out the volume. This is an essential reference tool for all academic, professional and graduate-level anthropologists, and will also be of inestimable value to other social researchers who use field methods in their work.
The SAGE Dictionary of Cultural Studies by
Containing more than 200 entries on key concepts and theorists, the Dictionary provides an unparalleled guide to the terrain of cultural studies. The definitions are authoritative, stimulating and written in an accessible style. There are up-to-date entries on new concepts and innovative approaches.
Theory in Social and Cultural Anthropology by
Social and cultural anthropology and archaeology are rich subjects with deep connections in the social and physical sciences. Over the past 150 years, the subject matter and different theoretical perspectives have expanded so greatly that no single individual can command all of it. Consequently, both advanced students and professionals may be confronted with theoretical positions and names of theorists with whom they are only partially familiar, if they have heard of them at all. Students, in particular, are likely to turn to the web to find quick background information on theorists and theories. However, most web-based information is inaccurate and/or lacks depth. Students and professionals need a source to provide a quick overview of a particular theory and theorist with just the basics--the "who, what, where, how, and why," if you will. In response, SAGE Reference plans to publish the two-volume Theory in Social and Cultural Anthropology: An Encyclopedia. Features & Benefits: Two volumes containing approximately 335 signed entries provide users with the most authoritative and thorough reference resource available on anthropology theory, both in terms of breadth and depth of coverage. To ease navigation between and among related entries, a Reader's Guide groups entries thematically and each entry is followed by Cross-References. In the electronic version, the Reader's Guide combines with the Cross-References and a detailed Index to provide robust search-and-browse capabilities. An appendix with a Chronology of Anthropology Theory allows students to easily chart directions and trends in thought and theory from early times to the present. Suggestions for Further Reading at the end of each entry and a Master Bibliography at the end guide readers to sources for more detailed research and discussion.
The Cambridge Companion to Historical Archaeology by
The Cambridge Companion to Historical Archaeology provides an overview of the international field of historical archaeology (c.AD 1500 to the present) through seventeen specially-commissioned essays from leading researchers in the field. The volume explores key themes in historical archaeology including documentary archaeology, the writing of historical archaeology, colonialism, capitalism, industrial archaeology, maritime archaeology, cultural resource management and urban archaeology. Three special sections explore the distinctive contributions of material culture studies, landscape archaeology and the archaeology of buildings and the household. Drawing on case studies from North America, Europe, Australasia, Africa and around the world, the volume captures the breadth and diversity of contemporary historical archaeology, considers archaeology's relationship with history, cultural anthropology and other periods of archaeological study, and provides clear introductions to alternative conceptions of the field. This book is essential reading for anyone studying or researching the material remains of the recent past.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Hunters and Gatherers by
Hunting and gathering peoples, including Kalahari Bushmen, Australian aborigines, Eskimos, and Pygmies, are the subject of endless appeal. This illustrated reference volume is the first devoted exclusively to hunting and gathering peoples that is both accessible to the nonspecialist and written by leading scholars. It is a state-of-the-art summary of knowledge on the subject, covering an extraordinary range of materials: case studies of over fifty of the world's hunter-gatherers, the archaeological background, religion and world view, music and art, questions of gender, health and nutrition, and contemporary rights.
The international encyclopedia of biological anthropology by
The International Encyclopedia of Biological Anthropology features over 450 entries contributed by an international team of scholars, and presents an extensive and invaluable survey of this fascinating field. The Encyclopedia: Represents the first comprehensive encyclopedic reference relating to biological anthropology Features more than 450 entries covering topics ranging from ongoing human evolution, paleoanthropology, and non-human primates to paleopathology, forensic anthropology, and bioarchaeology Includes interdisciplinary coverage of primatology, human biology, paleoanthropology, bioarchaeology, anthropological genetics, and the history of biological anthropology An indispensable resource for undergraduate students and scholars engaged in the study and practice of biological anthropology and interrelated fields and disciplines.
History of Physical Anthropology by
The first encyclopedic history of physical anthropology, the comparative study of humans as biological organisms, their evolution, and their physiological and anatomical functions.
Evaluating Evidence in Biological Anthropology by
Biological anthropology is a diverse field, with countless research methods and techniques in different sub-disciplines. This book takes a critical perspective to the current state of the field, exploring theory and practice in paleoanthropology, bioarchaeology, and ecology. Contributors challenge how evidence is discovered, collected and interpreted, and explain that researchers gain insights by de-familiarizing themselves from well-known methods and taking a different perspective - 'making the familiar strange'. The book covers how researchers' biases and assumptions affect the interpretation of topics such as human evolution and population movements; race, health, and disability; bodies and embodiment; and landscapes and ecology. A final chapter includes a critical assessment of new thinking about technology, in addition to the multilayered and complex nature of both research questions and evidence. This is an insightful text for researchers and graduate students in anthropology, biology, ecology, history and philosophy of science.
