Search FindMore@NUSL
Use the following subject headings when searching LINC to target resources in your topic:
Introducing Geographic Information Systems with ArcGIS by
An integrated approach that combines essential GIS background with a practical workbook on applying the principles in ArcGIS 10.0 and 10.1. The book allows students to experience publishing maps on the Internet through new exercises, and introduces the idea of programming in the language Esri has chosen for applications (i.e., Python). This complete, user-friendly coursebook: Introduces the central concepts of GIS and topics needed to understand spatial information analysis, Provides a considerable ability to operate important tools in ArcGIS, Provides a basis for the advanced study of GIS and the study of the newly emerging field of GIScience.
Handbook of research methods and applications in spatially integrated social science by
The Handbook provides broad coverage of the theoretical foundations and methodologies that typify research using a Spatially Integrated Social Science (SISS) approach. This insightful volume is intended chiefly as an introduction for students and budding researchers who wish to investigate social, economic and behavioural phenomena by giving explicit consideration to the roles of space and place. The majority of chapters provide an emphasis on demonstrating applications of methods, tools and techniques that are used in SISS research, including long-established and relatively new approaches.
The SAGE Handbook of GIS and Society by
Emphasizing the theoretical, methodological and substantive diversity within GIS and Society research, the book highlights the distinctiveness and intellectual coherence of the subject as a field of study, while also examining its resonances with and between key themes, and among disciplines ranging from geography and computer science to sociology, anthropology, and the health and environmental sciences.
GIS Research Methods by
GIS Research Methods: Incorporating Spatial Perspectives shows researchers how to incorporate spatial thinking and geographic information system (GIS) technology into research design and analysis. Topics include research design, digital data sources, volunteered geographic information, analysis using GIS, and how to link research results to policy and action.
Comprehensive Geographic Information Systems by
Geographical Information Systems is a computer system used to capture, store, analyze and display information related to positions on the Earth's surface. It has the ability to show multiple types of information on multiple geographical locations in a single map, enabling users to assess patterns and relationships between different information points, a crucial component for multiple aspects of modern life and industry. This 3-volumes reference provides an up-to date account of this growing discipline through in-depth reviews authored by leading experts in the field.
Imagery and GIS by
Today, most maps include imagery in the form of aerial photos, satellite images, thermal images, digital elevation models, and scanned maps. Imagery and GIS: In this essential reference, discover how imagery brings value to GIS and how GIS can be used to derive value from imagery. Learn from case studies and in-depth explanations about selecting the 'right' imagery, image analysis, how to efficiently manage and serve imagery datasets, and how to accurately extract information from imagery.
Principles of Applied Remote Sensing by
This textbook is one of the first to explain the fundamentals and applications of remote sensing at both undergraduate and graduate levels. Topics include definitions and a brief history of payloads and platforms, data acquisition and specifications, image processing techniques, data integration and spatial modeling, and a range of applications covering terrestrial, atmospheric, oceanographic and planetary disciplines. The policy and law issues of remote sensing and the future trends on the horizon are also covered. Increasingly, understanding of these techniques will be central to a number of disciplines, particularly as the technology advances.
Encyclopedia of Remote Sensing by
Various disciplines and industries have benefited from the dramatic discoveries enabled by remote sensing. This volume cuts across these disciplines and describes the basic foundations, principles and state of the art of remote sensing. It covers the development of remote sensing, the theoretical underpinnings, forward modeling, commercial applications, and global and international coordination and policy. This first encyclopaedic reference on remote sensing describes the concepts, techniques, instrumentation, data analysis, interpretation, and applications of remote sensing, both airborne and space-based.
GIS for Environmental Management by
This look at complex environmental challenges and their increasingly sophisticated technological solutions explores case studies of the most innovative geographic information system (GIS) projects yet devised by governments, businesses, and individuals. Each study showcases GIS solutions, yet balances the technology with practical human applications. Topics ranging from biodiversity and pollution to specific subjects such as coastal zone management and change detection make this text relevant for nontechnical audiences and GIS professionals alike.
