Chemistry: Handbooks

Serving as both a reference and a textbook, this Handbook is the first exhaustive treatment of the analysis of toxic pollutants in the environment. Areas addressed include the analytical methodologies for various classes of organic and inorganic pollutants in different matrices.

The shift towards being as environmentally-friendly as possible has resulted in the need for this important volume on homogeneous catalysis. This volume covers many different aspects, from industrial applications to atom economy. It explains the fundamentals and makes use of everyday examples to elucidate this vitally important field.

Outlining the problems and issues facing the environmental chemist throughout the ecosystem, this useful guide provides a concise overview of environmental pollution in air, water and soil as well as strategies for environmental analysis.

For over 100 years, the Handbook has provided property data on chemical compounds and all physical particles that have been reported in the literature, carefully reviewed by subject experts. Every year older collections are updated with the latest values and new areas will be added as science progresses.

This Handbook features an enormous compilation of facts, data, tabular material, and experimental findings in every area of chemistry. Included in this compendium are listings of the properties of approximately 4,400 organic and 1,400 inorganic compounds. It also includes equations that allow users to calculate values such as temperature and pressure.

This reference describes more than 3,000 chemicals that are used as solvents in the chemical industry. It serves as an integrated reference tool for decision-making in formulation and the understanding of safety issues. Each entry contains information on: chemical composition classification, properties/applications, toxicology.

This multivolume collection lists a wide array of modern and salable products from all branches of the chemical industries. An excellent reference for formulation problems.

This book clarifies several issues, particularly the effects of covalency and ligand polarization on the energy spectra of magnetic ions. It provides users with instructions and computer programs for the phenomenological analysis of energy spectra of magnetic ions in solids. Ideas covered include employing parametrized models to extract information from observed lanthanide and actinide spectra.

This title contains a massive amount of information about the organometallic and inorganic compounds. It covers extensively the individual chemical elements and their compounds and alloys. Characteristics such as the physical and chemical behaviours of these species are also discussed in great detail.

This handbook of formula used in crystallography covers topics such as the relations of vectors in the reciprocal lattice; the defining vectors for various crystal systems and transformations among them; structure factors for various lattices; quantities such as the angles between planes and the repeat spacing in reciprocal space for the seven Bravais lattices; and conversion factors for transforming one lattice system into another.

This handbook covers the field in its entirety, not merely focusing on one single metal but on the whole range of different compounds. By imparting his knowledge, the author shows readers how to significantly improve their synthetic strategies. A must for chemists working with and on organometallics, organic chemists, and catalytic chemists.

This title covers fundamental properties, characterization, chemical manipulation, and applications of graphene. Specific applications cover developments in chemical manipulation, thermodynamic characterization, energy conversion and storage, and biosensor.

This book reviews the advances and technologies used to produce microelectronic and optoelectronic devices from compound semiconductors. It provides a complete overview of the technologies necessary to grow bulk single-crystal substrates, grow hetero-or homoepitaxial films, and process advanced devices such as heterojunction bipolar transistor, quantum well diode lasers, etc.

Looking at the quantum effects and other characteristics realized at the nano level, the book explains how the properties of nanomaterials can be unique from others. It also provides information on carbon-based nanomaterials, nanostructured semiconductors, ceramics, metals, biomaterials, and polymers, as well as nanotechnology's application in drug delivery systems, bioimplants, and field-emission displays.

The title contains 217 total polymers and their properties important for modern polymer applications. Examples of specific polymers include silsesquoxane ladder polymers, 'foldamer' self-assembling polymers, and block copolymers that phase separate into 'mushrooms', ellipsoids, and sheets with on surface radically different in properties from the other.

This Handbook covers the synthesis of nanomaterials (building blocks of polymer nanocomposites) and polymers (matrix materials). It guides readers through the development of nanocomposites and their applications. Using examples from leading research labs, it discusses the science, processing, and technology that have accompanied nanocomposites' ascension into the world of materials science.

It provides physical and chemical data on proteins, nucleic acids, lipids, and carbohydrates. It also details the properties of commonly used biochemicals, laboratory solvents, and reagents. Topics include: reagents for the chemical modification of proteins; classification system for lipids; biological characteristics of vitamins; therapeutic enzymes, etc.

This book draws together contributions from authoritative practitioners to provide a comprehensive overview of the field for students in medicinal chemistry, drug discovery and drug development. While communicating core principles, the book places the discipline within the context of the burgeoning platform of new modalities now available to drug discovery.