A Companion to the Anthropology of Death by
A thought-provoking examination of death, dying, and the afterlife Prominent scholars present their most recent work about mortuary rituals, grief and mourning, genocide, cyclical processes of life and death, biomedical developments, and the materiality of human corpses in this unique and illuminating book. Interrogating our most common practices surrounding death, the authors ask such questions as: How does the state wrest away control over the dead from bereaved relatives? Why do many mourners refuse to cut their emotional ties to the dead and nurture lasting bonds? Is death a final condition or can human remains acquire agency? The book is a refreshing reassessment of these issues and practices, a source of theoretical inspiration in the study of death. With contributions written by an international team of experts in their fields, A Companion to the Anthropology of Death is presented in six parts and covers such subjects as: Governing the Dead in Guatemala; After Death Communications (ADCs) in North America; Cryonic Suspension in the Secular A≥ Blood and Organ Donation in China; The Fragility of Biomedici≠ and more. A Companion to the Anthropology of Death is a comprehensive and accessible volume and an ideal resource for senior undergraduate and graduate students in courses such as Anthropology of Death, Medical Anthropology, Anthropology of Violence, Anthropology of the Body, and Political Anthropology. Written by leading international scholars in their fields A comprehensive survey of the most recent empirical research in the anthropology of death A fundamental critique of the early 20th century founding fathers of the anthropology of death Cross-cultural texts from tribal and industrial societies The collection is of interest to anyone concerned with the consequences of the state and massive violence on life and death
A Handbook of Economic Anthropology by
The first edition of this unique Handbook was praised for its substantial and invaluable summary discussions of work by anthropologists on economic processes and issues, on the relationship between economic and non-economic areas of life and on the concep
Economic Anthropology by
This book is a new introduction to the history and practice of economic anthropology by two leading authors in the field. They show that anthropologists have contributed to understanding the three great questions of modern economic history: development, socialism and one-world capitalism. In doing so, they connect economic anthropology to its roots in Western philosophy, social theory and world history. Up to the Second World War anthropologists tried and failed to interest economists in their exotic findings. They then launched a vigorous debate over whether an approach taken from economics was appropriate to the study of non-industrial economies. Since the 1970s, they have developed a critique of capitalism based on studying it at home as well as abroad. The authors aim to rejuvenate economic anthropology as a humanistic project at a time when the global financial crisis has undermined confidence in free market economics. They argue for the continued relevance of predecessors such as Marcel Mauss and Karl Polanyi, while offering an incisive review of recent work in this field. Economic Anthropology is an excellent introduction for social science students at all levels, and it presents general readers with a challenging perspective on the world economy today. Selected by Choice as a 2013 Outstanding Academic Title
Environmental Anthropology by
Environmental Anthropology: A Reader is a collection ofhistorically significant readings, dating from early in thetwentieth century up to the present, on the cross-cultural study ofrelations between people and their environment. Provides the historical perspective that is typically missingfrom recent work in environmental anthropology Includes an extensive intellectual history and commentary bythe volume?s editors Offers a unique perspective on current interest incross-cultural environmental relations Divided into five thematic sections: (1) the nature/culturedivide; (2) relationship between environment and socialorganization; (3) methodological debates and innovations; (4)politics and practice; and (5) epistemological issues ofenvironmental anthropology Organized into a series of paired papers, which?speak? to each other, designed to encourage readers tomake connections that they might not customarily make
Environmental anthropology : future directions by
This volume presents new theoretical approaches, methodologies, subject pools, and topics in the field of environmental anthropology. Environmental anthropologists are increasingly focusing on self-reflection - not just on themselves and their impacts on environmental research, but also on the reflexive qualities of their subjects, and the extent to which these individuals are questioning their own environmental behavior. Here, contributors confront the very notion of "natural resources" in granting non-human species their subjectivity and arguing for deeper understanding of "nature," and "wilderness" beyond the label of "ecosystem services." By engaging in interdisciplinary efforts, these anthropologists present new ways for their colleagues, subjects, peers and communities to understand the causes of, and alternatives to environmental destruction. This book demonstrates that environmental anthropology has moved beyond the construction of rural, small group theory, entering into a mode of solution-based methodologies and interdisciplinary theories for understanding human-environmental interactions. It is focused on post-rural existence, health and environmental risk assessment, on the realm of alternative actions, and emphasizes the necessary steps towards preventing environmental crisis.
Routledge Handbook of Environmental Anthropology by
Environmental Anthropology studies historic and present human-environment interactions. This volume illustrates the ways in which today's environmental anthropologists are constructing new paradigms for understanding the multiplicity of players, pressures, and ecologies in every environment, and the value of cultural knowledge of landscapes. This Handbook provides a comprehensive survey of contemporary topics in environmental anthropology and thorough discussions on the current state and prospective future of the field in seven key sections. As the contributions to this Handbook demonstrate, the subfield of environmental anthropology is responding to cultural adaptations and responses to environmental changes in multiple and complex ways. As a discipline concerned primarily with human-environment interaction, environmental anthropologists recognize that we are now working within a pressure cooker of rapid environmental damage that is forcing behavioural and often cultural changes around the world. As we see in the breadth of topics presented in this volume, these environmental challenges have inspired renewed foci on traditional topics such as food procurement, ethnobiology, and spiritual ecology; and a broad new range of subjects, such as resilience, nonhuman rights, architectural anthropology, industrialism, and education. This volume enables scholars and students quick access to both established and trending environmental anthropological explorations into theory, methodology and practice.
