LibGuides: Chemistry: Databases

Selected Chemistry Databases

Reaxys
A chemistry database from Elsevier that allows you to plan your reaction synthesis; perform structure, substructure, reaction, reference, and common name search; and provides you with experimentally validated data.
SpringerMaterials
The online version of Landolt Bornstein database that provides you physical and chemical data in materials science, such as : phase diagrams, crystal structure, super- and semi-conductivity, thermodynamic, magnetism, etc…
SciFinder-n
Scifinder-n provides an integrated information access to references, substances, reactions and suppliers in chemistry and related fields. It is embedded with PatentPak, Synthetic Methods and Retrosynthesis planning.
CAS Analytical Methods (formerly known as MethodsNow)
CAS Analytical Methods (formerly known as MethodsNow) is a single source for searching and comparing the latest published scientific methods. It features step-by-step instructions that you can take right to the lab in areas like pharmacology, HPLC, food analysis, natural product isolation analysis and water analysis. It is a curated collection of methods covering emerging science in both analytical and synthetic chemistry.
Formulus
Formulus® is a comprehensive formulations databases. It delivers the world's largest collection of formulations from journals, patents, and product inserts, and includes detailed supplier specifications and regulatory resources. Formulus enables scientists to understand a formulation’s effectiveness with quick access to the best information for active ingredients and excipients. Formulus helps formulators evaluate ingredients, find alternative suppliers, and explore regulatory requirements in one easy interface. The level of searchability allows users to wade through all the literature more effectively to get relevant information.

NIST Chemistry Webbook
These spectra from the U.S. National Institute of Standards and Technology can be searched by chemical name, molecular formula, CAS #, and selected physical property data.
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds, SDBS
Lab measurement details are provided. The database can be searched by variety of parameters (compound name, molecular formula, molecular weight, CAS #, NMR peak positions, mass number, etc.
NMRShiftDB
NMR spectra can be located using searches by title, structure/substructure and chemical shift data.

ASM Alloy Phase Diagram Database
The ASM Alloy Phase Diagram Database has an easy-to-use interface and contains about 40,000 binary and ternary phase diagrams, from over 9000 systems with associated crystal data, reaction data and allotropic transformations
ICSD: Inorganic Crystal Structure Database
Collection of crystal structure data of inorganic compounds recorded in the literature of the field from 1913-present.
Powder Diffraction File
A collection of single-phase X-ray powder diffraction spectra in the form of tables of interplanar spacing (d) and relative intensities (Int) and chemical name and formula as well as mineral names. In addition, Miller indices, cell data and physical properties are listed, together with references for source information, where such data are available.
SpringerMaterials
SpringerMaterials is a comprehensive database for identifying materials properties and covers data from materials science, physics, physical and inorganic chemistry, engineering and other related fields. It is highly relevant to research in the fields of Physics, Chemistry, Materials Science and areas such as Electrical Engineering.

Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety’s Academic Support Program
This one-stop platform allows access to Safety Data Sheets from manufacturers and suppliers, information about the chemicals’ toxic effects, as well as other health and safety details.

ChemRxiv
ChemRxiv (pronounced 'chem-archive') is a free submission, distribution and archive service for unpublished preprints in chemistry and related areas. It gives researchers across a broad range of chemistry fields the opportunity to share early results with colleagues and respond to comments and recommendations for improvement, ahead of formal peer review and publication.

Scopus
Broad coverage of Scientific, Technical, Medical and Social Sciences literature, including Arts & Humanities. It indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources with links to full text for some records. Provides access to "Article-in-Press" from over 3,000 journals. Its "View Citation Overview" allows the tracking of citation data year by year
Web of Science
Multi-disciplinary database. It indexes scholarly journals in sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, and examines proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. It contains references cited by the authors of the articles and cited reference searching will find articles that cite a previously published work.

Patents Libguides
Canadian Intellectual Property Office
DEPATISnet (German Patent and Trademark Office)
Esp@cenet by European Patent Office
NUS Industry Liaison Office (ILO)
Patsnap
First time users need to register at Patsnap sign up for an account.
US Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)