Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research and Writing
ACS guide to scholarly communication
The ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication provides students, researchers, educators, and librarians with the instruction and advice they need to master the art of scholarly communication. The new Guide covers all instructions from previous editions of The ACS Style Guide - completely updated and modernized - as well as a wealth of brand new chapters covering everything from preprints, Open Access, machine-readable data, and much more.
Refer to “PART 4: Scientific Style Conventions” to learn how to cite Graphics ,Multimedia, Data , References and Chemical Structures.
Designing Science Presentations
This clear, readable volume provides visually intensive guidance at every step-from the construction of original figures to the presentation and delivery of those figures in papers, slideshows, posters, and websites. It provides pragmatic advice on the preparation and delivery of exceptional scientific presentations; demonstrates hundreds of visually striking presentation techniques, giving readers inspiration for creating their own; and is structured so that readers can easily find answers to particular questions.
From Research to Manuscript: A Guide to Scientific Writing
Explaining how to understand and summarize a research project, this book demonstrates in detail how to compose the sections of a scientific paper. It leads you through the drafts that are needed to build a thorough, clear science article. It also discusses why each section of a science paper requires its particular form of information, and shows how to put your data and your arguments into the specific form. Importantly, this writing manual recognizes that experiments in different disciplines need different presentations, and is illustrated with examples from well-written papers on a wide variety of scientific subjects.
Scientific Style and Format
Developed by the Council of Science Editors (CSE), the leading professional association in science publishing, this guide encompasses all areas of the sciences. Scientific Style and Format citation style are covered in this title, and its style recommendations align with the advice of authoritative international bodies. It includes guidelines and examples for citing online images and information graphics, podcasts and webcasts, online videos, blogs, social networking sites, and e-books. Additionally, a full discussion of plagiarism and other aspects of academic integrity is incorporated, along with a complete treatment of developments in copyright law, including Creative Commons.
Study and Communication Skills for the Chemical Sciences
A comprehensive range of skills are covered - from making the most of practicals, lectures and group work, through to writing and presentation skills, and effective revision for exams. An expanded chapter on employability offers invaluable advice for getting a job in today's competitive market. Written by leading experts in science education, this text is essential reading for any undergraduate chemistry student wishing to succeed at university get the most out of their degree after graduation.
The ACS Style Guide
This guide thoroughly examines electronic tools now available to assist scientific, technical, and medical (STM) writers in preparing manuscripts and communicating with publishers. It includes discussions of markup languages, citation of electronic sources, online submission of manuscripts, and preparation of figures, tables, and structures. It also provides invaluable insight on ethics in scientific communication, the editorial process, copyright, conventions in chemistry, grammar, punctuation, spelling, and writing style for any STM author, reviewer, or editor.
The Craft of Scientific Communication
This is the guide that teaches science students and scientists alike how to improve the clarity, cogency, and communicative power of their words and images. Organized topically with information on the structural elements and the style of scientific communications, each chapter draws on models of past successes and failures to show students and practitioners how best to negotiate the world of print, online publication, and oral presentation.
Writing for Science and Engineering
Dr. Silyn-Roberts explains in plain English the steps to writing abstracts, theses, journal papers, funding bids, literature reviews, and more. The book also examines preparing seminar and conference presentations. Written in a practical and easy to follow style specifically for postgraduate students in Engineering and Sciences, this book is essential in learning how to create powerful documents.
Your Chemical Science Thesis: : An Introductory Guide to Writing Up Your Research Project
The booklet provides an informative step-by-step guide on everything you need to know, from the practicalities of actually getting started, through to completion and submission. Practical tips on how best to write up each section of your thesis are offered: asking a "non-science" friend to proof-read your work, ways to improve and revise your text and factors to consider when drawing your diagrams are examples indicative of the type of advice given throughout the text. The guide finishes with a number of useful resources for further guidance, and even points to future employment possibilities after completion of your thesis.
Basics in Scholarly Publishing: Getting Started Writing a Manuscript
Speaker: Dr. Andrew Wee, National University of Singapore, Associate Editor, ACS Nano
Basics in Scholarly Publishing: What is Peer Review?
Speaker: Dr. Lyndon Emsley, Ecole Normale Supérieure de Lyon, Associate Editor, Journal of the American Chemical Society
Copyright and Ethics in Scholarly Communication: What You Need to Know
Speaker: Ms Norah Xiao, Manager of Editorial Development, Asia; ACS Publications
Writing a Competitive Grant Research Proposal
Speaker: Dr. Burtrand Lee, Program Manager, ACS Petroleum Research Fund