Providing a comprehensive collection of 105 major metalloproteins, the Handbook includes comprehensive sections that cover: functional class, occurrence, amino acid sequence information, protein production, purification and molecular characterisation, metal content and cofactors, activity test, spectroscopy, 3D structure, functional aspects.

The title covers method development, validation, selection, testing, modeling, and simulation studies combined with advanced exploration of assays, impurity testing, biomolecules, and chiral separations. It also covers ethics, regulatory guidance, and methodologies from "lab-on-a-chip" to LC-MS, LC-NMR, and LC-NMR-MS.

A medium-sized reference work designed to fill the gap between the text-book style works and multi-volume series. Emphasis is placed on the properties and reactions of all important classes of organic compounds, including the array of different compounds prepared by synthesis as well as natural products created by biosynthesis.

This title offers an encyclopaedic and systematic collection of useful synthetic methodology, including tens of thousands of reactions and synthetic transformations.

The title provides concise descriptions, good structural formulas and selected examples of applications. Thousands of entries abstract the most important information on commonly used and new reagents, including preparation, uses, critical comments, references and more reagents are considered in alphabetical order by common usage names.

A comprehensive guide for the most important and useful reagents employed in contemporary organic synthesis. The multivolume set covers an elaborate study of reagent classes such as the oxidizing and reducing agents, activating agents and protecting groups, catalytic oxidation reagents, catalyst components for coupling reactions, and more.

A useful guide to good laboratory practice in the organic chemistry lab with tips on successful organic synthesis. Topics include: lab safety; environmentally responsible handling of chemicals; crystallisation; distillation; chromatography; extraction and work-up; spectroscopy; searching the literature; writing a report; hints on organic synthesis; disposal of dangerous materials; drying and purifying solvents.

This title covers the exciting inter- and multidisciplinary area of modern supramolecular chemistry. The numerous references, including citations, constitute an in-depth source for direct entry to the widespread primary literature on any aspect of this area. Illustrations and instructive schematic representations make the chapters easily readable.

The book provides a concise, but not trivial introduction to various topics covered by the discipline of forensic chemistry. It supplies references to more authoritative books and journals in the literature and provides answers to specific questions or problems pertaining to subjects such as the analysis of: blood, semen, saliva, urine, DNA, explosives, drugs, accelerants, etc.

This four-volume work provides insights into the application of computer-aided methods to chemical problems, such as structural databases, spectra interpretation, predicting chemical properties and molecular shapes.

It is primarily intended to be used as a guide that navigates the user through the plethora of computational methods currently in use; it explains their limitations and advantages; and it provides various examples of their important and varied applications.

This comprehensive reference brings together a detailed presentation of the most important theoretical concepts and methods for the study of molecules and molecular systems. The three themed volumes are: Fundamentals; Molecular Electronic Structure; Molecules in the Physico-Chemical Environment: Spectroscopy, Dynamics and Bulk Properties.

This Handbook brings together in one volume information about various spectroscopic techniques that are applicable in many branches of science. This concise yet comprehensive volume covers theory and applications of a broad range of spectroscopies. It provides an overview of 16 spectroscopic techniques and self-contained chapters present scientific and technical information and references.

This volume compiles unimolecular and bimolecular photochemical data for a wide range of commonly used organic molecules. It contains information on bimolecular quenching of both singlet and triplet states, transient absorbance of excited triplet states, and computer-generated molecular formula and name indexes.

The title covers everything from spectroscopy in nanodimensions to medicinal applications, spanning a wide range of the electromagnetic spectrum and the physical processes involved, from nuclear phenomena to molecular rotation processes. The data tables offer a comparison of different methods and help to select the instrumentation for experiments.

This book displays concepts on the physical structure of solid surfaces with focus on well-defined surfaces at the gas-solid and vacuum-solid interfaces. Part I describes the equilibrium properties of surfaces. Part II introduces the experimental methods used to deduce surface crystal structures. Part III gives an overview of the structure of adsorbed layers. Part IV covers the defects in surface structures and phase transitions.

This four-volume set presents the thermodynamic property data for various classes of compounds, namely inorganic compounds, organic compounds and elements. The heat capacities, Peng-Robinson equation of state for thermodynamic properties, critical constants and acentric factor of compounds are also featured in this title.

The multivolume title ideally serves users who wish to locate infrared data quickly without the use of instruments. It is particularly useful for applications such as assigning vibrations, obtaining optimum sample conditions for determining the spectrum, locating literature data on band positions, etc.

This volume covers the spectrum, including chapters on the heat capacity and entropy of gas, solids and liquids, the entropy of formation, and more. Other chapters cover the Helmholtz energy of formation and internal energy of formation.