Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reading the library catalogue
Trying to decipher the information in the catalogue for the print titles here? Refer to the links below for assistance:
A Dictionary of Chemistry
With over 4,300 entries, it covers all aspects of chemistry, from physical chemistry to biochemistry. There are also biographical entries on key figures, highlighted entries on major topics such as polymers and crystal defects, and a chronology charting the main discoveries inatomic theory, biochemistry, explosives, and plastics.
Comprehensive Dictionary of Physical Chemistry
This dictionary specifically for physical chemistry devotes special attention to quantum chemistry and crystallography. The various terms used in physical chemistry are alphabetically ordered and the cross-referencing system is designed to promote understanding of the subject.
Concise Dictionary of Materials Science
Highlighting structure description, formation, and characterization, this title contains more than 1400 terms commonly used in modern literature, research, and practice. Throughout the dictionary, the emphasis is on lattice defects and their role in diffusion, plastic deformation and phase transitions, as well as on the granular structure and its formation and changes in the course of phase transitions, recrystallization, and grain growth.
This book provides wide-ranging and authoritative coverage of the terms most used in electrochemistry and its related fields, including relevant areas of physics and engineering. Each entry supplies a clear and precise explanation of the term and provides references to the reviews, books and original papers to enable readers to pursue a deeper understanding if so desired.
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Polymers
This reference contains more than 7,500 polymeric material terms, including chemical names, processes, formulae, and analytical methods that are used frequently in the polymer and engineering fields. It also includes an appendix of biochemical and microbiological terms. Each entry offers a broadly accessible definition as well as cross-references to related terms.
Laboratory Health and Safety Dictionary
This authoritative compendium of chemical health and safety terms and concepts contains approximately 2,500 entries covering the broad spectrum of health and safety issues, including all essential elements of a chemical hygiene plan, safety procedures, chemical exposures, etc.
Pharmacological and Chemical Synonyms
This title is a major international compilation of synonyms (approx. 50,000) and main substance names (approx. 10,000) used in the pharmacological and chemical literature. The book contains chemical names, source names, pharmacological names, abbreviated chemical names (approved, official or generic), pesticide names, names derived from places, plants or persons, research code numbers and proprietary names (trademarks).