The Anthropology of Climate Change by
This timely anthology brings together for the first time the most important ancient, medieval, Enlightenment, and modern scholarship for a complete anthropological evaluation of the relationship between culture and climate change. Brings together for the first time the most important classical works and contemporary scholarship for a complete historical anthropological evaluation of the relationship between culture and climate change Covers the historic and prehistoric records of human impact from and response to prior periods of climate change, including the impact and response to climate change at the local level Discusses the impact on global debates about climate change from North-South post-colonial histories and the social dimensions of the science of climate change. Includes coverage of topics such as environmental determinism, climatic events as social catalysts, climatic disasters and societal collapse, and ethno-meteorology An ideal text for courses in climate change, human/cultural ecology, environmental anthropology and archaeology, disaster studies, environmental sciences, science and technology studies, history of science, and conservation and development studies
Ethnomusicology : a research and information guide by
First published in 2011. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Modeling Ethnomusicology by
Ethnomusicology is an academic discipline with a very broad mandate: to understand why and how human beings are musical through the study of music in all its geographical and historical diversity. Ethnomusicological scholarship, however, has been remiss in articulating such goals, methods, andtheories. A renowned figure in the field, Timothy Rice is one of the few scholars to regularly address this problem. In this volume, he offers a compilation of essays drawn from across his career that finds implicit and yet largely unrecognized patterns unifying ethnomusicology over its recenthistory.Modeling Ethnomusicology summarizes thirty years of thinking about the field of ethnomusicology as Rice frames and reframes the content of eight of his most important essays from their original context in relation to the environment of today's ethnomusicology. Rice proposes a variety of models meantto guide students and researchers in their study of ethnomusicology. Some of these models pull together disparate strands of the field, while others propose heuristic models that generate questions for researchers as they plan and conduct their research. A new introduction to these essays reviewsthe history of his writing about ethnomusicology and proposes an innovative model for theorizing in ethnomusicology by ethnomusicologists. This book will be an enduring, essential text in undergraduate and graduate ethnomusicology classrooms, as well as a must-buy for established scholars in thefield.
Living Ethnomusicology by
Ethnomusicologists have journeyed from Bali to Morocco to the depths of Amazonia to chronicle humanity's relationship with music. Margaret Sarkissian and Ted Solís guide us into the field's last great undiscovered country: ethnomusicology itself. Drawing on fieldwork based on person-to-person interaction, the editors provide a first-ever ethnography of the discipline. The unique collaborations produce an ambitious exploration of ethnomusicology's formation, evolution, practice, and unique identity. In particular, the subjects discuss their early lives and influences and trace their varied career trajectories. They also draw on their own experiences to offer reflections on all aspects of the field. Pursuing practitioners not only from diverse backgrounds and specialties but from different eras, Sarkissian and Solís illuminate the many trails ethnomusicologists have blazed in the pursuit of knowledge. A bountiful resource on history and practice, Living Ethnomusicology is an enlightening intellectual exploration of an exotic academic culture.
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by 
The Handbook of Food and Anthropology by
Interest in the anthropology of food has grown significantly in recent years. This is the first handbook to provide a detailed overview of all major areas of the field. Twenty original essays by leading figures in the discipline examine traditional areas of research as well as cutting-edge areas of inquiry. Divided into three parts - Food, Self and Others; Food Security, Nutrition and Food Safety; Food as Craft, Industry and Ethics - the book covers topics such as identity, commensality, locality, migration, ethical consumption, artisanal foods, and children's food. Each chapter features rich ethnography alongside wider analysis of the subject. Internationally renowned scholars offer insights into their core areas of specialty. Examples include Michael Herzfeld on culinary stereotypes, David Sutton on how to conduct an anthropology of cooking, Johan Pottier on food insecurity, and Melissa Caldwell on practicing food anthropology. The book also features exceptional geographic and cultural diversity, with chapters on South Asia, South Africa, the United States of America, post-socialist societies, Maoist China, and Muslim and Jewish foodways. Invaluable as a reference as well as for teaching, The Handbook of Food and Anthropology serves to define this increasingly important field. An essential resource for researchers and students in anthropology and food studies.
Anthropology of Food and Body by
The Anthropology of Food and Bodyexplores the way that making, eating, and thinking about food reveal culturally determined gender-power relations in diverse societies. This book brings feminist and anthropological theories to bear on these provocative issues and will interest anyone investigating the relationship between food, the body, and cultural notions of gender.
Encyclopedia of Food by
"This stunning source explores the nutritional and cultural impact of food, with articles written by anthropologists, chefs, food historians, nutritionists, agronomists, food stylists, and other food researches. The well-written and informative entries cover the history of regional cuisines, major festivals and feasts, and general subjects that examine the cultural, sociological, and psychological perspectives of food. Encyclopedia of Food and Culture will be a classic for years to come."--"The Top 20 Reference Titles of the Year," American Libraries, May 2004.
