LibGuides: Geographical Information System (GIS): Welcome

Introduction

Layer stacking is a foundational concept of spatial analysis Welcome to the Digital Scholarship GIS Guide.

The purpose of this guide is to recommend journal article databases, books, data sources, methods and other materials for conducting research using spatial analysis and Geographic Information Systems (GIS). Click on the tabs at the top of the page to navigate among the sections of this guide to discover useful resources. Need help? Ask a Librarian!

Image result for 3D ESRI What is GIS?
A geographic information system (GIS) lets us visualize, question, analyze, and interpret data to understand relationships, patterns, and trends.

Definition from GISLounge, ESRI (examples)
GIS Poster from USGS

Check out The ArcGIS Book (interactive pdf)

Key Resources for GIS

ESRI Online GIS Dictionary Definitions for GIS terms related to operations such as analysis, GIS modeling and web-based GIS, cartography, and Esri software.
GIS Bibliography (ESRI) This bibliography (compiled by Prof Duane Marbles and ESRI since 1992) covers the literature of geographic information systems, science, and technology. It indexes journals, conference proceedings, books, and reports from the origins of GIS to the present.
[COURSES] ESRI - Training for Using ArcGIS Free Esri Web Courses training is available from ESRI at no cost.
[JOURNAL] International Journal of Geographical Information Science Published research covers innovations in GIScience and novel applications of GIScience in natural resources, social systems and the built environment, as well as relevant developments in computer science, cartography, surveying, geography and engineering in both developed and developing countries.
[JOURNAL] Remote Sensing of Environment This interdisciplinary journal publishes on terrestrial, oceanic, and atmospheric sensing. The emphasis of the journal is on biophysical and quantitative approaches to remote sensing at local to global scales. – Agriculture, forestry and range – Biophysical-spectral models – Ecology – Earth and environmental science – Geography and land information – Geology and geoscience – Hydrology and water resources – Image processing and analysis – Atmospheric science and meteorology – Oceanography – Sensor systems and spectral-radiometric measurements

Geospatial Data Sources

Visit the the NUS and Yale-NUS Library Libguides for compilations of global, regional, and local data, statistics and spatial data sources (see first and second links below).

Yale-NUS Library Libguide on Data and Statistics
USGS - Remote Sensing Data via EarthExplorer
Natural Earth Data
World Bank Data Catalog
DIVA-GIS Spatial Data - Country and continental administration, population, roads, railways, elevation, riparian, land cover, gazetteer and climatic data.
Koordinates - Collection of geospatial data in one platform
ACLED Data - Georeferenced armed conflict data
Global Footprint Network - Ecological Footprint Explorer, scalable sustainability metric data

GIS Resource

Michelle Quak

Contact:

NUS Central Library
+6601 3172
michelle.quak@nus.edu.sg

Subjects: Digital Scholarship

MSc in Applied GIS (NUS Geography)

For the graduate programme of Master of Science in Applied GIS hosted in Department of Geography at NUS, please refer to this link for more information on the admission requirements, programme structure, tracks of training, fees and contact details.

RSS Feeds of Interesting GIS Articles/Websites

ESRI ArcNews
Esri's ArcNews is the oldest and largest circulation GIS magazine.
ESRI Singapore News
GIS Geography
A website about Geographic Information Systems (GIS) and Geography.
NUS Digital Humanities
NUS Digital Humanities Projects webpage provides some examples of practical applications of GIS.
Mapping Singapore in 3D
Learn about the 3D mapping initiatives in Singapore, and how government agencies use 3D data for planning.

RSS Feed from GIS Lounge:

RSS Feed from Flowing Data