Visit the the the following links for compilations of global, regional, and local data, statistics and spatial data sources
Search for library-subscribed statistical databases here (under Type, select Statistical Data). They generally fall into at least one of these categories:
Data.gov.sg was first launched in 2011 as the government's one-stop portal to its publicly-available datasets from 70 public agencies. To date, more than 100 apps have been created using the government’s open data. The new data.gov.sg, now in public beta, goes beyond being a data repository. It aims to make government data relevant and understandable to the public, through the active use of charts and articles.
Contains US Federal Government Datasets
UK Government DataSets
Australian Datasets
New Zealand Datasets
Includes comprehensive statistics of historical Japan as far back as the late 19th century.
Open Data hub of the European Union
The statistical office of the European Union, contains a lot of free data. Eurostat offers a whole range of important and interesting data that governments, businesses, the education sector, journalists and the public can use for their work and daily life.
This searchable database contains all tables produced from published US R&D surveys from 1953 through 1998. These tables include statistics for selected periods on such measures as industry R&D funding and industry R&D personnel. These statistics are broken out by such dimensions as source, industrial sector, character of work, and company size.
Good listing of guides to information of hundreds of countries. Lists country profiles of each country etc.
List maintained by the US Census Bureau.Lists Statistics Offices from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
Same as above, but this list is maintained by Bureau of Labor Statistics
If you can identify organisations that produce and publish the statistics that you need, you can do a direct online search for those organisations.
These organisations can include government agencies, intergovernmental organisations (IGOs), non-governmental organisations (NGOs), research institutions, industry organisations, and so on.
You can do a URL search using Google advanced search syntax site for abbreviations like org, gov, edu (example: site:org.sg statistics)
Below are also 2 custom Google search engines to search for IGOs and NGOs.
"The Panel Study of Income Dynamics (PSID), begun in 1968, is a longitudinal study of a representative sample of U.S. individuals (men, women, and children) and the family units in which they reside. It emphasizes the dynamic aspects of economic and demographic behavior, but its content is broad, including sociological and psychological measures."
The Integrated Public Use Microdata Series International database contains 397 million person census records from 62 countries around the world. Some data dates to 1960. Registration and approval is required to obtain and utilize the data and is strictly for study and research purposes.
"The Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS-USA) consists of more than fifty high-precision samples of the American population drawn from fifteen federal censuses and from the American Community Surveys of 2000-2009. Some of these samples have existed for years, and others were created specifically for this database."
"The National Longitudinal Surveys (NLS) are a set of surveys designed to gather information at multiple points in time on the labor market activities and other significant life events of several groups of men and women. For more than 4 decades, NLS data have served as an important tool for economists, sociologists, and other researchers."
"Developed as a joint project with the Office for National Statistics (ONS), this was a database of all longitudinal studies in the UK and abroad. It gave details of the study design, sample size, dates of data collection, content and coverage and data availability."
"High-quality survey data provides the foundation for labor and social policy research."
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
WHO Study on global AGEing and adult health (SAGE). Datasets from 70 countries available on request through WHO at no cost. "The SAGE survey instruments assessed health status and health systems from a household and individual perspective."
Education related data
"re3data.org is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. It presents repositories for the permanent storage and access of data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers and scholarly institutions."
RSS Feed from GIS Lounge:
RSS Feed from Flowing Data