First farmers : the origins of agricultural societies by
First Farmers: the Origins of Agricultural Societies offers readers an understanding of the origins and histories of early agricultural populations in all parts of the world. Uses data from archaeology, comparative linguistics, and biological anthropology to cover developments over the past 12,000 years Examines the reasons for the multiple primary origins of agriculture Focuses on agricultural origins in and dispersals out of the Middle East, central Africa, China, New Guinea, Mesoamerica and the northern Andes Covers the origins and dispersals of major language families such as Indo-European, Austronesian, Sino-Tibetan, Niger-Congo and Uto-Aztecan
Feminist Anthropology by
Feminist Anthropology surveys the history of feminist anthropology and offers students and scholars a fascinating collection of both classic and contemporary articles, grouped to highlight key themes from the past and present. Offers vibrant examples of feminist ethnographic work rather than synthetic overviews of the field. Each section is framed by a theoretical and bibliographic essay. Includes a thoughtful introduction to the volume that provides context and discusses the intellectual "foremothers" of the field, including Margaret Mead, Ruth Landes, Phyllis Kaberry, and Zora Neale Hurston.
Gender and Anthropology by
The history of the study of gender in anthropology -- Analyzing theories -- The evolutionary orientation -- The materialist orientation -- The psychological orientation -- Structuralist approaches -- Discourse analysis: poststructural and sociolinguistic orientations -- The self-reflexive approach and the postcolonial critique -- Gender and anthropology in a global world.
Mapping Feminist Anthropology in the Twenty-First Century by
Feminist anthropology emerged in the 1970s as a much-needed corrective to the discipline's androcentric biases. Far from being a marginalized subfield, it has been at the forefront of developments that have revolutionized not only anthropology, but also a host of other disciplines. This landmark collection of essays provides a contemporary overview of feminist anthropology's historical and theoretical origins, the transformations it has undergone, and the vital contributions it continues to make to cutting-edge scholarship. Mapping Feminist Anthropology in the Twenty-First Century brings together a variety of contributors, giving a voice to both younger researchers and pioneering scholars who offer insider perspectives on the field's foundational moments. Some chapters reveal how the rise of feminist anthropology shaped--and was shaped by--the emergence of fields like women's studies, black and Latina studies, and LGBTQ studies. Others consider how feminist anthropologists are helping to frame the direction of developing disciplines like masculinity studies, affect theory, and science and technology studies. Spanning the globe--from India to Canada, from Vietnam to Peru--Mapping Feminist Anthropology in the Twenty-First Century reveals the important role that feminist anthropologists have played in worldwide campaigns against human rights abuses, domestic violence, and environmental degradation. It also celebrates the work they have done closer to home, helping to explode the developed world's preconceptions about sex, gender, and sexuality.
The Masculinity Studies Reader by
The Masculinity Studies Reader brings together widely-read and -cited work by key theorists in a new context that is intended simultaneously to establish the contours of and to raise questions about masculinity as a field of academic inquiry.
Archives of sexuality & gender: LGBTQ history and culture since 1940 by Defining gender, 1450-1910 by 
The International Encyclopedia of Human Sexuality by
This Encyclopedia is a comprehensive A-Z reference with over 500 entries that define sexuality from a broad biocultural perspective and show the diversity of human sexual behavior and belief systems. * Contains entries ranging from short definitions of scientific, clinical, cultural, and colloquial terms to extended explorations of major concepts * Covers 13 key areas of content, from clinical medicine and body modification to the language of sexuality and the history of sexology * Serves as an essential resource for students, scholars, and researchers with contributions from an international team of top scholars and practitioners 3 Volumes www.encyclopediaofhumansexuality.com
Sex : ethnographic encounters by
Focusing on the unacknowledged, personal and often unconscious dimension, Sex explores the intersection between sex and ethnography. Anthropological writing tends to focus on the influence of status markers such as position, gender, ethnicity, and age on fieldwork. By contrast, far less attention has been paid to how sex, sexuality, eroticism, desire, attraction, and rejection affect ethnographic research. In the book, anthropologists reflect on their own encounters with sex during fieldwork, revealing how attraction and desire influence the choice of fieldwork subjects, field sites and friendships. They also examine the resulting impact on fieldwork findings and the generation of knowledge. Based on fieldwork in Germany, Denmark, Greece, the USA, Brazil, South Africa, Singapore, Turkey, Israel, Morocco, and India, the contributors go beyond the common heterosexuality/homosexuality divide to address topics which include celibacy, polyamory and sadomasochism. This long overdue text provides perspectives from a new generation of anthropologists and brings the debate into the 21st century. Examining challenging and controversial issues in contemporary fieldwork, this is essential reading for students in anthropology, gender and sexuality studies, sociology, research methods, and ethics courses.