Environmental Modelling with GIS and Remote Sensing by
Environmental Modeling with GIS and Remote Sensing derives from a training course run by ITC for professionals and managers in the environmental sciences, detailing the applications of remote sensing and GIS for environmental modeling and assessment. It sets out the current research results and provides operational methods for environmental mapping and monitoring.
Hydrological Applications of GIS by
This book deals with the technical problems encountered in hydrological applications of GIS, at scales ranging from the catchment to short river reaches and on a wide range of hydrological processes in both pure and applied contexts.
GIS Applications in Agriculture, Volume Four: Conservation Planning by
Conservation planning involves targeted management practices and land use decision-making based on careful analysis of landscape limitations in order to protect soil and water resources. Recent advances in geospatial technologies now provide land managers with tools and resources to conserve soil and water resources more efficiently than has ever been possible before. GIS Applications in Agriculture, Volume 4: Conservation Planning presents approaches developed by leading researchers working at the intersection of conservation and spatial technologies. These advances allow improved prediction of soil erosion and environmental effects, better prioritization of land for conservation initiatives and funding, and enhanced prediction of the impact of management practices on natural resources.
Mapping and Modeling Weather and Climate with GIS by
Coverage includes data and software resources, data representation, observations, modeling, data-model integration, web services, and the areas of current and potential cross-fertilization of atmospheric and geospatial sciences. Providing both the concepts and practices of mapping and modeling projects, the book is useful to novices using GIS on weather and climate projects.
GIS Cartography by
Maps, either printed or digital, can create effective communication with bosses, clients, other scientists, and the public. The book includes a layout element checklist, font size charts, geologic color standards, file format pros and cons, and examples of layout designs. A companion Web site, hosted by the author, provides more learning materials, a free downloadable poster covering key content from this book, and links to other helpful Web sites. The author draws on classic map-design concepts, the latest design theory, and other disciplines, demonstrating how to create end results that exemplify what map ought to be: clear, informative, and uniquely suited to their purpose.
Mapping the Nation by
In "Mapping the Nation," Susan Schulten charts how maps of epidemic disease, slavery, census statistics, the environment, and the past demonstrated the analytical potential of cartography, and in the process transformed the very meaning of a map. Today, statistical and thematic maps are so ubiquitous that we take for granted that data will be arranged cartographically. Whether for urban planning, public health, marketing, or political strategy, maps have become everyday tools of social organization, governance, and economics.
Geographical Information Systems and Computer Cartography by
A concise text presenting the fundamental concepts in Geographical Information Systems (GIS), emphasising an understanding of techniques in management, analysis and graphic display of spatial information.
Remote Sensing and GIS Integration by
This book addresses the need to combine remotely sensed data with cartographic, socioeconomic, and environmental data and GIS functionalities. Remote Sensing and GIS Integration begins with theoretical discussions, followed by a series of application areas in urban and environmental studies that employ the integration of remote sensing and GIS. Each application area is examined through analysis of state-of-the-art methods and detailed presentations of one or more case studies.
Mapping Global Cities: GIS methods in urban analysis by 
GIS for the Urban Environment by
Maantay (GISc, Lehman College, City University of New York) and Ziegler, a GIS consultant, introduce urban planning applications and problem solving using GIS technology, in this text for undergraduate and graduate students and professionals in urban geography, urban studies, urban planning, public health, urban environment, etc.
Exploring the Urban Community by
Exploring the Urban Community: A GIS Approach leverages the modern geographer's toolset, employing the latest GIS methodology to the study of urban geography. New exercises are also provided for ArcGIS 9.3 and 10, the latest version of the industry-dominant software. Coupled with current examples and applications from around the world, including a greater focus on India and China, presents an engaging and uniquely hands-on applied approach to the study of urban geography.