The Anthropology of Sex by
Sexual cultures vary enormously and, while often the subject of tabloid titillation, they are only rarely subjected to strict cultural analysis. Accessible and highly engaging, The Anthropology of Sex is the first work to critically synthesise over a century of comparative expertise, knowledge and understanding of diverse sexual forms. It explores sexuality from diversity to perversity, analyses the relationship between sex as identity, practice and experience through a wide range of case material - from studies of voyeuristic Victorian gentlemen ethnographers to more recent analyses of gay sex and transexualism - and examines the shaping of sex by global forces in the contemporary world. It will be key reading for undergraduate or postgraduate courses in anthropology. 'This excellent book brings together cutting edge theory with a wide range of ethnographic evidence. It is a fascinating account of sexuality and all its many facets, raising issues of power, pleasure, taboo and more. An intriguing and engrossing read.' Heather Montgomery, Senior Lecturer in Childhood Studies, The Open University 'This volume not only brings sex - finally - into the centre of a discipline concerned with the different ways that people deal with the basics of human life, it is also a perfect combination of cross-cultural comparison and fieldwork examples at its best.' Dieter Haller, Chair for Social Anthropology, Ruhr-Universitat Bochum
Sex & sexuality by 
A Companion to Linguistic Anthropology by
A Companion to Linguistic Anthropology provides a series of in-depth explorations of key concepts and approaches by some of the scholars whose work constitutes the theoretical and methodological foundations of the contemporary study of language as culture. Provides a definitive overview of the field of linguistic anthropology, comprised of original contributions by leading scholars in the field Summarizes past and contemporary research across the field and is intended to spur students and scholars to pursue new paths in the coming decades Includes a comprehensive bibliography of over 2000 entries designed as a resource for anyone seeking a guide to the literature of linguistic anthropology
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics by
The first edition of ELL (1993, Ron Asher, Editor) was hailed as "the field's standard reference work for a generation". Now the all-new second edition matches ELL's comprehensiveness and high quality, expanded for a new generation, while being the first encyclopedia to really exploit the multimedia potential of linguistics. * The most authoritative, up-to-date, comprehensive, and international reference source in its field * An entirely new work, with new editors, new authors, new topics and newly commissioned articles with a handful of classic articles * The first Encyclopedia to exploit the multimedia potential of linguistics through the online edition * Ground-breaking and International in scope and approach * Alphabetically arranged with extensive cross-referencing * Available in print and online, priced separately. The online version will include updates as subjects develop ELL2 includes: * c. 7,500,000 words * c. 11,000 pages * c. 3,000 articles * c. 1,500 figures: 130 halftones and 150 colour * Supplementary audio, video and text files online * c. 3,500 glossary definitions * c. 39,000 references * Extensive list of commonly used abbreviations * List of languages of the world (including information on no. of speakers, language family, etc.) * Approximately 700 biographical entries (now includes contemporary linguists) * 200 language maps in print and online Also available online via ScienceDirect - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. For more information, pricing options and availability visit www.info.sciencedirect.com.
Linguistic Anthropology by
Linguistic Anthropology: A Reader is a comprehensive collection of the best work that has been published in this exciting and growing area of anthropology, and is organized to provide a guide to key issues in the study of language as a cultural resource and speaking as a cultural practice. Revised and updated, this second edition contains eight new articles on key subjects, including speech communities, the power and performance of language, and narratives Selections are both historically oriented and thematically coherent, and are accessibly grouped according to four major themes: speech community and communicative competence; the performance of language; language socialization and literacy practices; and the power of language An extensive introduction provides an original perspective on the development of the field and highlights its most compelling issues Each section includes a brief introductory statement, sets of guiding questions, and list of recommended readings on the main topics
Living language : an introduction to linguistic anthropology by
Revised and updated, the 2nd Edition of Living Language: An Introduction to Linguistic Anthropology presents an accessible introduction to the study of language in real-life social contexts around the world through the contemporary theory and practice of linguistic anthropology. Presents a highly accessible introduction to the study of language in real-life social contexts around the world Combines classic studies on language and cutting-edge contemporary scholarship and assumes no prior knowledge in linguistics or anthropology Features a series of updates and revisions for this new edition, including an all-new chapter on forms of nonverbal language Provides a unifying synthesis of current research and considers future directions for the field
A Companion to Medical Anthropology by
A Companion to Medical Anthropology examines the current issues, controversies, and state of the field in medical anthropology today. Provides an expert view of the major topics and themes to concern the discipline since its founding in the 1960s Written by leading international scholars in medical anthropology Covers environmental health, global health, biotechnology, syndemics, nutrition, substance abuse, infectious disease, and sexuality and reproductive health, and other topics
Medical anthropology : a biocultural approach by
Medical Anthropology: A Biocultural Approach, Third Edition, offers an accessible and contemporary overview of this rapidly expanding field. For each health issue examined in the text, the authors first present basic biological information and then expand their analysis to include evolutionary, historical, and cross-cultural perspectives on how these issues emerged and are understood. Medical Anthropology considers how a biocultural approach can be applied to more effective prevention and treatment efforts and underscores medical anthropology's potential to improve health around the world.
Introducing Medical Anthropology by
The third edition of Introducing Medical Anthropology: A Discipline in Action, provides students with a first exposure to the growing field of medical and health anthropology. The narrative is guided by unifying themes. First, health-oriented anthropologists are very involved in the process of helping, to varying degrees, to change the world around them through their work in applied projects, policy initiatives, and advocacy. Second, the authors present the fundamental importance of culture and social relationships in health and illness by demonstrating that illness and disease involve complex biosocial processes and that resolving them requires attention to a range of factors beyond biology. Third, through an examination of the issue of health inequality, this book underlines the need for an analysis that moves beyond cultural or even ecological models of health toward a comprehensive biosocial approach. Such an approach integrates biological, cultural, and social factors in building unified theoretical understandings of the origin of ill health, while contributing to the building of effective and equitable national health-care systems. NEW TO THIS EDITION All chapter have been updated or expanded. New Organization oThe former chapter 6, Health Disparity, Health Inequality, is now chapter 4 oThe former chapter 7, Health and the Environment: Toward a Healthier World, is now chapter 5 oThe former chapter 4, Ethnomedicine: The Worlds of Treatment and Healing, is now chapter 6 oThe former chapter 5, Plural Medical Systems: Complexity, Complementarity, and Conflict, is now chapter 7 oNEW: Chapter 8, The Biopolitics of Life: Biotechnology, Biocapital, and Bioethics
Anthropology and Political Science by
What can anthropology and political science learn from each other? The authors argue that collaboration, particularly in the area of concepts and methodologies, is tremendously beneficial for both disciplines, though they also deal with some troubling aspects of the relationship. Focusing on the influence of anthropology on political science, the book examines the basic assumptions the practitioners of each discipline make about the nature of social and political reality, compares some of the key concepts each field employs, and provides an extensive review of the basic methods of research that "bridge" both disciplines: ethnography and case study. Through ethnography (participant observation), reliance on extended case studies, and the use of "anthropological" concepts and sensibilities, a greater understanding of some of the most challenging issues of the day can be gained. For example, political anthropology challenges the illusion of the "autonomy of the political" assumed by political science to characterize so-called modern societies. Several chapters include a cross-disciplinary analysis of key concepts and issues: political culture, political ritual, the politics of collective identity, democratization in divided societies, conflict resolution, civil society, and the politics of post-Communist transformations.
The Anthropology of Development and Globalization by
The Anthropology of Development and Globalization is acollection of readings that provides an unprecedented overview ofthis field that ranges from the field?s classical origins totoday?s debates about the ?magic? of the freemarket. Explores the foundations of the anthropology of development, afield newly animated by theories of globalization andtransnationalism Framed by an encyclopedic introduction that will proveindispensable to students and experts alike Includes readings ranging from Weber and Marx and Engels tocontemporary works on the politics of development knowledge,consumption, environment, gender, international NGO networks, theIMF, campaigns to reform the World Bank, the collapse of socialism,and the limits of ?post-developmentalism? Fills a crucial gap in the literature by mingling historical,cultural, political, and economic perspectives on development andglobalization Present a wide range of theoretical approaches and topics
Handbook of Political Anthropology by
This ground-breaking collection introduces readers to the fascinating research field of political anthropology. The chapters engage in major theoretical and methodological debates to provide interpretive frames, analytical tools and ethnographic illustrations for culturally based interpretations of political phenomena, revealing the intersection between anthropology, culture, politics and international relations. Theoretical tools such as liminality, sacrifice, mimesis, ethics, trickster and interpretation of meaning provide understanding of key challenges in a globalised world. These include war zones, revolutions, migration, securitization, territorial borders, climate change and ethno-religious violence. The contributing authors focus on the ethnographies of power, political culture and forms of cultural intimacy in informal networks. Using self-critical and reflexive approaches, they show that disciplinary boundaries have been reshaped by changing meanings of power, including reconfigurations of state and sovereignty. With reflections on the potential and limits of political anthropology, this Handbook explores the art of understanding human interaction within political frameworks in a globalising world. Offering a unique reference resource in the area with exceptional cross-disciplinary research, this Handbook will suit political, social and cultural anthropologists as well as scholars in comparative political analysis and social theory. Students and researchers of politics, anthropology and international relations will also benefit from the key methodological tools explaining the challenges and consequences of globalisation.
Political Anthropology by
In Political Anthropology (originally published in 1931 as Macht und menschliche Natur), Helmuth Plessner considers whether politics--conceived as the struggle for power between groups, nations, and states--belongs to the essence of the human. Building on and complementing ideas from his Levels of the Organic and the Human (1928), Plessner proposes a genealogy of political life and outlines an anthropological foundation of the political. In critical dialogue with thinkers such as Carl Schmitt, Eric Voegelin, and Martin Heidegger, Plessner argues that the political relationships cultures entertain with one other, their struggle for acknowledgement and assertion, are expressions of certain possibilities of the openness and unfathomability of the human. Translated into English for the first time, and accompanied by an introduction and an epilogue that situate Plessner's thinking both within the context of Weimar-era German political and social thought and within current debates, this succinct book should be of great interest to philosophers, political theorists, and sociologists interested in questions of power and the foundations of the political.
Psychological Anthropology by
Psychological Anthropology: A Reader in Self in Culture presents a selection of readings from recent and classical literature with a rich diversity of insights into the individual and society. Presents the latest psychological research from a variety of global cultures Sheds new light on historical continuities in psychological anthropology Explores the cultural relativity of emotional experience and moral concepts among diverse peoples, the Freudian influence and recent psychoanalytic trends in anthropology Addresses childhood and the acquisition of culture, an ethnographic focus on the self as portrayed in ritual and healing, and how psychological anthropology illuminates social change
A Companion to Psychological Anthropology by
This Companion provides the first definitive overview of psychocultural anthropology: a subject that focuses on cultural, psychological, and social interrelations across cultures. Brings together original essays by leading scholars in the field Offers an in-depth exploration of the concepts and topics that have emerged through contemporary ethnographic work and the processes of global change Key issues range from studies of consciousness and time, emotion, cognition, dreaming, and memory, to the lingering effects of racism and ethnocentrism, violence, identity and subjectivity
Advances in Culture Theory from Psychological Anthropology by
This edited volume provides a long-overdue synthesis of the current directions in culture theory and represents some of the very best in ongoing research. Here, culture theory is rendered as a jigsaw puzzle: the book identifies where current research fits together, the as yet missing pieces, and the straight edges that frame the bigger picture. These framing ideas are two: Roy D’Andrade’s concept of lifeworlds—adapted from phenomenology yet groundbreaking in its own right—and new thinking about internalization, a concept much used in anthropology but routinely left unpacked. At its heart, this book is an incisive, insightful collection of contributions which will surely guide and support those who seek to further the study of culture.