Historical GIS: technologies, methodologies and scholarship by
Historical GIS is an emerging field that uses GIS to research the geographies of the past. This technology offers unparalleled opportunities to add insight and rejuvenate historical research through the ability to identify and use the geographical characteristics of data. Historical GIS introduces the basic concepts and tools underpinning GIS technology, describing and critically assessing the visualisation, analytical and e-science methodologies that it enables and examining key scholarship where GIS has been used to enhance research debates.
Toward Spatial Humanities: historical GIS and spatial history by
The application of GIS to issues in history is among the most exciting developments in both digital and spatial humanities. Describing a wide variety of applications, the essays in this volume highlight the methodological and substantive implications of a spatial approach to history. They illustrate how the use of GIS is changing our understanding of the geographies of the past and has become the basis for new ways to study history.
History and GIS: epistemologies, considerations and reflections by
Geographical Information Systems (GIS) - either as "standard" GIS or custom made Historical GIS (HGIS) - have become quite popular in some historical sub-disciplines, such as Economic and Social History or Historical Geography. "Mainstream" history, however, seems to be rather unaffected by this trend. More generally speaking: Why is it that computer applications in general have failed to make much headway in history departments, despite the first steps being undertaken a good forty years ago? With the "spatial turn" in full swing in the humanities, and many historians dealing with spatial and geographical questions, one would think GIS would be welcomed with open arms. Yet there seems to be no general anticipation by historians of employing GIS as a research tool. As mentioned, HGIS are popular chiefly among Historical Geographers and Social and Economic Historians. The latter disciplines seem to be predestined to use such software through the widespread quantitative methodology these disciplines have employed traditionally. Other historical sub-disciplines, such as Ancient History, are also very open to this emerging technology since the scarcity of written sources in this field can be mitigated by inferences made from an HGIS that has archaeological data stored in it, for example. In most of Modern History, however, the use of GIS is rarely seen. The intellectual benefit that a GIS may bring about seems not be apparent to scholars from this sub-discipline (and others). This book wants to investigate and discuss this controversy. Why does the wider historian community not embrace GIS more readily? While one cannot deny that the methodologies linked with a GIS follow geographical paradigms rather than historical ones, the potential of GIS as a 'killer application'nbsp; for digital historical scholarship should be obvious. This book brings together authors from Geography and History to discuss the value of GIS for historical research. The focus, however, will not be on the "how", but on the "why" of GIS in history.
Placing history : how maps, spatial data, and GIS are changing historical scholarship by 
GIS and Public Health, Second Edition by
Authoritative and comprehensive, this is the leading text and professional resource on using geographic information systems (GIS) to analyze and address public health problems. Basic GIS concepts and tools are explained, including ways to access and manage spatial databases. The book presents state-of-the-art methods for mapping and analyzing data on population, health events, risk factors, and health services, and for incorporating geographical knowledge into planning and policy.
Gis in Public Health Practice by
Strides in mapping technology as well as the availability and accuracy of health information enable public health practitioners to link and analyze data in new ways at international, regional, and even street levels. This geographical perspective generates new approaches in the study of communicable disease control, environmental health protection, health needs assessment, planning and policy, operational public health management, and many other areas. GIS is a science that encompasses the development and application of scientific methods toward solving societal problems, an emerging facet of public health research and practice. Many of the chapters have a UK or European focus, but examine issues, principles, and methods that are relevant worldwide.
Applied Spatial Statistics for Public Health Data by
The text provides a thorough introduction to basic concepts and methods in applied spatial statistics as well as a detailed treatment of some of the more recent methods in spatial statistics useful for public health studies that have not been previously covered elsewhere. After reviewing traditional statistical methods used in public health research, the text provides an overview of the basic features of spatial data, illustrates various geographic mapping and visualization tools, and describes the sources of publicly available spatial data that might be useful in public health applications.