Anthropology of Religion by
Anthropology of Religion: The Basics is an accessible and engaging introductory text organized around key issues that all anthropologists of religion face. This book uses a wide range of historical and ethnographic examples to address not only what is studied by anthropologists of religion, but how such studies are approached. It addresses questions such as: How do human agents interact with gods and spirits? What is the nature of doing religious ethnography? Can the immaterial be embodied in the body, language and material objects? What is the role of ritual, time, and place in religion? Why is charisma important for religious movements? How do global processes interact with religions? With international case studies from a range of religious traditions, suggestions for further reading, and inventive reflection boxes, Anthropology of Religion: The Basics is an essential read for students approaching the subject for the first time.
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World by
The second edition of this well-received two-volume study of Islam updates and adds to its predecessor 40 percent new content. It updates and revises most of the original 500+ entries and adds new topics to reflect changes in the Muslim world since 2004, from the emergence/re-emergence of Islamic regimes to challenges to the rule of religious leaders (Iran), to continuing instability across North Africa and the Middle East. The set will build on the first edition's approach to this still-growing religion: documenting and analyzing its history, as well as its doctrinal, legal, social, and spiritual tenets, while assessing its influence on all areas of human activity in the regions where it is most established--the Middle East, Africa, Asia, Europe, and the Americas. KEY FEATURES: Most up-to-date Analyses. The ever-growing numbers of students matriculating in disciplines connected to the teaching and understanding of Islam need accurate, current information on this religion and its impact on the world. Balanced Coverage. Rich historical content is partnered with coverage of the issues, countries, and people that are important in today's world, allowing for an assessment of Islam's influence on all areas of human activity throughout the Middle East, Africa, Asia, Europe, and the Americas Fully Updated Content. More than 50% new and revised content, including more than 160 new entries and 60 sidebars. Beautifully Illustrated in Full Color. This edition doubles the number of photos and maps from the first edition, all in color. WHAT'S NEW: 286 new/updated entries and sidebars Now in full color More than 360 images, more than double the number of images from the first edition 60 sidebars embedded in larger entries to help readers understand the importance of a person or group in context with a key issue or country. Revamped table of contents includes entries at the forefront of current events, including entries on oil, water rights, social media, and ISIS, as well as greatly expanded coverage of Islam in specific countries.
Anthropology of Religion by
Religion has experienced growing importance in recent years, and interest in the anthropological study of religion has increased as well. This reference book offers a much-needed overview of the most significant topics and concerns in the field. Chapters by expert contributors examine such matters as snake handling, magic and ritual, shamanism, and the role of religion in particular cultures. Chapters contain extensive documentation, and a bibliography concludes the volume. The anthropological study of religion is at a crossroads. While fewer textbooks on the anthropology of religion are published each year and much of what is available is decades old, religion is playing an increasingly prominent role in society. Scholars from many fields are reading anthropological works on religion with great interest, and such works are cited frequently in books and articles in a range of disciplines. Religion has been found in all societies studied by anthropologists and is one of the hallmarks of human creativity. This reference book provides a much-needed overview of the most important topics and trends in the anthropology of religion. Chapters by expert contributors examine the varied manifestations of religion in diverse cultural contexts. Among the topics surveyed are shamanism, snake handling, rituals in particular cultural traditions, religion and altered states of consciousness, and the role of science in religion and anthropology. Chapters contain extensive documentation, and a bibliography concludes the volume.
A Companion to Urban Anthropology by
A Companion to Urban Anthropology presents a collection of original essays from international scholars on key issues in urban anthropology and broader cross-disciplinary urban studies. Features newly commissioned essays from 35 leading international scholars in urban and global studies Includes essays in classic areas of concern to urban anthropologists such as built structures and urban planning, community, security, markets, and race Covers emergent areas in the field including: 21st-century cities borders, citizenship, sustainability, and urban sexualities
Diversity and Local Contexts by
In this book, an international team of urban anthropologists, sociologists, and ethnographers argue that politics, intergroup relations, and development in cities cannot be understood without reference to the local contexts that endow each city with specific characteristics. They also show how local urban economic, social, and cultural lives are influenced by powerful external forces. In these 'glocal' regards, the authors demonstrate how city images, borders, and social processes such as migration, tourism, and local development must be seen in broader contexts. The contributors examine them through the lenses of foreign investment, migration, and history. The volume takes an interdisciplinary approach and employs a range of theoretical perspectives and methodological approaches. Contributors' multidisciplinary expertise and insights about spaces and places are applied to nine unique cities across three continents.
Introducing Urban Anthropology by
This book provides an up-to-date introduction to the important and growing field of urban anthropology. This is an increasingly critical area of study, as more than half of the world's population now lives in cities and anthropological research is increasingly done in an urban context. Exploring contemporary anthropological approaches to the urban, the authors consider: How can we define urban anthropology? What are the main themes of twenty-first century urban anthropological research? What are the possible future directions in the field? The chapters cover topics such as urban mobilities, place-making and public space, production and consumption, politics and governance. These are illustrated by lively case studies drawn from a diverse range of urban settings in the global North and South. Accessible yet theoretically incisive, Introducing Urban Anthropology will be a valuable resource for anthropology students as well as of interest to those working in urban studies and related disciplines such as sociology and geography.
Anthropology of Violence and Conflict by
Anthropology of Violence has only recently developed into a field of research in its own right and as such it is still fairly fragmented. Anthropology of Violence and Conflictseeks to redress this fragmentation and develop a method of cross-cultural analysis. The study of important conflicts, such as wars in Sarajevo, Albania and Sri Lanka as well as numerous less publicised conflicts, all aim to create a theory of violence as cross-culturally applicable as possible. Most importantly this volume uses the anthropology of violence as a tool to help in the possible prevention of violence and conflict in the world today.
Anthropology at the Front Lines of Gender-Based Violence by
Anthropology at the Front Lines of Gender-Based Violence is a broad and accessible volume, with a truly global approach to understanding the lives of front-line workers in women's shelters, anti-violence organizations, and outreach groups. Often written from a first-person perspective, these essays examine government workers, volunteers, and nongovernmental organization employees to present a vital picture of practical approaches to combating gender-based violence.
The Sociology of War and Violence by
War is a highly complex and dynamic form of social conflict. This book demonstrates the importance of using sociological tools to understand the changing character of war and organised violence. The author offers an original analysis of the historical and contemporary impact that coercion and warfare have on the transformation of social life, and vice versa. Although war and violence were decisive components in the formation of modernity most analyses tend to shy away from the sociological study of the gory origins of contemporary social life. In contrast, this book brings the study of organised violence to the fore by providing a wide-ranging sociological analysis that links classical and contemporary theories with specific historical and geographical contexts. Topics covered include violence before modernity, warfare in the modern age, nationalism and war, war propaganda, battlefield solidarity, war and social stratification, gender and organised violence, and the new wars debate.
Afflictions : Steps Toward a Visual Psychological Anthropology by
This book is one of the first to integrate psychological and medical anthropology with the methodologies of visual anthropology, specifically ethnographic film. It discusses and complements the work presented in Afflictions: Culture and Mental Illness in Indonesia, the first film series on psychiatric disorders in the developing world, in order to explore pertinent issues in the cross-cultural study of mental illness and advocate for the unique role film can play both in the discipline and in participants' lives. Through ethnographically rich and self-reflexive discussions of the films, their production, and their impact, the book at once provides theoretical and practical guidance, encouragement, and caveats for students and others who may want to make such films.
Behind the image : research in photography by
Encouraging students to research, reflect and debate, Behind the Image revolutionizes the way new projects are approached by looking at how successful photographers have produced meaningful canons of work. The book's generous selection of images brings together an eclectic range of photographic styles and genres, creating a refreshing and inspiring resource for all. This book features a wide range of photographic contributions from students, amateurs and professionals, specifically edited to help students reflect on their own work in order to produce better images in the future.
A Companion to Film Theory by
This volume of specially commissioned work by experts in the field of film studies provides a comprehensive overview of the field. Its international and interdisciplinary approach will have a broad appeal to those interested in this multifaceted subject. Provides a major collection of specially commissioned work by experts in the field of film studies. Represents material under a variety of headings, including class, race, gender, queer theory, nation, stars, ethnography, authorship, and spectatorship. Offers an international approach to the subject, including coverage of topics such as genre, image, sound, editing, culture industries, early cinema, classical Hollywood, and TV relations and technology. Includes concise chapter-by-chapter accounts of the background and current approaches to each topic, followed by a prognostication on the future. Considers cinema studies in relation to other forms of knowledge, such as critical studies, anthropology, and literature.
Refiguring Techniques in Digital-Visual Research by
This book interrogates how new digital-visual techniques and technologies are being used in emergent configurations of research and intervention. It discusses technological change and technological possibility; theoretical shifts toward processual paradigms; and a respectful ethics of responsibility. The contributors explore how new and evolving digital-visual technologies and techniques have been utilized in the development of research, and reflect on how such theory and practice might advance what is "knowable" in a world of smartphones, drones, and 360-degree cameras.
Video As Method by
Perhaps the greatest strength of choosing video as a method for social research is its flexible and almost limitless potential for gathering, analyzing, writing up, and disseminating the research findings. Understanding the rich potential of video as both method and methodology is a processinextricably linked to epistemological, study design, analysis, and dissemination choices. As technology and media have evolved, video has become a primary tool of presenting information and ideas and a means of culture making. Video as Method provides researchers with a guide to understanding, designing, conducting, and disseminating video-based research, and the rapid proliferation of approaches, uses, and designs now available. In the face of large data sets, and the great range of types and uses of video as aneffective research tool, many researchers struggle to know how best to represent both video-based methodologies and research findings. Anne Harris provides in-depth examples in each chapter, and guides readers step-by-step through the chapter topics in a methodical fashion that mirrors the researchjourney.